We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$334
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$206
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$196
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$244
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$275
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$235
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$481
$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,055)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveler rating
661
696
397
162
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
696
397
162
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable cargreat locationunion squareboutique hotelpowell stbart stationcomplimentary winewine hourwine receptionstreet sideheart of san franciscostreet noisejunior suiterooms are smalllight sleeperaround the cornermoscone center
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

A centrally located, beautiful clean and comfortable boutique hotel in San Francisco. The booking and checking in / out process was efficient and enjoyable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The free wine and entertainment in the lobby between 5-6 is an added bonus and is well worth the resort fee! The refillable water bottle in the room is an excellent idea and the wifi was free. The ability to print things for free was also a bonus! Would recommend to anyone visiting San Francisco and would definitely stay again if I return to this amazing city! Would also recommend the Go City pass to make savings on lots of the tourist attractions including the hop on/ hop off bus and the boat tours in the bay...

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star experience at Hotel union Square! Sounds like you had an amazing trip exploring SF and we greatly value your feedback! We hope to see you next time you are in our city. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

According the pics which are uploded by the hotel owners i was expecting something much better comparing what i ve received! Room was super small, i would say claustrophobic like a box! Bathroom the same. Even there was no space for a sink in a bathroom so they installed it close by the bed! Rediculous! Whats more.. for this price i would expect the parking place should be included, but again surprise, extra paid 55$ !! Of course no breakfast! The pros of this hotel is : great location, good wifi, cleanness .

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kamila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent visit with us. We are sorry to hear our guestrooms did not meet your expectations and we will review this feedback with our team. Our rates due fluctuate with the city and we apologize if you felt the price you paid was too high. Parking unfortunately is a costly expense here in SF, but I can assure you however that our rates are competitive with the surrounding hotels in our area. We high recommend public transit since we are located near so many great options. We hope to impress you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

The hotel is located in a great location and the room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom should be in a TINY house. There was nowhere to put anything on the sink and the shower had a shower curtain because there wouldn't have been room for the toilet if it had walls. The outside noise came right trough the windows and doors and it is a noisy area. But overall it really wasn't too bad.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Louis015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you loved our central location however I apologize that this created a bit of unwanted noise in your room. I hope you were able to find the complimentary ear plugs in your guestroom and get some good rest. We are also sorry if the bathroom was too small for you. We appreciate your comments and hope to impress you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Good location, poor cleaning staff (not impressed by the attitude of the cleaning staff). Impressed by the location of the hotel, great front desk attendant who was great at dealing with the check in service..

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ryanY9445WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and front desk team. I am very sorry however if you found this level of service was not consistent throughout the hotel. I will share this with my team to help us improve and appreciate you letting us know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Stayed 3 nights at the HUS. Location is great with Union Square and the Hop On/Off buses right there and the cable car runs up Powell St from Pier 39. If shopping is your thing all the big stores are right on the doorstep too including a handy Walgreens directly opposite which we found really good to pick up breakfast things as the hotel has no restaurant or breakfast room. They do have an arrangement with the cafe next door however. They do have morning tea/coffee in the lobby and wine hour in the evening so you should make use of this as both are included in your $15 a day 'amenities' charge! As is wi-fi.
The hotel is well kept and clean but the one downside for us was no a/c nor fan in the room (they did provide a fan on request but it was very noisy). We tried to sleep with the window open but SF has a high population of homeless folk who like to shout, swear and curse all night so we didn't enjoy particularly good nights sleep at all! The bed was comfy but we had no peace!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for being our guests and sharing your recent stay! We are happy to hear you found our location to be a shoppers paradise and enjoyed how central it was to seeing all the sites. We apologize that the downtown area can have some unwanted noise at night and hope you were able to use the complimentary ear plugs in your room. We do have some interior rooms that tend to be a bit less quiet if we have the pleasure of impressing you on a future stay. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews