We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located and the wine tasting was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Ranked #107 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Centrally Located and the wine tasting was great!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

An old-style hotel that, to some, may need a re-furbish but the look gives it character. We found the room to be comfortable and the staff pleasant. It is ideally positioned at 10 min walk (max) to the main shopping area and the port (for boat to Alcatraz).
The parking charge ($34 / night) was a surprise but competitively priced looking at some of the other places where prices were as high as $100 / night.
You have to try the wine tasting; it's a good way to meet people or just have a nice glass or two of fine wine !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelledSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! We are not always "perfect" but we strive to be and from your review we succeeded to make your time with us memorable! I hope your wine experiences were also enlightened with some our vintner tastings too! Thanks again!

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    483
    238
    105
    66
See reviews for
145
503
75
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Centrally located only a few minutes walk from the central shopping area and cable car lines, very friendly and helpful staff, room was clean & comfortable, free evening wine tasting and complimentary coffee in the mornings were excellent. Would definitely recommend, only downside was it was very noisy having a room overlooking the front, traffic noise etc, the bin men come very early in the morning!!!

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking Bush Street if you are easily disturbed by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Competent, helpful and cheerful front desk staff. The hotel is very 'vintage' - which is the style of San Francisco - but has an updated decor. The rooms are clean and pleasant. Wine tasting in the afternoons was a differential. The hotel is strategically well located in one of the best areas of San Francisco. There is one cable car stop at the corner of the street and is located 4 blocks from Market St., where you will get transportation to anywhere in San Francisco.
Whatever is your choice, stay in Union Square, Lower Nob Hill, Financial District or Fisherman's Wharf area. Never choose: Civic Center area, Mission District or nearby locations.
Unless you have small children, buy a Munipass and hop on/hop off of cable-cars/buses for all San Francisco how many times you want!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My best friend and 2yr old son stayed at this hotel on a Mini vacation the beginning of August...rooms were a great size eventhough the building was a classic San Francisco building, bathroom was really clean as well as the carpet. Bed was really comfortable too. But the thing that made this my hotel to stay at and recomend was that when we checked out I forgot a pair of my sons designer jeans in our room, and the hotel housekeeping staff and manager made every single effort to find them then ship them back to me. Great customer service always makes a hotel an amazing place to stay at!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvillasenor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Ms. Villasenor, I am delighted to have read your review and thank you for your kind comments. The hotel strives to offer exceptional service towards all our guests and you are the proof that excellent service does exist! With our hotel team, everyone is in gear to give our guests, such as you and your son, a friendly, welcoming, comfortable, safe and clean experience while visiting San Francisco. And from your review we achieved our goal! Thank you again and I am happy to know the lost item was received as reported. If ever in San Francisco again please feel free to contact us directly for additional room reservations! Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Quite expensive for what you get. I suppose marketing terms are the way forward now. When something is old and needs to be updated call it vintage and then it justifies leaving it alone. The good aspects of the hotel are the comfortable clean beds and the free wine tasting every evening. The location is also convenient. I didn't like the fact that they charge you ten dollars for a bottle of water in your room. I also didn't enjoy the so called gym. It was a running machine a couple of very light weights in a tiny musty old room with a smelly brown carpet.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cappagh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantome
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My partner & I stayed at the Vintage Court in San Francisco for 5 nts 16 to 21/06/12, Four nights too many. With more attention to detail it could have been a much nicer stay!

On the up-side: Friendy staff. Fantastic location, at 60 we managed all of the hills from Fishermans Wharf back to the hotel & Union Square. A 'Must Do' catch a City Tour open top bus, get a 24hr ticket, buy it after mid-day so you can use it both days & wrap up warm for the Bridge! We cought it on the 1st afternoon, it was really hot in downtown SF, by the time we arrived at the Golden Gate Bridge we had to get off as it was so cold, on the next day we went wrapped up for winter - we were so pleased we had! Th bed was comfortable. We managed to get to the wine tasting twice, nice touch.

On the down-side: The room was very small dark and gloomy with a bad drain smell. This hotel is in need a good refurb!
We had supplied our own drinks, green tea & coffee BUT there wasn't a kettle to boil the water! Only paper cups, so we had to buy 2 mugs and heat water in a coffee maker which didn't boil the water.
We used nothing from the mini bar, we ONLY used straws from our complimentary sachets to stir our drinks, made from hotish water from the coffee maker!

On checking out we advised the front dest that we had not had anything from the room that needed to be paid for. Then on checking our Credit Card Statement after arriving home we found we had been charged over US$8.00! For what? I have emailed the hotel about the extra charge and asking them to refund - but they chose to ignore my email! How many other guests have they overcharged that don't even notice! So be warned...

Room Tip: Wait till the hotel has a refurb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brantomevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Vintage Court after staying in New York and then Las Vegas a few days previously. I must say when I opened the hotel room door my heart sank and the disappointment of how basic the room was combined with being tired just made me burst into tears.

The room was very simple (although it was clean) and smelt musty. The bed was comfortable but there was no view from the window and there was no bath! There was one room with a shower and toilet and then the sink was in another place....behind a green door built into the wall in a dressing table-style! Very strange....

I calmed down a bit and realized that staying in Vegas had heightened my expectations... the hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and so helpful! They booked our return shuttle and our sightseeing trip. Reception also gave advice on where to catch the trolley cars from and gave out little maps.There is also free coffee every morning which is a nice touch.

The best part about this hotel is its location. So close to Union Square and the cable car is at the top of the street! We also managed to walk to AT&T Park to watch the Giants Baseball.

All in all...a bit too basic for me. But it's safe and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VGouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#153 of 229 in San Francisco
43 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#173 of 229 in San Francisco
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Property: Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Address: 650 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3509
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and data-port - Wireless Internet ( Wi-Fi )available throughout the hotel complimentary. Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $48 plus tax per day, self parking for $35 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6AM - 10PM, San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newspaper. MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views Dining Room offers a Neo American Bistro and Bar. A new experience with dining is coming this summer for Evening Dinners. Our dining room also offers a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing