We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$456
$359
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $437/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$418
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$205
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$244
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$273
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$228
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$196
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$481
$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,055)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveler rating
661
696
397
162
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
696
397
162
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable cargreat locationunion squareboutique hotelpowell stbart stationcomplimentary winewine hourwine receptionstreet sideheart of san franciscostreet noisejunior suiterooms are smalllight sleeperaround the cornermoscone center
Filter
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

Got a room here last week, price was over 300.00 a night, figured it couldn't be that bad. Boy did I make a mistake worst hotel ever. Run down, broken elevator, over priced, dirty bathroom, no AC, no view, the list goes on and on. Ended up leaving before I even spent the night. I wish I would have read the reviews before booking it.

Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
2  Thank KJKSOHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2015

Loved this place, great location and beautifully themed rooms.
I will be back , for sure
staff very professional and friendly...I celebrated my birthday there and they upgraded me to a beautiful suite...with a nice welcome bottle and handwritten card
whow....

Room Tip: try for one of the suites..high floor recommended
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef123412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

We arrived this afternoon. The first room we were given had no windows whatsoever, just some thing that maybe opened up to an air duct. It felt like a coffin. I tried calling down to the front desk to inquire about a room change but there was no dial tone, broken. So we hauled our luggage back downstairs. Gentleman at front desk, who was pleasant enough, gave me the key to another room, smaller but with windows. Hubby stayed in lobby, I ran up to see it. The size didn't bother me, I stay in charming hotels in Europe and elsewhere with small rooms on a regular basis. However, the sun was glaring in, the room was a bazillion degrees, and there was an old, noisy in window air conditioner running at full blast that wasn't keeping up. There was one window, that was open, but was not doing any good, even on a gorgeous, cool spring afternoon. We ran. I'm very laid back, can put up with a lot. In all my years of traveling this is the only hotel I've ever outright walked out on. We found another room on the intertubes within minutes, a bit pricier but simply lovely in comparison. Be warned. From other reviews some folks have better experiences at Hotel Union Square, sadly not the case for us and we won't try again.

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sailgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2015

We chose this property because it was reasonably priced for San Francisco and close enough to the Giants' stadium to walk. Although the location is great - also close to Union Square (but NOT on Union Square, despite the name) with great shopping and restaurants - we were not happy with our accommodations. First, our room was incredibly noisy. We could hear other hotel guests all through the night, laughing, talking in their rooms, playing their TVs. You definitely need to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Second, our room was one of the smallest hotel rooms I've ever seen. The closet had a sliding door that when opened blocked the desk area and everything on it. Our bathroom was ridiculously tiny. When you opened the door, you had to open it all the way back because the toilet was RIGHT THERE, blocking the ability to enter the room. The sink was very tiny and had a humongous spigot that fortunately turned so you could move it out of the way in order to wash your face. The toilet paper holder was about five inches from the floor and almost impossible to reach while sitting on the toilet.

The bed was rock-hard, so I tossed and turned all night, and the pillows had that awful funk to them that indicates they should be replaced. Yuck.

Service was just okay. We asked the front desk to call a taxi for us and the bell person had the nerve to tell us to take the Metro instead! Rude! We ended up walking up to Market to get a taxi ourselves.

There is no doorman and we encountered homeless people camping out in the doorway as well as smokers polluting the air right by the door with their carcinogens. As this is California, people are not supposed to smoke in doorways, and since there are benches on the sidewalk, the hotel should have told smokers to move.

We are not going to stay here again - for a bit more money, we could have stayed at the much nicer Weston right on Union Square, and that is what we will do next time.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FPepoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2015

Historic, great location, amazing service, art deco meets modern decor. Thick walls, really luxe! What a great spot to stay in SF. Close to great shopping, right on the cable car stop, loud if you open the windows, but you get used to it. We had suite on the top floor, with 6 huge windows and a skylight in the entryway. It was very clean and the free wifi worked really well. They served free wine in the lobby at 5pm. Our concierge, Rueben, had perfect recommendations. Parking was expensive, but we loved this hotel. Some of the rooms are small, glad we splurged on a suite!

Room Tip: The 'fives are the best rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karinharris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews