We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #105 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Southport, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service and good location”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel, was on the small side but that was expected for an older hotel. Everything was clean and loved the wine reception every evening from 5-6pm. The best customer service we have had on our trip so far, staff very helpful and friendly. Good location, central to everything. A charming little hotel fora charming city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    482
    236
    105
    65
See reviews for
145
501
75
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights.
Well located near tram stop.
Short walk downhill to Union Square.
Pleasant staff.
Bedrooms are nice enough, large bed.
Shower room on the small side but apart from that could not complain about the Hotel at all.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front left side of the hotel which had 2 windows. Bar opposite but no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomam2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable!

And as you noted yes our guest bathrooms can be a bit snug in size but this is common for hotels in San Francisco. Great you found our hotel to be in a great location with proper guest services. I hope you will visit San Francisco again and when you return be sure to check out our “HOT” rate package deals on our website or contact me directly for best room rates and availability (email/phone/or website).

I look forward to being your host again! And again, I appreciate your review.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This little nice hotel has a perfect location. China Town is around the corner, cable car stop just 2 minutes away. Also the financial district and Market Street are just 5-10 minutes away from the hotel.

Old but clean rooms as well as a very friendly and polite staff makes a stay at this place pretty comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms to the street. This might be a little bit noisier especially in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Censurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for the great feedback. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable. From your review we succeeded to make your time with us memorable! Thanks again!

If your ever back in San Francisco check our HOT rate package deals on our website or contact me directly for our best rate! ( executivehotels.net/vintagecourt )

I hope your continued journeys are great too!

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Executive Hotel Vintage Court was excellent! The employees are very helpful, friendly. The hotel itself was very clean, very convenient. I would recommend this property to anyone. Again, very convenient!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you! Our staff strives to provide competent and helpful customer service as it shows the pride in our work. We appreciate your support to our business and your noted comments in regards on how much you enjoyed your stay.

Please feel free to contact our hotel directly anytime if ever back in San Francisco for our best rates and perks to such as a free I-tunes gift cards on any two night stay, no changes or cancel fees and a rather lucrative Executive Reward program too! I am please that our team and hotel was able to make your stay an Executive Experience.

Check our HOT rate packages our website too! Thanks again for the great review!

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-des-Monts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I’ll start with the positive. The room was clean, the staff were good and the location is excellent, very safe! As two women travelling alone we weren't nervous, not even later in the evening. There are lots of little diners and restaurants nearby, tons of great retailers in Union Square.
Now the bad. The hotel is on a busy one way street which makes getting out of the airport shuttle and boarding tour buses difficult. The cars flew down the street and came dangerously close to the passenger doors. Very scary! The lobby is tiny and was filled to the rafters by tour groups most mornings. The elevator is small and can only hold 6 adults (4 with luggage) so wait times are long. Our room was hot with a strong musty smell when we arrived (we were on the 6th floor). We opened a window only to discover there are no screens. Coming out of the bathroom I searched in vain for the sink. It was outside the washroom behind two closed folding doors. This proved to be quite inconvenient throughout our stay. The absolute worst thing was the air conditioner. We lowered it right away since the room was so hot. When it kicked in it was deafening. Truly not an exaggeration. We couldn’t talk over the noise and it woke us up all night long. We would start awake every time it turned on. The next morning we played with the settings and changed it to fan instead of cool. This wasn't ideal as the room grew hotter throughout the night but at least we could sleep. The fan setting was a blessing for another reason. The walls are paper thin. We could hear the street sounds clearly. The fan provided white noise and drowned out some of it. One final thing, the toilet broke on our third day. However, they did send someone up right away to repair it.
If location is your priority than this hotel will work for you. If comfort is important I suggest staying elsewhere. I certainly won’t stay here again. This hotel is very old and it shows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Recent Guest(s):

Thank you for your recent review. From your review it appears you are not one to travel too often due to your comments. But, I will answer your and any other reader’s concerns below.

The hotel is correctly positioned in the San Francisco Area as a great tourist boutique hotel rated above three stars in classifications. You are correct that the hotel has a fabulous location and in a safer neighborhood in the San Francisco city limits. The hotel is on a one way street, yet nothing is “scary” about the traffic as the cable car line picks up every 10 minutes at the corner of our hotel and the cable cars move at most about 15 miles per hour. Drivers of cars in San Francisco are careful and watch for pedestrians, yet city traffic is just like every other major metropolitan area in our nation.

Yes, our hotel lobby can be filled with tourists, yet isn’t this an example of good a business and hotel? If the tourists were on a tour group, they typically are in the lobby for a short time under 30 minutes awaiting departure of their tour for the day. Our hotel lobby is over 1,700 square feet for 106 guest rooms. Our hotel offers a great wine reception that is complimentary. Our wine must be good for our lobby is filled daily with guests wanting to mingle and chat over a glass of chardonnay or cabernet!

In regards to the room issues, our Air Condition units create a “hum” but as you discovered settings can be changed. Also, AC units are nice amenity to have as most hotels in our hotel price point do not offer Air Condition units in the room, as San Francisco’s average temperature is at 68 degree’s Fahrenheit annually. And just to clarify if the noise was loud on the AC unit, the settings can be easily adjusted from low, medium, high and energy saving modes too.

Odd that you also found such noise in the hotel to be loud, as we ‘rarely’ have any noise complaints as the hotel is situated in the Nob Hill area, in a quiet neighborhood of downtown San Francisco. However, note downtown San Francisco is a lively urban environment with taxis, fire trucks, pedestrians, cable cars, city activities moving about 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. And in addition the hotel does offer a few rooms with the bath sinks off the main bath room. This is actually for some rather convenient as one can leave showers and water closets to one guest while the other can brush teeth or rinse hands.

Lastly, as you stated your toilet did not work but was immediately repaired. Our staff is ready 24 hours a day to care for our guests. All one has to do is, just ask! Hence, your travels must be limited as our hotel has approached 100 years old and although dated, our décor, lobby, and rooms are modern, clean and comfortable with a great location and staff. For the price point in today San Francisco’s Hotel Market, one will find us to be a great find!

If you have further questions, please feel free to contact me directly at any time too!

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Found this hotel through TripAdvisor and was very happy with the choice. Vintage building very well kept up and the location can't be beat. Costs for parking garage are quite high ... Wish we didn't need our rental car for the latter part of our trip because we certainly didn't need it in SanFran. The hotel is close to all transportation including trolley. Rooms are nice and clean and staff very helpful. Loved the wine event in lobby every evening.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! I appreciate your comment that not only did you find our staff a delight but enjoyed the value of being in the heart of San Francisco to not need a rental car. In addition as you mentioned our hosted manager wine reception is great way to end the day and start the night, as you can mingle with fellow travelers. From your review we succeeded to make your time with us memorable! Thanks again and look forward to referrals too! If you or others in your party ever return to San Francisco, be sure to check out our HOT rate on our hotel website for the best return room rates too.

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 10 days in May 2013. It was a great location for us as it was close to the shops in Union Square as well as to the Cable Cars for when we needed to get to Fisherman's Wharf. It also felt pretty safe as compared to some of the other areas in SF. It is close to Chinatown and other restaurants in the Union Square area. The room we had was noisy at night but it is a city hotel! Our room was well presented, the beds were comfortable, housekeeping was reliable and the bathroom, while small, was adequate. It wasn't the sort of room where you'd want to just hang out in all day but suited us fine, given the price and location. Limitations were there were no tea making facilities (we had to buy a kettle) and the hair dryer stopped working after 10 sec of use (again we bought one for our stay). The free WIFI was good and only on a couple of occasions did it not work for us. Generally we found the staff not that helpful (with the exception of a couple). That said they were not rude just didn't solve the problem or were lack luster in responding to our requests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Recent Guest(s):

Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! I appreciate your comment that you enjoyed the value of being in the heart of San Francisco in a safe area. In addition as you mentioned our Wi-Fi was complimentary and worked great. Although you had to get a hot water kettle, our hotel offers daily complimentary lobby coffee and hot tea in our main dining room! Lastly, the hotel did upgrade some hairdryers and we have plenty of replacements so if ever in other hotels, please ask, we’d be happy to change out or fix something that did not work.

If you or others in your party ever return to San Francisco, be sure to check out our HOT rate on our hotel website for the best return room rates too.

Thanks again for your review and happy travels!

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,246 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
1,001 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing