We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in wonderful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #102 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great hotel in wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

First, a comment about the street noise mentioned in some of the previous reviews. The hotel has recently replaced the windows in front with triple-pane glass. We stayed in room 203 for 7 nights. Second floor, overlooking bustling Powell Street. Noise was absolutely NO PROBLEM for us, with the windows closed. You could hear the cable cars as they went by..... kind of a muffled rumble; also could hear an occasional siren or cable car bell (also muffled), but NEVER any thing overbearing or that would keep us awake. When we would open the bathroom window a bit, it was amazing how much the windows blocked the noise when closed. If someone was to be bothered by the little bit of noise there is, running the window unit fan on low would surely muffle any and all noise.
Second, the location. Incredible. Everything you need is either here or a few steps away. Good little Thai joint right next door (Bangkok Cafe). Another one 1/2 block away (King of Thai Noodles..... open very late on weekends). Next door the other direction, a cafeteria style steakhouse (Tad's), also good and inexpensive. Tad's also provides room service breakfast, lunch and dinner for the hotel until 11:00pm, with very reasonable prices. Anything else you need can be found right across the street at a new Walgreens that had their grand opening during our stay. This is NOT your father's Walgreens. Full grocery and liquor store, juice bar, bakery, coffee stand, all kinds of casual fare from sushi to sandwiches that all looked very appetizing. I believe this store is open 24/7. I think the only other Walgreens megastore like
this is in Chicago. For more high-end shopping, also right across the street is a clothing store called Uniqlo. 1 1/2 blocks up Powell is beautiful Union Square, which is surrounded by high end stores. Within a 6 block radius there are dozens of great eateries, inexpensive to lavish. Huge Westfield Mall is right across Market Street, with movie theatres and more high-end stores, as well as a high-end grocery store and dozens of places to eat. Powell Street Muni (subway) station is 1 1/2 blocks away. Care for the Castro? 10 minutes on Muni or 30 minutes on the vintage trolleys that run up Market and you're there. Fisherman's Wharf? Trolleys will also take you there, as will the cable cars that run right in front of the hotel. Chinatown is a 5 or 6 block walk. I could go on and on about the things that are available nearby, but space prohibits. If you are there for a week, make sure and buy a $28 pass that you can use on any public transportation including cable cars, Muni, and trolleys but excluding BART. It will pay for itself many times over, and can be purchased at the info booth at San Francisco International, as well as in town.
Finally, the hotel itself. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The lobby is cozy and lovely, in art deco style. There is a flat-screen framed TV that plays clips from movies from the 30s (sans sound). Each afternoon between 5pm and 6pm they provide wine in the lobby for the guests. Some days they had a guitar player there. Each morning, complimentary coffee in the lobby. As for the rooms, I think they have a wide variety from small to large. We had an executive king, and it was great. Fridge, safe, a/c, full closet, large bathroom, coffee maker, flat-screen, free wi-fi, nicely refurbished and smartly decorated, and quiet. Bed was comfy. Don't know what else you could ask for. I think the key here is to be very explicit as to what you want, room-wise and amenity-wise, when you make your reservation, and they will see that you get the room that suits your needs as well as your budget. Can't wait for our next stay at this great little hotel!

Room Tip: Get an executive king in front if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    562
    299
    123
    107
See reviews for
267
589
115
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If our room, very small, was a typical room for a couple, I would say this is a hotel for the business person or overnighter, not the oversea tourist with lots of luggage, we are travelling for nearly 2 months. The decor was very nice and clean but the overall emphasis was on trendy and smart rather than comfortable and practical. The bathroom was so small you could not open the door fully as door hit toilet and with a pedestal basin, there was absolutely nowhere to put toilet bags and contents. Estimate 5ftx7ft. I tried moving the waste basket to the bedroom to give me the only possible bit of floor space for my toilet bag, but that was closed and moved and bin replaced when room serviced the next day. No fridge in room which would have been handy as a tourist for storing a drink or a sandwich etc.
Situation great and we were on 2nd floor overlooking street. Noisy in evening but we liked the sounds of the trams and cable cars that came down our road, quietened through the night however. Good choice of places to have dinner, although breakfasts were harder, wasnt too keen on what we got at place next door so bought paper bowls, cereal etc for remaining days to eat in room.

Room Tip: Ask size of room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

You cant beat the location if your gunna be in union square area. The rooms are small but clean. I stayed in a room facing the street and it was cool to hear the trolly and the hustle of the street. They had some wine down stairs if your into that

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 707chilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Staffs are friendly and helpful. Location is good as well, with lots of shopping and eateries nearby. The Thai joint beside is good! Despite it's along a busy street, the rooms are not noisy. The only thing I didn't like was... The room is really tiny, It's either a walk way or your bag. Imagine 2 person sharing the room, its really cramp. Do note that some rooms doesn't have air-con.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Union Square a couple weeks ago on a business trip and can say I really enjoyed it. The rates were reasonable for the location and the location was phenomenal for anyone attending a conference at the Moscone Center (an 8 min walk). On top of that, there's nothing cooler than walking out the door in the morning to see the Powell St. trolley going up and down the hill.

The staff was amazingly friendly and very helpful. While my "deluxe queen" room was basically a bed and chair, that was perfectly fine as the bathroom was large and I really only was there to sleep.

The hotel is old and has some cool history to it and I loved the art throughout. Overall, I'd recommend it for people traveling on business but it's probably not the best place for families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casieg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, even though the room is not big! The location is the best in SF, it was very easy for me to get around using the cable cart , BART, and F train. Get shopping district! My only complain was that is was very noisy outside so i found it hard myself waking up earlier then desired. But outside of the city noise it was a excellent stay i really enjoyed the free wine everyday from 5-6.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeshia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely regret that the room assigned to you was smaller than you expected, but we also have many larger rooms including a great assortment of suites. As for the street noise I found out that there was from the temporally construction project going on across the street during your stay for which I apologize. We do have interior rooms which are very quiet. I am glad that you enjoyed all of our amenities and the excellent service you received from our staff. Please do contact me if you ever plan to return to San Francisco, so that I can ensure that your accommodations match your needs.
With best regards,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent location - near shops and all transport links (BART, F train and cable cars) 2 minutes walk.
Room was large and had good facilities - even free coffee! No view at the back but very quiet so got a good sleep.
Staff were excellent - really friendly and helpful
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel, staff and your experience with us here at Hotel Union Square. I would like you to know how good it feels to make your stay with us so pleasurable that you are not only going to return, but you are also recommending our hotel to others. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you!
Best regards,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#112 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing