We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
5
47
99
46
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
47
99
46
50
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 247 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

This hotel would have received a solid 3 out of 5 from me if it weren't for an issue with our reservation.

We booked through booking.com 6 months in advance as part of a road trip. We had confirmation that the booking had been accepted. However, when we arrived at the Oasis they claimed they had never received our booking and didn't have a room for us. But we were told not to worry because they just happened to have a couple of rooms reserved at the hotel next door. What a coincidence! We were told it was a hotel of the same value and it would just be for one night. We didn't have much choice so off we went. The hotel next door was AWFUL. Definitely inferior quality. It felt both unsafe and unsanitary. The guy on reception of the other hotel told us that people get bumped from the Oasis "all the time" and that they overbook their rooms. So I don't know if this is a common thing for them to do but we were not impressed and will be complaining via booking.com and asking for a refund of that first night. Beware!

Anyway, once we actually got our room at the Oasis the next day it was perfectly fine. Especially when you consider how much cheaper it is than most hotels in San Francisco. The parking is plentiful and secure. The courtyard in the centre is really cute and gives the hotel a nice feel.

The room was a generous size with a comfy king bed. Yes, the decor and TV are dated but you expect this from the pictures online at booking and everything is clean and well maintained. The shower is hot and quite powerful. It could be improved by larger bath towels and a few more pillows on the bed (only 2 provided) but generally a decent hotel for the price paid.

I've seen a lot of reviews complaining about the safety of the area and homeless people etc. To be honest it's fine! If you've been to any other large city it's the usual that you can expect. Similar to London or Paris. Yes there are some homeless people on the street but a) it's a large city and b) known for homeless people! This area didn't feel any less safe than the rest of the city. I was quite happy walking at night with my partner, just take the usual safety precautions you would in any other city.

And it's worth exploring on foot as there are some great restaurants just a 5 minute walk away. Look for Brenda's French Soul Food and Mel's Drive In. Both amazing.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Cindymunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

If there's somewhere cheap and nice in San Francisco we did not find it! This place is relatively cheap by San Francisco prices, but there was reason. The beds had mould on them and the whole place felt old and grubby. The TV didn't work when we got there and we didn't have enough towels. They did fix the TV, but despite asking twice, we never got enough towels. The sheets over the mouldy beds were clean, as were the towels. The staff were friendly but not very effective. We did a road trip down to San Diego and stayed in 7 places in total - this one was priced in the middle, but was the worst. Would not stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank brownpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

In our travels my wife and I have priorities: came to be inspired by the place, to learn about it and get reflection on life and civilization. Our day is activity and we always seek the place to stay that is at the heart of it, with the additional quality to be reasonable affordable, informative stuff and clean so that we could relax after a tiring day. This place has these qualities, it is ideally placed that most of places in San Francisco one can reach on foot (we prefer this mode of transport). Its additional quality is that you get acquainted with two faces of San Francisco, that of high towers and that on the wild side. Being confronted with the latter for some may be scary but these people are forgotten passengers of humanity and they are too much involved with survival to be dangers. Although advice, night is a different story, it brings out those that surviving has different meaning to them. Getting to the hotel from the airport the best is to take shuttle that will take to the front door and the stuff will organize departure.

Room tip: away from the main street
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danko46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

The Oasis, or at least the room I was in, finally got a refrigerator!!! And it has a mini freezer too. This was one thing that was always lacking from their rooms. The other thing is the old huge tvs with the old hookups and unfortunately those were still there. I must give props to the hotel for the improvement . Keep it up. The rooms are spacious and the outdoor area is a true oasis in the city. Great parking for free is an added bonus. Front desk could be a little more friendly . Overall a great stay and good value for the money.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank EazyEDob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Pros: Clean, comfort, spacious room and bathroom. High speed wifi. Great and central location, friendly reception.

Cons: Smelly room (a lot of mould), loose door not closing well, loose windows not closing well.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank GeorgeXgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews