We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to stay in San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy to stay in San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Central location - true. Easy SFO access via BART - true. "Good enough" rooms for tourism - true. If you get room with window _not_ towards Powell str, room can be very quiet. It's true that rooms outlook and air quality can be a bit musty, but if you use your room more for sleeping than living there (housekeeping works fine and rooms are clean - things are scuffed, thats another story), this hotel offers value for the money.

Green Features: Clear instructions how to deal with towels and sheets. Always nice to find out as these practices spread all over.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    576
    301
    124
    111
See reviews for
276
596
117
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Location is perfect, near shopping, restaurants, and walking distance to many areas of the city. The hotel has a very nice artsy personality, very comfotable beds and the best showerhead ive ever used. Great value, I would stay there again any time I am in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devinpool88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here b/c my conference hotel was full and this was just two blocks away. The hotel is funky with a friendly guitar-player and wine in the lobby every evening, and *some* of the rooms are nice, clean, and airy enough. If you get the wrong room (I did until I upgraded), you will find yourself in a musty-smelly room with NO windows. Once I got to my windowed, more comfortable room, I found there were no closets, no hangers whatsoever, and no iron. The drain in the shower was slow so my feet took a bath while the rest of my body showered. The staff were friendly, but that barely helped. I asked for an iron to be brought up to my room, which it was....But it didn't work. Not recommended.

Room Tip: NOT the "executive queen"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbmomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va
Level Contributor
235 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a nice place and right by the BART, the start of the Cable Car line and in the middle of the shopping district. We stayed here for our 5 night San Fran visit. The price was excellent (booked through Expedia). Fly in, hop on the Bart and you are right there - no cabs needed. We were surprised there was no breakfast, but Tad's next door was awesome and had Sourdough French Toast. There was good wi-fi signal, wine and the late afternoon, and extremely friendly and hopeful staff (clerk and concierge). We walked to dinner one night at Westfields, and (a longer walk) lunch at the Thirsty Bear Brewery. My room was spacious and clean and the floor was very quiet. Coffee in the room is OK, and the coffee in the lobby was even better. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room faced the inner courtyard - not a good view, but a room facing the street would have been ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I usually hesitate to write non-positive reviews about the places I stay because I realize that much of it maybe an individual experience, but I do feel I need to highlight a few things about this hotel.

Although advertised as a boutique hotel, I do find that it has outlived the 'expected' boutique aspect, its age is even beyond charming. Instead, it is simply an old place with some attempts to cover up its age, the toilet was dripping, the shower drain clogged up, and the walls are thin and give a clue to your neighbor's activities.

I realize that this hotel is centrally located and that is certainly a plus, but for the price (which is probably not the best you can get on the web), it simply does not live up to one's expectation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPPSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I just returned from a 5 night stay at hotel union square with friends. Great place, just half a block from the cable car turn around, two blocks from a BART stop, two blocks from a cab stand -- it really couldn't be any more convenient. Union Square is a busy place, a major shopping district near to tiffanys, lush, old navy, macys and is just a short walk from a huge mall. Because of how close all the public transportation options are, you can quickly and easily get to Fisherman's wharf, the mission district, haight ashbury, chinatown, etc. It is a nice hotel, spotlessly clean, with a lovely wine reception each evening 5pm to 6pm. There is no restaurant inside the hotel and they do not serve breakfast. No worries, as it is near to many food options and there is a great diner right next door that serves a wonderful breakfast. Try the sourdough french toast -- we did, several times!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the street side, and although you hear traffic and the street cars clanking, I found it...
See more room tips
Green Features: option to not launder the towels and/or bed linens daily
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieSaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

First, a comment about the street noise mentioned in some of the previous reviews. The hotel has recently replaced the windows in front with triple-pane glass. We stayed in room 203 for 7 nights. Second floor, overlooking bustling Powell Street. Noise was absolutely NO PROBLEM for us, with the windows closed. You could hear the cable cars as they went by..... kind of a muffled rumble; also could hear an occasional siren or cable car bell (also muffled), but NEVER any thing overbearing or that would keep us awake. When we would open the bathroom window a bit, it was amazing how much the windows blocked the noise when closed. If someone was to be bothered by the little bit of noise there is, running the window unit fan on low would surely muffle any and all noise.
Second, the location. Incredible. Everything you need is either here or a few steps away. Good little Thai joint right next door (Bangkok Cafe). Another one 1/2 block away (King of Thai Noodles..... open very late on weekends). Next door the other direction, a cafeteria style steakhouse (Tad's), also good and inexpensive. Tad's also provides room service breakfast, lunch and dinner for the hotel until 11:00pm, with very reasonable prices. Anything else you need can be found right across the street at a new Walgreens that had their grand opening during our stay. This is NOT your father's Walgreens. Full grocery and liquor store, juice bar, bakery, coffee stand, all kinds of casual fare from sushi to sandwiches that all looked very appetizing. I believe this store is open 24/7. I think the only other Walgreens megastore like
this is in Chicago. For more high-end shopping, also right across the street is a clothing store called Uniqlo. 1 1/2 blocks up Powell is beautiful Union Square, which is surrounded by high end stores. Within a 6 block radius there are dozens of great eateries, inexpensive to lavish. Huge Westfield Mall is right across Market Street, with movie theatres and more high-end stores, as well as a high-end grocery store and dozens of places to eat. Powell Street Muni (subway) station is 1 1/2 blocks away. Care for the Castro? 10 minutes on Muni or 30 minutes on the vintage trolleys that run up Market and you're there. Fisherman's Wharf? Trolleys will also take you there, as will the cable cars that run right in front of the hotel. Chinatown is a 5 or 6 block walk. I could go on and on about the things that are available nearby, but space prohibits. If you are there for a week, make sure and buy a $28 pass that you can use on any public transportation including cable cars, Muni, and trolleys but excluding BART. It will pay for itself many times over, and can be purchased at the info booth at San Francisco International, as well as in town.
Finally, the hotel itself. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The lobby is cozy and lovely, in art deco style. There is a flat-screen framed TV that plays clips from movies from the 30s (sans sound). Each afternoon between 5pm and 6pm they provide wine in the lobby for the guests. Some days they had a guitar player there. Each morning, complimentary coffee in the lobby. As for the rooms, I think they have a wide variety from small to large. We had an executive king, and it was great. Fridge, safe, a/c, full closet, large bathroom, coffee maker, flat-screen, free wi-fi, nicely refurbished and smartly decorated, and quiet. Bed was comfy. Don't know what else you could ask for. I think the key here is to be very explicit as to what you want, room-wise and amenity-wise, when you make your reservation, and they will see that you get the room that suits your needs as well as your budget. Can't wait for our next stay at this great little hotel!

Room Tip: Get an executive king in front if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#110 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,054 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing