We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good For a Night... Maybe Two.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #102 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good For a Night... Maybe Two.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is one of the hotels in San Francisco that has a boutique feel and looks very charming from the stock photos. Yes, the hotel is very quaint, but it's NOT by any means a great hotel.

I stayed here for one night as I was visiting a friend that lives in San Francisco and needed an affordable place to crash. The lobby is very small and the elevator will make you feel the need to take the stairs at all times. The hallways are very small/tight and you can hear everything from your fellow roommates.

I had a corner room with a King bed. The size was great and it was a very decent room for the money. The amenities in the room are very tired. The bathroom needs a total remodel and reminded me of a bad college dorm bathroom.

Overall, for the $140 I spent to stay here it was worth it. However, if you're coming to San Francisco for a vacation or on a romantic weekend - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for the recent review as it appear you stay was mixed base on price and value, location and services but as you stated our hotel is quaint but not “grand”. However our hotel provided clean rooms and the size of the guest rooms are adequate. The hotel bath sizes are small and this is due to the configuration as the hotel was originally built in 1914. Our hotel team is working to update the guest bathrooms this winter. Our guest baths will receive modern fixture but the size of the bathrooms can be changed. Our staff, location and services helped make your visit and rate paid a valued stay for a hotel in San Francisco. Lastly, if you return and for other readers, please visit our website for best rates on packages, as our hotel hot escape rates are the lowest. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me at gmvc@executivehotels.net.

Enjoy your travels!

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    438
    215
    95
    59
See reviews for
118
450
70
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am currently staying at the vintage court hotel and I am struggling to write this as the wifi is almost awful! When I saw the pictures on the website I expected luxury..how wrong I was. The lobby looked lovely and grand and cute but the hallways smelt like piss and the rooms only smelt a bit better. The beds are uncomfortable and the room is freezing even in July. The bathroom is almost impossible to fit two people in it and there are hardly any plugs to charge appliances. Overall we will be moving to a different hotel worth it's money, if you like urine smelling halls this is the place for you ;)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helpfulreviewsforyoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Recent Guest:

As the hotel manager, I am concerned about the comments in your review. First, I apologize for the disappointment in the vision of your stay yet our hotel found no evidence of the issues mentioned. Upon the day of your departure our hotel team tried to contact you directly, as well as your travel company in regards to your concerns. No concerns were ever mentioned to any of our staff members. You were not pleased with our boutique hotel, and appear the characteristics did not fit your needs. Yes our baths are smaller in size, 5 feet by 8 feet, with just a couple outlets in the vanity area. The hotel was built in 1914 and the option of a guest room in that era with a private bath was a luxury. Our baths have been updated to modernize fixtures, yet space is and was a premium in San Francisco. Upon contacting your travel department it appears our hotel did not meet your expectations. All fowl odors were reviewed the day of our departure yet none were found. It appears unjustified but was your note to the travel agency was for reimbursement. Our inspections found your room to be free of any odor issues. In addition, our WiFi is fully functional and our staff offers 24 hour assistance if given notification of an issue from a guest with tech support. The hotel team is available 24 hours a day and if any issue odor, WiFi issues and even move rooms if a smaller than expected bath was such a concern. Our team is and was happy to address your concerns.

Please contact me directly for more information regarding the reimbursement or any other matter regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I travel to San Francisco 1-2 times a month and have stayed at just about every hotel in the city. Unfortunately, due to Per Diem requirements, I cannot stay at the larger Brand hotels. I have stayed at some very unsightly boutique hotels through my travels to San Francisco, and the Vintage Court is a winner. I have stayed here multiple times now due to the great price, service, location and cleanliness of the hotel. I am very surprised by many of the reviews about the smell of the hotel. I have found that just about every older building in the city has a similar smell, but that is part of the charm and history of the city. I highly recommend this hotel to any travelers, weather business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I have found that the King rooms are the most comfortable, and of course the higher the floor the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your travel post on the Executive Hotel Vintage Court. It is a delight to know you found the value that fits both your requested services and within budget per your company. Our hotel is in a superior location, offers valued rates, great amenities with an evening wine reception, free wireless, thermal hot water in all rooms, and comfortable beds. As you stated our hotel although similar to many others in our area is an older boutique hotel and ventilation may be limited from hot steamy showers but our hotel unlike most in our price range offer in room AC units for each guest. Lastly fresh air can always be provided as our hotel window will open to bring in the cooler San Francisco draft of foggy air.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future and thank you again for this posted update.

Best Regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms were just regular rooms, clean and might have had a little humidity smell at first but the personal was SO helpful, always on the look out to help you. The free happy hour with wine was popular and a delight at the end of a sight seeing day in Frisco. The location was perfect, central, seconds away from Chinatown and Market Square and the fancy shopping street. One morning we walked to the Wharf and it was less than 30 minutes. Starbucks was the cheapest place to find breakfast in the morning, unless you adventure to Chinatown. Lots of restaurants in the area for dinner and the staff was helpful with that as well. We stayed for 4 nights and we were not able to find anything cheaper in July. When we go back to SanFrancisco, we will certainly look to book there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at a higher level are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for the recent review and the delightful stay you had at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court. As you noted our staff, location and services helped make your visit to San Francisco a valued choice. We hope to see you again soon and when you return, please visit our website for best rates on packages, as our hotel hot escape rates are the lowest. Enjoy your travels.

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked the hotel for a 2 night stay the same day we were driving in to the city. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel location - a couple of blocks to cable cars and in the mix of restaurants, grocery and night life. The front desk staff was friendly when we arrived. Easy check-in and cozy lobby area with wine each evening. Our room was tucked away from the front street with a fabulous skyline view. The entire hotel has a vintage and cozy feel. Parking was easy, too and not as expensive as other hotels. The parking garage is one block from the hotel with in and out privledges for $32 or you can valet for $42. At checkout, the front desk staff even helped weigh our luggage for our flight home. Easy and quick checkout with friendly bellboy willing to watch my luggage while I relaxed and waited for my car to come around. I will dedinitely stay here again when I return to San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bon_ton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Recent Guest: Thank you for updated review of our hotel, staff, locations and services. As you noted we are a pleasant surprise in a boutique hotel with an executive feel, tucked in the midst of Nob Hill and just two blocks to Union Square. Thanks for your post on the parking fees too. Although parking is $32 a day plus a tax, it is a costly fee; but it is a reasonable rate for San Francisco. Lastly, when you return, please check out our Hot Rate package deals on our website for best rates and we even offer a Park and Stay deal for those with vehicles. Hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Bill Engelhardt - General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and it was a very good experience. The hotel has a good central location on Bush st. with walking distance to many of the must-see attractions in SF.
The rooms are clean and cosy, but can be a bit noisy in the morning traffic. This is however not at all a big issue.
I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hempel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Recent Guest: Thank you for your recent review. Appears your visit into San Francisco was very good experience including our hotel, location and accommodations. I dearly remember you, as you had returned a wallet you found from in your country to local patron whom picked it up at our reception desk, as he left it there a week earlier. Truly nice to know such good deeds don’t happen often enough these days. In all hope you will be back and check out our Hot Rate package deals on our website for best rates.

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt - General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were originally booked in for a 5 night stay but checked out after the first night (with no questions asked by the desk manager which made me think this was not uncommon). I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and always try to stay in smaller, quirky accommodation to get a real feel for a place, rather than the mass produced feel from some of the larger hotel chains. The staff on checking in were helpful, although no assistance was offered with our luggage. The smell in the halls and our room was terrible and actually made me feel quite nauseous, we had to leave our window partially open due to the smell and this of course made the street noise unbearably loud. The carpet in our room was very stained and the beds hard. Disappointing as the position of the hotel is great. Would advise against this hotel unless you have no sense of smell.

Room Tip: Not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Recent Guest: Thank you for your comments and apologize for any indifferences you may have encountered. Our staff is on hand 24 hours a day to make assist in any discomfort or concern. However it appears no contact from you party was ever noted regarding any discomfort of your stay at our hotel. From your remarks it may have been our hotel did not match your requests. Not our beds are not hard but Serta brand pillow tops, our rooms are clean and as a older hotel room in summer time with warm air, guest may need to open windows to receive fresh air. Our location is a downtown urban hotel where noise is going to occur from street traffic, tourists, cable cars, cleaning services. The hotel lastly was never advised by your party that your departure was early and our hotel is very capable of assisting guests to find the correct stay and room if noise or an odor seems odd. Our apologies but for any concerns no matter how small, as our hotel team is always available 24 hours to assist.

Please feel free to contact me any time for review of account to insure reimbursements are processed.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#106 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#85 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#37 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#128 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Hotel Mark Twain
#112 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing