We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveler rating
665
705
402
165
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
705
402
165
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable cargreat locationunion squareboutique hotelpowell stbart stationcomplimentary winewine hourwine receptionstreet sideheart of san franciscostreet noisejunior suitelight sleeperrooms are smallaround the cornermoscone center
Filter
Updating list...
1,452 - 1,457 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed here for a one night stop over in early February, 2011 and the only thing saving this review from being a complete negative is the location of the hotel. It is situated right on Powell Street Cable Car line and 1 minutes walk from union square, so everything on your doorstep. Now, the room.......This was miniature, damp, dark and had a lot of street noise..... I understand where it is positioned and how therefore it is very noisy outside, but other hotels are able to cope. The bathroom was tidy, but unfortunately, my stay was hampered by the cost of the hotel room for what you receive in response. Finally, another positive would be the free wifi internet access - this is rare to come across in San Francisco downtown, so a bonus i guess.......

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinewooDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabboud, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Hotel Union Square. We are so sorry that you did not have a restful night and that you found the room too small for your liking. We do have larger Executive and Junior King sized rooms available. Unfortunately downtown San Francisco does at times get noisy.
Your business is important to us and we would love another chance to make you happy. Upon returning to Hotel Union Square you are cordially invited to select and enjoy one of our interior facing rooms that are quiet. Please contact me directly, so that I may have a chance of making you a fan of our hotel again and allow us another opportunity to impress you.

Tony Abboud
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The location of this hotel is great you are close to whatever you want to do ie;shopping, sightseeing, dining or just sitting and people watching.The staff at the hotel were excellent
and very friendly they don't have a resturaunt but Tads next door do excellent food (it isn't posh tho)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELVISENGLANDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Great location. Clean. Very nice decor. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_southman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

After checking through reviews on here we decided to plump for the Hotel Union Square when we were staying in San Francisco last summer. Most reviews were good and it has excellent transport links, with the cable car terminus being only 100 metres down the street along with a BART station.

I got a reasonable deal through lastminute.com (£135 per night for a double), although upon arrival the check-in staff couldn't find any record of our booking. Thankfully things were sorted out pretty sharpish and we were able to get to out room and freshen up (7am flight from JFK having only arrived from London a day before).

The room was big and airy, but despite (or should that be because) iit being August the room was quite chilly. The bathroom is a little odd, with the sink in a seperate bit to the toilet/shower, but it's no biggie. Our room was at the front of the hotel, but there was little noise, and I found the sound of the cable cars to be quite endearing.

The bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had (aided by jetlag!). There is a computer connected to the internet so you can check up on emails or whatever. I can't remember if there was WiFi in the rooms or not, sorry!

Overall a good hotel with excellent links (as stated above).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drake_Sheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was my fourth year with the Personality Hotel chain and my first at the Union Square. Absolutely fantastic location for access to Moscone as well as Union Square shopping. Beautifully upgraded and modernized rooms. The room rates are deceptively reasonable--we're talking Motel 6-level rates in one of the most desirable locations in the world. The staff and service is worthy of a $500/night gig (with a special commendation to Tom Steel, concierge extraordinaire). Coffee in the lobby every morning and a dynamite little Thai restaurant just outside the door (with a couple of the city's best dining on the same block).

The location makes it a bit noisy at night if you have a room facing Powell Street (cable cars aren't very quiet), but there are rooms off the main street if that's an issue for you.

The location is very close to the Powell Street BART station. (If you're coming in via Oakland or SFO, take the train. It's a lot cheaper and, during rush hour, faster than a taxi or shuttle.)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews