We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well located, funky, boutique hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well located, funky, boutique hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Union Square from Feb 17-21 for a girls' long weekend getaway. I chose the hotel because of its price and proximity to Union Square and the BART. We were not disappointed when we arrived late in the evening to find the hotel was just a few minutes walk from the Powell St. BART station. The outside of the hotel is unassuming but the inside is quite stylish. It is a small hotel decorated in an art deco style. Our room (#308) was petite but clean and functional. This hotel is definitely not the most luxurious in town but the little extras (exposed brick, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, iPod docking stations) were appreciated. The only complaints were the teeny-tiny bathroom sink and the iPod docking station that was not iPhone compatible. The sink was so small that the floor would get wet when you washed your face.
This hotel provided excellent value for money if you're the type who can live without perks such as on-site restaurant, gym or included breakfasts. I was expecting the room to be noisy because of the cable car on Powell Street but our room faced one of the side streets and wasn't that loud. Though I did wear earplugs when I slept.
Bottom-line - If you're looking for a luxurious experience, this may not be the place for you. If you want a stylish, comfortable, inexpensive hotel in the middle of it all, give Hotel Union Square a try.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvljunkie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    544
    281
    110
    95
See reviews for
241
569
111
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed here for a one night stop over in early February, 2011 and the only thing saving this review from being a complete negative is the location of the hotel. It is situated right on Powell Street Cable Car line and 1 minutes walk from union square, so everything on your doorstep. Now, the room.......This was miniature, damp, dark and had a lot of street noise..... I understand where it is positioned and how therefore it is very noisy outside, but other hotels are able to cope. The bathroom was tidy, but unfortunately, my stay was hampered by the cost of the hotel room for what you receive in response. Finally, another positive would be the free wifi internet access - this is rare to come across in San Francisco downtown, so a bonus i guess.......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinewooDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabboud, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Hotel Union Square. We are so sorry that you did not have a restful night and that you found the room too small for your liking. We do have larger Executive and Junior King sized rooms available. Unfortunately downtown San Francisco does at times get noisy.
Your business is important to us and we would love another chance to make you happy. Upon returning to Hotel Union Square you are cordially invited to select and enjoy one of our interior facing rooms that are quiet. Please contact me directly, so that I may have a chance of making you a fan of our hotel again and allow us another opportunity to impress you.

Tony Abboud
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

The location of this hotel is great you are close to whatever you want to do ie;shopping, sightseeing, dining or just sitting and people watching.The staff at the hotel were excellent
and very friendly they don't have a resturaunt but Tads next door do excellent food (it isn't posh tho)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELVISENGLANDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Great location. Clean. Very nice decor. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_southman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

After checking through reviews on here we decided to plump for the Hotel Union Square when we were staying in San Francisco last summer. Most reviews were good and it has excellent transport links, with the cable car terminus being only 100 metres down the street along with a BART station.

I got a reasonable deal through lastminute.com (£135 per night for a double), although upon arrival the check-in staff couldn't find any record of our booking. Thankfully things were sorted out pretty sharpish and we were able to get to out room and freshen up (7am flight from JFK having only arrived from London a day before).

The room was big and airy, but despite (or should that be because) iit being August the room was quite chilly. The bathroom is a little odd, with the sink in a seperate bit to the toilet/shower, but it's no biggie. Our room was at the front of the hotel, but there was little noise, and I found the sound of the cable cars to be quite endearing.

The bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had (aided by jetlag!). There is a computer connected to the internet so you can check up on emails or whatever. I can't remember if there was WiFi in the rooms or not, sorry!

Overall a good hotel with excellent links (as stated above).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake_Sheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was my fourth year with the Personality Hotel chain and my first at the Union Square. Absolutely fantastic location for access to Moscone as well as Union Square shopping. Beautifully upgraded and modernized rooms. The room rates are deceptively reasonable--we're talking Motel 6-level rates in one of the most desirable locations in the world. The staff and service is worthy of a $500/night gig (with a special commendation to Tom Steel, concierge extraordinaire). Coffee in the lobby every morning and a dynamite little Thai restaurant just outside the door (with a couple of the city's best dining on the same block).

The location makes it a bit noisy at night if you have a room facing Powell Street (cable cars aren't very quiet), but there are rooms off the main street if that's an issue for you.

The location is very close to the Powell Street BART station. (If you're coming in via Oakland or SFO, take the train. It's a lot cheaper and, during rush hour, faster than a taxi or shuttle.)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Decided to go into the city for an overnight stay with a girlfriend. The hotel was in the perfect spot right up from the Powell street BART station and close walking distance to Union Square, theaters, and some great restaurants. We checked in and the staff was great. They served wine at 5pm and our room was too CUTE! The rooms were small, but the had done great things with lighting and the decor. I would definitely go again with my husband for a night on the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Stringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing