We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Square”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #91 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 30, 2013

OUTSTANDING STAFF,....location is the best in the city, cable car noise right out front what could be better. I've been staying at this location for a dozen or so years now. Some of the best dining spots right outside the door. If you want a great room and location for the price this is really the spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestgatePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room we got was very very small, we were even unable to fully open bathroom doors because of bed. But the bathroom itself was 1/3 or even half room size. Bed was comfortable, but sleep during the night wasn't very good, because of too much heating from central heating. And it also was quite noisy from ventilation systems, as our room was with a window to a courtyard. Not all rooms has safe.

But it was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Tea/coffee in the morning, wine hour in the evening.

Good location, easy to get there from the airport with BART. One of the cable car lines passes by, easy to get to a pier and other popular places in the city. Lots of restaurants and bars around.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over Christmas. Perfect location! Coffee,tea in the AM. Wine and music in the PM. Lovely rooms and wonderful staff! Coming back next week for 3 days! Looking forward to it! Dinner at The Wayfare Tavern, delish!!!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank stephanie9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear valued guest,
I sincerely appreciate your recommendation and review of Hotel Union Square. It is always a pleasure to help create a memorable experience for our guests and looking forward to extending our hospitality during your next visit. See you soon.

With best regards,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. It is in a great location close to everything. The service was very good and helpful. The hotel is immaculately designed and our room was fantastic, quiet, warm and big. The free coffee and wine hour was a great touch. Highly recommend as a quality hotel that is not very expensive at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jckolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Union Square during the busy JP Morgan conference season. From moment one, the hotel went above and beyond to ensure I had an excellent stay. Manager Tony Abboud checked me in and was extremely courteous and helpful. He clearly cares about the quality of his establishment and this showed regularly. I was upgraded to a king room on the Powell Street side. The room was fantastic -- giant bed, great design, and extremely comfortable. The street side definitely lets you know you're in a vibrant city, but I expected as such and was able to sleep very well. The little touches of the hotel are great -- funky furniture, free wine hour, coffee in the morning. The central location is also amazing -- walking distance to all of the financial district needs, some great restaurants, the museum, and shopping. I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, don't sleep road side, but it's not so noisy as to cause majo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markschaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you so much for using your valuable time to write this great review, and for recommending Hotel Union Square to your friends. Providing excellent service truly is important to each and every one of us and we want you to know how much we value your business . It is our top priority for each and every guest to enjoy an excellent stay and I am thrilled that enjoyed your accommodations so much. I look forward to seeing you again.

Best regard,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As per earlier reviews the front of the Hotel's rooms are noisy from street traffic and the trolly cars but really didn't bother us much. We were in an upgraded two queen room which was spacious enough for an additional rollaway. The beds were comfortable, pillows not so much, but we managed just fine. The front desk was very helpful whenever we needed them (Especially Jewel). The location of this hotel was perfect for what we wanted which was public transit, shopping, great food, and fun. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingfamily2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

To a person, the staff were friendly and helpful. This alone would make me recommend the place - they could not have been more accommodating. Another plus is location. And the place just oozes character. Free tea in the mornings is a nice touch. I don't really appreciate the free wine in the afternoons - I keep thinking of how much that must cost the hotel and how much I'm paying to subsidize other's alcohol. Be aware that the rooms do not have in-room safes and mine did not have a closet. The price of my room fluctuated widely, from a very reasonable price of just over $100 to over $200 on a holiday evening. Overall, we really enjoyed this place and the great staff, location and classic charm. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor Ellis St side and while we could see and hear the cable cars and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My staff and I are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Union Square. Our team loves what they do and we will be sure to share your fabulous comments with everyone. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

With best regards,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4,120 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
5,381 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
770 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $129 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing