We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, excellent location, nice decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location, nice decor”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a great hotel, be it location, decor and service! Paid a premium to stay here but it was worth it. It's conveniently located in the hearts of Union Square, with shops and restaurants all around. Taking the tram, Bart and simply walking around was very convenient. The rooms were in a modern decor and its clean and nice. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were a little too soft and flat. There was free wifi in the room. Was given a room that face the courtyard, while i missed the view, I think it would have been too noisy with the trams and people on the streets.

The reception and concierge were very friendly and helped us with a lot of our enquiries. We had packages deliverd to the hotel and they were received and stored properly before we collected them. We felt perfectly safe walking around the area, there was a Thai eatery adjacent to the hotel entrance that serves fabulous Thai cuisine at very affordable prices. Would definitely consider this hotel again if I visit San Francisco in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Joy80,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Union Square and for taking the time of leaving such a nice review. I am very happy that you felt safe and comfortable staying with us.
We hope we will have the pleasure to accommodate you again.

Kind regards,

Domitille Montoro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    576
    301
    124
    111
See reviews for
275
596
117
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Location was great, just a 3-minute-walk from the BART station on Market Street. Staffs were friendly and helpful and I could leave my luggage in the hotel before the actual check-in time. I was offered choice of room. Restaurants, bars, drugstores and department stores are all within walking distance. There's no restaurant in this hotel but Tad's Steakhouse next door is good for
breakfast and lunch. Powell cable car station is just down the street.
Room: good size for an average person with standard luggage (desk, dresser and a closet), but the airconditioner was a bit noisy, WiFi was fine
Bathroom: the bath tub was a bit slippery but I found all the things I needed there, including hairdryer
Overall atmosphere: good and happy guests

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyH517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Location was perfect for all our SF outings, atmosphere on arrival welcoming and classy. Room comfortable but in itself was smallish as to be expected in a vintage building, however high ceilings gave impression of room being bigger. Wish we'd realised sooner how good Tad's next door was for breakfast or even brunch, lunch or evening meal. http://www.tadssteaks-sf.com/menu.html Friendly welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon on the west coast, it is a nice boutique hotel, well decorated lobby, lots of character.
This hotel is in a great position for catching cable car and for being close to the shops, and tour bus points, china town, not so close to Fishermans wharf (but we new that when we booked).
The staff were really friendly on check in, and we we were able to check straight into our room we were in a standard room which was really quite small ( again we had read about the room before we travelled but hadn't fully appreciated just how small the room would be), there was just enough room for a queen bed, 2 side tables, a small desk, drawer unit and chair, to be honest we probably didn't need all the extra furniture and that extra space would have been better. We did ask about the possibility of upgrading room to a a bigger size and the staff were happy to show us what was available we decided that for the amount of time we would be in the room we couldn't justify the $100 upgrade charge.

We had an inside room so absolutely no view what so ever, we were away from the lifts but this didn't stop the noise from other rooms which to be honest was really loud at times, not really the hotels fault more inconsideration from other guests e.g. Letting doors slam and talking really loud on corridors.

Overall we had a good stay, the manager wrote us a card on check in congratulating us on our wedding, the free tea and coffee in the morning and the wine at night were nice touches. A list of recommending dining places would have been appreciated but we found our way around and listed to the tour guides recommendations.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view and having to have the lights on when you are in the room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The entrance to the hotel is a little hidden, we walked right by it until we looked up and saw the sign at the top.
Like what many reviewers have mentioned, the location is centrally located on Powell street right in front of the cable car line and near the BART.
Opposite of the hotel is Uniqlo and a Walgreens, at the corner of the street is H & M.

We booked a Deluxe room and had the option of a courtyard facing room or a street facing room. We picked the street facing room for a direct view of the Uniqlo bright lights and the cable cars moving below on the street. We had a room on the 3rd floor and didn't have trouble sleeping at night although during the day, the room can get a little noisy if there's loud honking on the street. The bells of the cable cars can be heard too. Good place to people watch if that's your thing.

The conceirge was helpful with food and tour recommendations. The front desk staff too were friendly and helpful.

Overall, I liked the general ambiance of the hotel (there were art pieces scattered around the hallways). Yes, the hallways were a bit dark but it fits in with their concept, the hotel is well decorated I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunchPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were very pleased with the Hotel Union Square. The beds were so comfortable, staff was great, location fabulous, and overall a very nice place to stay. The cable care turn about is 1 block down that takes you to the Wharf, Lombard Street, Cable Care Museum, and Top of the Mark. The Union Square area is busy area that has lots of shopping. Great area and place to stay.

We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieOwingsMillMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids,WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is right on Powell Street, centrally located to a lot of large department stores. The cable cars go right by, so it is very easy to get to your San Francisco destination for the day. The BART is about .3 miles away. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. There was a large closet, a safe in the room, and free wifi. The shower was like a gentle rain. There was a happy hour with red or white wine and a acoustic guitar player who was excellent. The was coffee in the room and also in the lobby. The staff was vey helpful and vey professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balloongirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Balloongirl34,

It is such a pleasure to read your comment, thanks you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us. I will tell Paul, our guitar player that you really enjoyed his set.
We hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards,

Domitille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#110 of 227 in San Francisco
1,766 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,774 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
1,626 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing