We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to Stay San Fran” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay San Fran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Great location. Clean. Very nice decor. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_southman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    544
    281
    110
    95
See reviews for
241
569
111
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

After checking through reviews on here we decided to plump for the Hotel Union Square when we were staying in San Francisco last summer. Most reviews were good and it has excellent transport links, with the cable car terminus being only 100 metres down the street along with a BART station.

I got a reasonable deal through lastminute.com (£135 per night for a double), although upon arrival the check-in staff couldn't find any record of our booking. Thankfully things were sorted out pretty sharpish and we were able to get to out room and freshen up (7am flight from JFK having only arrived from London a day before).

The room was big and airy, but despite (or should that be because) iit being August the room was quite chilly. The bathroom is a little odd, with the sink in a seperate bit to the toilet/shower, but it's no biggie. Our room was at the front of the hotel, but there was little noise, and I found the sound of the cable cars to be quite endearing.

The bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep was had (aided by jetlag!). There is a computer connected to the internet so you can check up on emails or whatever. I can't remember if there was WiFi in the rooms or not, sorry!

Overall a good hotel with excellent links (as stated above).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake_Sheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was my fourth year with the Personality Hotel chain and my first at the Union Square. Absolutely fantastic location for access to Moscone as well as Union Square shopping. Beautifully upgraded and modernized rooms. The room rates are deceptively reasonable--we're talking Motel 6-level rates in one of the most desirable locations in the world. The staff and service is worthy of a $500/night gig (with a special commendation to Tom Steel, concierge extraordinaire). Coffee in the lobby every morning and a dynamite little Thai restaurant just outside the door (with a couple of the city's best dining on the same block).

The location makes it a bit noisy at night if you have a room facing Powell Street (cable cars aren't very quiet), but there are rooms off the main street if that's an issue for you.

The location is very close to the Powell Street BART station. (If you're coming in via Oakland or SFO, take the train. It's a lot cheaper and, during rush hour, faster than a taxi or shuttle.)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Decided to go into the city for an overnight stay with a girlfriend. The hotel was in the perfect spot right up from the Powell street BART station and close walking distance to Union Square, theaters, and some great restaurants. We checked in and the staff was great. They served wine at 5pm and our room was too CUTE! The rooms were small, but the had done great things with lighting and the decor. I would definitely go again with my husband for a night on the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Stringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

We looked forward to this hotel after reading the reviews AND reading about the famous connection to Dashiell Hammett. After a week in Las Vegas we were looking forward to a completely different feel. The lobby is great, looks and feels authentic with a modern twist, old films playing in the background on the flat screen tv. I should have worn a hat! The staff were very friendly and approachable, always willing to help and advise, which put us at ease. We had a room upgrade to one facing Powell street, plenty of space, 2 large double beds, nice bathroom. The noise from outside was offset by the view of people, cars and trams we had every day! We were here to see as much as we could, the sound of trams was pleasing and evocative. The sight of people sprawled on the pavement (sidewalk) was less pleasant. Free coffee in the morning and wine in the evening was a very nice touch and a useful way to start conversations (hello to Don 2 dogs!! Are you still running past that block at home?). I have to say that you must judge a place by your own experience, and that we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranulph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed over New Year's Eve at the Hotel Union Square--probably not the best night for evaluating peace and quiet. Our room was small and semi-windowless, but who's going to stay indoors when you're 1 block from Union Square? We've stayed at the St. Francis up the street and have been in rooms of similar size (which is to be expected for old hotels in SF). The hotel went the extra mile to make the room as nice as possible (contemporary furniture, cool spa stuff) and the bed was very comfortable. Very convenient to have in and out privileges with the valet/garage and really, the location is awesome. We got back to our room around 2:30 am, so noise from other rooms wasn't an issue, although earlier in the evening, I could definitely hear music from the room next door. Bring your ear plugs, turn on the AC and you'll be good to go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights during Christmas. I booked my flight and hotel on a travel site. I read reviews on many hotels before choosing this hotel. I wanted a decent hotel, no roach motel this time. I have always stayed in pretty low rated hotels in San Francisco before this trip. I hadn't been to SF for 15 years.

The hotel is on very busy Powell street. Two of my favorite stores, H&M and Urban Outfitters are next door. I didn't know this before choosing my hotel. I liked that the hotel is smaller and has some charm. It's a really old building that has been renovated. The staff is very nice, even the maid says hello.

My one complaint would be that the mattress was saggy. This is funny, because all the dumps I used to stay in had the same mattress issue. I still slept great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lUSHESPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#122 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing