We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great location”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #98 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming, great location”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Hotel Union Square is in a great location, close to the Powell-Mason cable car line, and just a block and a half from Market Street, where there is a BART station and many street car and bus stops.

Staff is very helpful and polite. The cleaning staff had the room ready hours before our check in.

The elevator is very small and there are a few steps leading to some of the hallways. If steps are a problem for you, be sure to ask for a room on the first floor.

Be sure to ask if your room has air conditioning if it's something you're used to. Coming from Maryland, we we're surprised to find that many hotels in San Francisco don't have air conditioning. The building does have a few rooms with AC, but most don't. Just know that San Francisco hotels typically don't have air conditioning. We opted for a room with A/C over a room with a window/view.

We originally had a smaller room and when asked for a room with A/C we got an upgraded room with more space. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was big with a large tub and a shower head with great water pressure. The TV doesn't have many channels and the picture isn't the best, but for the other things the room offered as being nice, it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuhrball77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    620
    332
    135
    119
See reviews for
313
649
121
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our California trip up the coast. The location was great and the staff friendly, but the room was the smallest we have ever stayed in. It had a wierd smell that never went away and our room was right beside the elevator so we hear the "bing" of the elevator all night.

I think there are better value rooms in the same area, so we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slogan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Slogan30,

Thank you for taking the time of leaving a comment, we are sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations but thank you for letting us know.
If availability allows us we always try to offer another room if the one offered at check in doesn't suit our guests. I wish we had the chance to make your stay better.
We hope that you will think of us next time you come to San Francisco and maybe give us a second chance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

You will love pulling up to be greeted by the uniformed "Beefeaters" out front before entering the lovely and quaint lobby.
The service at check in is courteous and the staff is pleasant.
The rooms are nice but not lavish and as others have said are on the small side, but that is not unusual for SF--like NYC space is at premium. I stayed a week and didn't feel closed in at all. If you want the most authentic experience, get a room on Powell Street..watch and hear the street cars. (If you prefer quiet over this true SF experience ask for a different side. )
The location is great...Street car outside the door, other public transport nearby, Convention Center close, half price ticket outlet within walking distance, etc. There is great dining and nightlife near as well...I didn't take my car out once.
This was my second stay here and I'd go back if I needed to stay in this area. The concierge is good..and my advice is to use them as a resource rather than the Beefeaters--both times I failed to do that, were the 2 times I had less than stellar dining experiences.
You would be hard pressed to find a more pleasant staff than the people you will experience at 114 Powell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuftedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Union Square while we were in SF for two night. I would rank our overall stay here as just good. The location was perfect. It is good walking distance from most of the touristy spots in SF.. but also close to the MUNI and cable car stop if you dont feel like walking. Lots of stores around for shopping and Union Square is just around the corner. This is a perfect spot for tourists looking to explore SF.

We stayed in an executive king on the second floor facing Powell Street, right across from UNIQLO. I noticed the street noise as soon as we walked into our room. We had requested for a different room but none were available. After spending a night there, it wasn't too bad, but can be an issue for light sleepers. Cable cars stop around midnight, but there are still people roaming the streets in the late hours. Request a room on a higher floor or facing away from the street if you think you'll have issue with this.

Bed was comfy, room was spacious. There was free wifi and complimentary wine at night in the lobby.

Other than the street noise, another issue we had was the bathroom. It was a little dirty with black shower gunk on the tiles. Also, it seems like the bathroom was not designed for the average person. I'm 5'7" and I found the toilets to be way too tall. My feet were literally dangling off the seat. The shower head was not adjustable and too low. I had to stand at least a foot from the wall so my head could get wet. No joke, it was so absurd I laughed every time I had to go into the bathroom.

Overall, other than the bathroom and road noise, our stay was good. It was only for two nights so we could deal with the imperfections.

Pro: Great locaton, free WIFI, complimentary evening wine, spacious room

Con: Weird bathroom design , road noise

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the streets or on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper. Execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in August and loved it. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of great shopping, restaurants and bars and with the historic San Francisco cable car running out site (word of advice, if you want to ride the car, do it in the morning, there were no queues/lines before 9.30 a.m. but after that, the queue/line was really long). It was also convenient for public buses/trams to Fisherman’s Wharf, the piers and AT&T park.
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the staff were always extremely helpful, our room was gorgeous and the bed was super comfy. At check-in we were offered either a street facing room or a quieter room in the back, which we thought was really nice as most hotels are not so kind when offering rooms. We opted for the street facing room as noise doesn’t bother us, and I have to say, it wasn’t even noisy.
The hotel hosts a wine and music reception each evening for an hour in the reception area of the hotel…….you can’t go wrong with free wine!
We loved it here and would definitely go back if we’re ever in San Francisco again.

Room Tip: If street sounds/street noise bothers you, ask for a room at the back, if it's not offered to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear DMG84,

Thank you so much for your great review about Hotel Union Square. It is such a pleasure to know that our guests are having a good stay with us, thank you for letting us know.
We hope we will have the pleasure to have you back at Hotel Union Square.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel Union square was our first stay during our honeymoon in California. Check-in was seamless, location was excellent, however it is also easy to miss if you are looking for the building.

Lobby was small, yet clean. They host a daily wine reception which is nice. Our room was on I believe the 6th floor. While there is an elevator, there may be a few more steps to bring luggage up depending on where your room is. Ours happened to be at the very back of the building. The window was actually a fire escape. If you have a hard time with stairs or are disabled I'd recommend making this clear as the hotel is at times full.

Our room was very small - typical for the city. The only thing I would complain about was that the Wifi in our room was pretty spotty, but it might be due to the fact our room was pretty much in the furthest corner.

The room only had a fan which was fine - no A/C. Our room safe and television remote control were not working. We let the front desk know of this and both were repaired immediately.

Beds were comfortable, our room had a shower stall which was clean.

The hotel itself is about a block from the street car turnaround and Union Square. There is a brand new Walgreens across the street which was convenient. We got a bottle of wine both evenings and some snacks.

No complaints - great stay. I did see some other reviewers got upgrades and or other small perks when visiting on their honeymoon. We told them the occasion for our stay in advance, but it didn't result in anything - (you gotta try!) Obviously this was fine! We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room sizes seem to vary significantly, even in the same bed size class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trusted_h0nesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location, small rooms, friendly staff. At night, you can hear the noise of the streets outside, which is distracting. Do yourself a favor and stay at Hotel Abri, which is one block away and is the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear BT,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a comment about your stay. It is a pleasure to read about how nice the staff was to you I am nevertheless disappointed that your stay with us did not completely meet your expectations. We hope you will give us a second chance and maybe stay in one of our Executive King rooms or Junior King suites that might better suit your needs.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
1,755 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,238 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing