We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Place in the Best Part of the City”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #94 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We weren't expecting anything that knocked our socks off. And, the place met our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location allows you to walk to many restaurants and site, the cable car turnaround is a block and a half away, as is BART and MUNI. But, the first thing we noticed the first time we walked up the main staircase was the carpeting was in dire need of cleaning...vacuuming. Ok, late in the day, we'll cut them some slack. However, after the fifth day, we decided they simply don't clean the stairs, which to us is telling. Our room was small, but we expected that. Clean bathroom. Free coffee in the morning, wine in the evening, which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: You probably want a room on the back side of the hotel, as the front faces Powell Street and all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GianniSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am so happy to learn of all of the things that enjoyed during your recent stay and that you appreciated the fact that your own room and bath were clean.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the fact that the cleanliness of the stairs did not meet with your standards. I am the housekeeping manager and I want you to know that we take pride in keeping every nook and cranny of our hotel clean. We vacuum the whole hotel at least twice a day during the day shift, and once during the night shift. There is so much foot traffic throughout the hotel that the stairs in particular need additional attention. Going forward I will keep a close eye on the hallways and staircases and vacuum as needed and not just as dictated by a schedule.

Best regards,
Deborah Jefferson
Executive Housekeeper Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just returned from San Francisco for a 4-day getaway that turned into a 3-day getaway. We missed our flight and when we contacted Bookit, they immediately went into action to ensure that our accommodations where adjusted and that we had the correct information to change our flights to leave a day later. The service was unbelievably friendly and immediate. They even had the hotel refund the day we lost. We weren't expecting that but was really pleased for sure.

The accommodations at Hotel Union Square was wonderful. Staying in such a historical building was exciting! The concierge and the the front desk staff were extremely helpful allowing us to check into our room 4 hours early and holding onto our luggage until our flight left late in the evening (long after check-out). The room was quaint, clean and comfortable. We were overlooking the street and it wasn't noisy at all. It was exciting to still feel part of the action even when you were in your room.

The location could not be better! Right in the heart of downtown. Everything was a short walk away! The shopping was unbelievable (and I'm not a shopper) and the restaurants were world class. We ate at 3 restaurants that we have seen profiled on the Food Network which was a real treat! The tours were great and so were the people! Such a diverse city. The weather was quite cool so we were happy that we took our winter coats for the evenings and many times during the day too. We were there for new years and it was amazing to be at Fisherman's Wharf and watch the incredible fireworks after a great meal at a jazz club to bring in the new year!

Getting from the airport to the hotel could not be easier. You jump on the BART (20 minute ride) and you are a 1 minute walk to the hotel! All for $9 a person! Can't beat that!

Definitely an incredible experience! Thank you Hotel Union Square for your incredible service (before and after we messed up)! We would definitely stay with you again just because we know you really are interested in taking care of your customers.

Charmain & Kedar Brown
Pickering, Ontario CANADA

Room Tip: Get one facing the street! You can take incredible pictures on the fire escape and feel like you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Brown

Wow! What a wonderful review and thank you for making our day with your great compliments about our hotel and staff. I would like you to know how good it feels to make someone stay with us so pleasurable. I hope you are able to join us again during 2013 as Hotel Union Square is celebrates our 100 year anniversary .

Thank you and I wish you health, happiness, and success throughout the new year.

Best wishes
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Union square hotel a couple of nights. We had booked the deluxe queen room. It was pretty small but very comfortable. The room was very clean and quiet. Room service was prompt and nice. What i liked the most is it's location. It's right at the center and very close to cable car stop. The only discomfort i had is that their car parking is on 80 ellis street. That was not mentioned in their website. I got onto powell street, blocked a cable car and got into a mess.So if you are on a car get to the correct address.

I would definitely go back and stay at union square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amar_rdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We rented the penthouse suite for New Year's Eve which was also the eve of my boyfriend's 40th birthday. The suite was stylish and had a great outside deck area which made a great place to ring in the new year with a bunch of friends. Also very reasonably priced. I was so impressed with the hotel and the staff. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay, even during the hectic checkout time on New Year's Day. The location is in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Union Square and a block away from the cable car turnaround and public transportation. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was clean and modern. Our room was very small but had a comfy bed and larger bathroom. Hotel was quiet and could not here much noise from the road below. Room service was nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozzy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are a family of 5 and travel to San Francisco several times a year and this trip we decided to head in for an overnight shopping trip before Christmas. Normally we stay at Parc 55 or Palace or a Marriott. This was our first stay at a boutique hotel and we LOVED it! The cost was reasonable and love the fact that wireless was complimentary! (We all have iPhones and iPads and some hotels charge per device!). We stayed in a junior suite and there was plenty of room for all of us. It felt like we were staying in a studio apt in the middle of he city. We had a corner room facing the outside and yes, you can here ALL the sounds of the city....but we actually didn't mind it added to the feeling of being in a big city. The hotel itself is within a short walking distance from everything! Westfield and downtown union square about a block away...The front desk and everyone we spoke with were great! Overall one of our more enjoyable trips and we found our new favorite place to stay!

Room Tip: Junior Suite nice an roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjaeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to the Hotel Union Square. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and the service you received from our staff. It is guests like you that gives us the passion to excel at what we do. Thank you I look forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A reasonable hotel with large rooms and excellent location in the centre of San Fran. Our first room was on the outside and was incredibly loud at night, tram cars clattering, revellers yelling, constant traffic noise and trucks early in the morning. I could not sleep. After we moved to an internal room things improved. Beds and facilities very comfortable. Valet parking around the corner was good as there is really no need to drive your car in this city. A good hotel for exploring the city. There is no expectation you'd stay inside during the day! So there are really no facilities worth worrying about. Just get out and enjoy this rocking exciting city, then return to crash and sleep. Recommended for just that. Make sure you get a quiet room though.

Room Tip: Inner rooms are much quieter than those facing streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OverU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Union Square.
We do provide many complimentary amenities such as ; the daily coffee and tea service, wine reception complete with an accomplished guitar musician who provides live entertainment, free WI-Fi, business center, and our fitness center located offsite at our sister hotel the Diva.

Hotel Union Square has many different styles and sizes of rooms for you to explore on your next trip to San Francisco. I am sure we have the perfect one for you. Please feel free to contact me when you plan your next trip and I will personally take care of your accommodations.

With kindest regards,
Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Splitty, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing