We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #105 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic and tired.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

$7 for a $1 bottle of water in the room that has seen better days. Ok to get your head down but thats all. Grubby and basic. You can get a free cup of coffee in the long in the morning from 6 - 9 if the pot has been filled. Restaurant closed for revamp I hope they do the same for the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for your recent review of the Executive Hotel Vintage Court. The hotel is a solid three star hotel in the Union Square area with a vintage appearance for the age of the building. Updates of our hotel rooms have been done through the past several years such as LCD TV, mini bars (large water at $7 for 1 liter is the average price for San Francisco), as well as a new bed package, lounge chairs and in room amenities. Other three star hotels in San Francisco are similar to our hotel at the same prices. The hotel offers a clean room and a great location for both business travelers and tourists. In addition the hotel provides an excellent staff to service our guests. Guest room updates will continue with new bath updates as well in the near future.

Again, I appreciate your feedback. In regards to your recent stay our hotel price and value is middle market yet hundreds less than 4 and 5 star hotels. One has to decide luxury or mid-market basics with their needs matching our hotels value.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    482
    237
    105
    65
See reviews for
145
502
75
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived into SF late at night with no accommodation, and having never been in the area before. and stopped by the Executive as seemed to be in a good area. Rates were reasonable for the hotel and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was right by a trolley line and had lots of great places to eat nearby asa well as being close by to The wharf and union square. The staff were really helpful and, even assisted us in looking into our flights as there was bad weather around. Would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJClotworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! Reviews such as yours is what our hotel company strives for and from your review we succeeded to make your time with us memorable! Thanks again!

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for three days with my boyfriend on a trip to the city. The location is great. Walk or hop a trolley anywhere. Taxis are a short trip. I had never been to the city before, but loved it! This is a smaller and older hotel, but I would stay again for the location and price. The rooms are small, but we didn't plan on spending much time in it anyway. My only complaint is the noise factor. We had read previous reviews, so requested a room off Bush St. However, our interior room (301) was in the corridor where the trash apparently is, because the noise from the garbage truck at 6am made it sound like it was right in our room. And the second morning the glass that was being thrown around down there was super loud. I can usually sleep through anything. Read previous reviews about rude staff. We found them very accomidating and helpful. All in all - a great hotel for the price and location.

Room Tip: Pick a room off Bush St and not in the corridor where the garbage is kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mozerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for your recent review of the Executive Hotel Vintage Court. Apologize for any noise issues yet this is outside of the hotel’s environment. During street-side garbage pickup the hotel and building is updated with windows that are double paned. However, from your feedback, the hotel is keen to keep our price consistent while providing proper room accommodations and amenities. And as you stated, the hotel is a great location for both business travelers and tourists.

Please advise me directly if ever you return as I will be happy to assist in maximizing your accommodation and away most from noise via alleys or the street side. Yet remember in San Francisco one can hear everything from the bellow of a fog horn, trolley car bell rings, car horns and alarms, emergency fire trucks, etc, as its part of the urban life.

Again, I appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the VC recently and were relieved to see that most of their excellent staff were still there, because hotels change staff like they do sheets now days it seems. We checked in and were given a comp bottle of wine by the concierge, a nice touch. We have stayed here many times in the past and sadly have seen the deterioration that time and traffic has wrought on the facility. And sadly, Masas, located in their building,and once the top rated restaurant in SF, closed for keeps on the day we checked in. I see the ratings calling the hotel "horrible" and "rancid" etc (not entirely accurate either). and while there is a decidedly musty odor prevailing, there is still a charm to this hotel. The location cannot be faulted at all, as you can walk or take the cable car from practically your front door. There are some good discounted room rates now through CheapO.com which can ease the pain of a few odors. All in all, I still recommend staying here and their free wine tasting every evening makes it all the more fun. Ask for Vincent or Bader and they will take care of all your needs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center sections are quieter, rooms on the street sections are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well first impressions when you walk in reception is ' very posh'. Then you step in the room and you think wow very nice. Then you go in the bathroom and theres some sort of drink stain on the tops of the drawers, wallpaper peeling, shoddy paint touch ups and grouting. The floor looked mucky....the towles were stained. Then when we got into bed it smelt fusty like noone had even washed them since god knows when! The food and drink in the cupboard was laughable as they were out of date and they expect you to pay extra for it! never again would i stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie-ShaneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

at the cheaper end of the price range I was not expecting the ritz, however this hotel is in such a great location it could have been wonderful. Rather the supposedly 4 star didn't really happen. The service varied significantly depending on who I dealt with from wonderful to disastrous. I would probably choose somewhere else for the next visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

I appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court. However, I do not know what led you to believe or read that our hotel holds a 4 star rating? Our hotel is a solid 3.5 star rating by all travel. I would recommend to research further prior to booking. I and my staff are hear to assist you at any time so if something did go astray please advise as you were not clear on your issues in your review. Our hotel is able to provide a good location, clean room, quiet, comfortable bedding and good amenities. For our room rates we are well positioned yet the hotel as most in the area are over 100 years old adding what same may say quirks yet others find unique and charming.

Please advise me directly if there is something more that can be done to assist you in your review as I would be happy to review your account further too.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Was ready to leave after two. The room was poorly apportioned, toilet didn't flush, tub was rusty, towels were stained and there was such a draft that they had to send up a portable heater. Then came the blackout that they couldnt fix whiched caused us to have to switch rooms. The staff was nice and hospitable, but it was not enough. The wine reception was nice too, but it didnt make up for all the faulta of this place. Take my advice, Skip this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daonly1likeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Recent Guest:

Thank you for the reply in regards to your recent stay and although your room was not functional due to oddities of an electrical switch, this should not have created such a bad experience. Our hotel staff are always ready to assist at a moments notice so if toilet didn’t flush we would be right there to assist. You noted a great staff and nice wine hour as well as location and free wi-fi, and it is unfortunate that your room had a “blackout’ due to power demands. Our team came to find out from a room next to yours using the wrong international electrical settings on their beauty appliances.

I again appreciated your comments and will continue to review such issues with our staff to service other guests more diligently too. Please contact me directly for further assistance if necessary as I would also be happy to review your account further.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#86 of 229 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
1,456 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
1,006 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing