We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveler rating
665
705
402
165
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
705
402
165
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable cargreat locationunion squareboutique hotelpowell stbart stationcomplimentary winewine hourwine receptionstreet sideheart of san franciscostreet noisejunior suitelight sleeperrooms are smallaround the cornermoscone center
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

The hotel is located in a great location and the room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom should be in a TINY house. There was nowhere to put anything on the sink and the shower had a shower curtain because there wouldn't have been room for the toilet if it had walls. The outside noise came right trough the windows and doors and it is a noisy area. But overall it really wasn't too bad.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Louis015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you loved our central location however I apologize that this created a bit of unwanted noise in your room. I hope you were able to find the complimentary ear plugs in your guestroom and get some good rest. We are also sorry if the bathroom was too small for you. We appreciate your comments and hope to impress you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Good location, poor cleaning staff (not impressed by the attitude of the cleaning staff). Impressed by the location of the hotel, great front desk attendant who was great at dealing with the check in service..

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ryanY9445WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and front desk team. I am very sorry however if you found this level of service was not consistent throughout the hotel. I will share this with my team to help us improve and appreciate you letting us know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Stayed 3 nights at the HUS. Location is great with Union Square and the Hop On/Off buses right there and the cable car runs up Powell St from Pier 39. If shopping is your thing all the big stores are right on the doorstep too including a handy Walgreens directly opposite which we found really good to pick up breakfast things as the hotel has no restaurant or breakfast room. They do have an arrangement with the cafe next door however. They do have morning tea/coffee in the lobby and wine hour in the evening so you should make use of this as both are included in your $15 a day 'amenities' charge! As is wi-fi.
The hotel is well kept and clean but the one downside for us was no a/c nor fan in the room (they did provide a fan on request but it was very noisy). We tried to sleep with the window open but SF has a high population of homeless folk who like to shout, swear and curse all night so we didn't enjoy particularly good nights sleep at all! The bed was comfy but we had no peace!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for being our guests and sharing your recent stay! We are happy to hear you found our location to be a shoppers paradise and enjoyed how central it was to seeing all the sites. We apologize that the downtown area can have some unwanted noise at night and hope you were able to use the complimentary ear plugs in your room. We do have some interior rooms that tend to be a bit less quiet if we have the pleasure of impressing you on a future stay. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

I stayed at this Hotel as a base for the Escape from the Rock Biathlon and city vacation. It's centrally located near Union Square and Market Street with access to the BART and main Muni transport links a block away. The hotel itself is modern and rooms are spacious. I had a room facing inward which meant windows were facing other parts of the building but it was quiet. The only complaint I have was the cost which was relatively expensive but that is largely true throughout San Fransisco.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MattD1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! Congrats on the Escape from the Rock Biathlon, what a great accomplishment! We are pleased our location and quiet rooms worked well for your visit. Our rates do fluctuate with the city and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in SF. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

The hotel is perfectly located in San Francisco and the front staff is extremely accommodating! Very impressed with this boutique style hotel. We would stay at Hotel Union Square during our next visit out west!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danaG3216SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler L, Director of Operations at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star stay at Hotel Union Square! We strive to offer friendly customer service and are thrilled this is what you received. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews