We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #103 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value but dated”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed recently for one night on a business trip. The bed was high-quality but the wallpaper was peeling, the phone jack was hanging off the wall, the heating unit barely worked, the only elevator was painfully slow, and the hotel smelled a lot like my great grandmother's house - musty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! As you noted, our hotel has identified such odors and applied a scent program to remove and neutralize (odorless) as of January 1, 2013. The nature of any "musty" smell is typically from our geo-thermal hot water system for instant and continuous hot showers and baths. Our hotel also offers Air Conditioned Units and several windows that do open. Our hotel housekeeping team has been aware of such odors and daily by deep cleans the rooms as well as pushing "fresh air in and out" the room with the Air Condition units. However, due to high occupancy, timing and long term guests, the hot showers may bring hot steam into the rooms versus a crisp and fresh air due to the hot al showers and baths steaming up the rooms. Yes, the hotel is a bit older but we offer nice clean rooms and comfy beds (as you noted). Although the hotel offers just one elevator it has been adequate for the past 100 years to service the hotel! Our hotel is priced right and we offer a great value for travelers visiting San Francisco also as you noted. I wish you the best on your future travels and if ever in San Francisco, contact us directly for best rates and promotions or visit us online via our website.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    469
    230
    102
    63
See reviews for
137
485
73
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel. I think the place is great, but if you are looking for luxury, this won't be the one for you. It is a small, older, boutique hotel. Just be sure and ask for a room with a tub/bath combo. The shower alone is very small. We had a king size room that was very comfortable and clean. The location is perfect, as is the staff. It is an extremely good value, especially since people don't go to San Francisco to stay in their room all day.
Every evening there is a wine reception (free) where you can visit with other guests from all over the world, or take your glass of wine up to your room.
I love this hotel, and can't wait to go back again next year!!

Room Tip: the higher floors at a bit more quiet. room 717 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleenp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the Executive Hotel Vintage Court and our exceptional staff and services, location and amenities! As noted in your review, the Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! We are not always "perfect" but we strive to be and from your review we succeeded to make your time with us memorable! Thanks again! Lastly, when you return to San Francisco please to not hesitate to contact us directly for room reservations or visit our website. Until then, I hope you and your future travels are secure and friendly as you have found at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court.

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times and I would not hesitate staying here again.

PROS: Always seem to find great deals for this hotel, good/central location (couple of blocks from Chinatown, walking distance to Union Square & Market St.), friendly service, comfortable beds.

CONS: Room was a little worn down (cracks in the wall, etc.), Rooms are on the smallish side, but it is an old building. Also because it's an old building, the sink was outside of the bathroom, not necessarily bad thing, just something to get use to.

TIPS: Don't pay for parking, just self-park at the Sutter Stock Garage. Yes, areas near the hotel can be sketchy, but you're staying in a city, just stay on the main streets & pay attention to your surrounding & you'll be fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! And you are correct our hotel is at a great location, with nice amenities (comfy beds) and a welcoming staff. Yes, due to the age of the building are baths do have some quirks in size and sink locations but it all works! And I agree that in any area of San Francisco (like any big city) it is best to be aware while out and about but note our hotel is in the midst of Nob Hill, a residential district that rubs shoulders with the Ritz Carlton, Fairmont and other larger hotels on the hill. Hence the streets around our hotel are secure, quiet and safe. I appreciate your review and thanks again for your repeat stay!

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Perfectly good room for a functional traveler who needs a place to drop their stuff and sleep. Rooms are little dated but have every amenity required and are close to chinatown and name brand shopping stores. Good price too. I'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie6472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel prices in the city can be outrageous and it can be hard to find a good value. This place has comfortable beds, large rooms and a friendly staff. The lobby is a little lackluster, but I'm willing to compromise for this rather than paying double the price for a room a block and a half away. This is our new hotel of choice when having a night out in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynCiudad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We decided to walk there as the location on a travel site said Union Square. The walk was uphill and too far with luggage. Across the street was an erotic massage parlor! Not at all in Union Square, and there were a number of homeless-looking people about. During the night there was so much noise... people screaming in the street, pounding throughout the hotel, even a call from the front desk after I had fallen asleep. They apologized profusely, but then called again an hour later!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and first of all apologize for any errors our hotel may have made in your accommodations. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! However, I am not too sure if you review is about our hotel? The Executive Hotel Vintage Court is located in NOB HILL, a residential neighborhood district just two blocks from Union Square on the Powell Street Cable Car line. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court is not located near any erotic massage parlor. Across our street and in our hotel block are five (5) residential apartment complexes, two hotels, three restaurants, one restaurant is in our hotel “Masa’s” a fine dining Michelin rated restaurant with valet and door staff to remove any vagrants that may be in the area. In addition, on our block hosts a few service companies for dry cleaning laundry, hair/nail salons, one local market for sundries, and two small local bars. Also, if any homeless person was near or in our hotel, the San Francisco Police Department along with the Union Square Association Task Force would be called to remove any and all homeless intruders immediately. I would be delighted to review the issues you may have found in our hotel directly as we have no information of noise complaints from any guests in our recent history files and this includes New Years Eve, December 31, 2012. Pounding of guest noise in the hotel would be deemed unfathomable without immediate action being taken. Also any screaming seems beyond our hotel arena and our staff are empowered immediately to call in the police for such matters. Again, I would be intrigued to know more and happily reconcile your stay and review of our hotel. Lastly, your review is unclear if you called to complain with our hotel staff about the noise or if they called you in error. If our hotel staff called your room by mistake, our apology for the late awakens. Your welcome to contact me direct by email or through the hotel phone number anytime.

Sincerely,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
gmvc@executivehotels.net
415-544-6201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The executive hotel wasn't too bad, but it wasn't great either. The room itself was pretty good (except the bathroom which was outrageously small), and was cleaned well each day. The staff were pretty awful, except the housekeeping lady who was perfectly lovely. Location was good, only a couple of blocks from Union Square. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a 'Poor' is because I imagine that most San Francisco hotels are pretty vintage(old)/boutiquey(small).

Jonathon, a member of the lobby staff, was terrible. We checked out at about 11am (give or take an hour, can't remember), and had to wait until about 6pm for a shuttle to the airport. Obviously we didn't want to wait in the hotel for that whole time so we decided that we would leave our bags with the hotel and go for a walk/explore/find something to eat. So we asked Jonathon if he could keep the bags for us, to which he said that there was no room out the back so we would just have to leave them in the lobby, and he would keep an eye on them. We were a bit uncomfortable with that, but ended up doing it anyway. When we got back the bags were still there, but it was a different concierge member and we were going to head out for a bit again, so we asked this staff member if he could put the bags and the back and explained that Jonathon had said there wasn't any room. The new staff member look at another one with a strange look and said there was heaps of room out the back, and put the bags there. So I'm not sure if Jonathon was incompetent or lazy, but either way it was pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations SHOULD be enjoyable! I however am a bit surprised that your review was poor when the Executive Hotel Vintage Court has had many happy and satisfied guests recently stay at our hotel. You noted a clean room and nice housekeeping staff but had a hiccup with our bell staff and process of luggage storage.

I apologize and have discussed directly with our bell staff about the claim check and luggage issue you received as it was poorly handled. I personally will make sure such error is correct for other hotel guests. Your comments are taken serious and it appears the service you received was not what you expected. If you did reach out to our staff and did not receive the proper service, please feel free to contact me directly anytime at 415-392-4666 so we can discuss your unpleasant stay further.

Again, I apologize but the Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable!

Sincerely,
Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#87 of 227 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#66 of 227 in San Francisco
1,655 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#156 of 227 in San Francisco
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
1,392 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 227 in San Francisco
1,119 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing