We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot move and my back is soooo sore!!!”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #90 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here after arriving from Hawaii and driving from LA all in one day. We had three adults and one 13 year old in our group. We were charged and extra $60 for the extra adult. When we arrived we were given a 160 square foot room. We could not even walk around without stepping on each other. After complaining and told we would have to pay another $40 per night we were given a larger room with one king bed and a broken sofa sleeper. My daughter fell thru the bed and when we looked under the mattress it had been tied with a wire bread tie! Yes that is true, $$$$$ and we get a mattress held in place with a bread tie. What a rip off!!! Don't stay here or you will be very disappointed!!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

I am very sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience with us an I am truly disappointed that we didn’t have the opportunity to improve your experience during the time of your stay, as the comfort of our guests is our priority. We always accommodate and address any issue our guests might have during their stay, so I appreciate the fact that you brought your concerns to my attention. I must say the team at Hotel Union Square was so sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the room and your upgrade fee was refunded immediately after you communicated the issue involving the sofa bed.

Please contact me directly, so that I may have a chance of making you a fan of our hotels again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Service was exceptional we have a service dog traveling with us and they were non discriminatory and helpful. Also had early check in very convenient location for SF on foot (BART station very close) & walking distance to AT& T park . The only complaint we have is the VERY SQUEAKY BED not justified by the cost we paid for room.

Room Tip: even with construction across street still great views for people watching and great location to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was booked for me during a week when a rather large convention was taking place so the rate was well over $300 per night (which apparently was a good deal at the time). I'd recomend it at least once for a business traveler or couple on a leisure trip that wants to experience the heart of the downtown. It is definitely a bustling place that's worth experiencing (not a daily baisis however). I would discourage families from staying here and any other Union Square hotel just because there's a lot of stuff around there I wouldn't want kids to be exposed to (bums, solicitors, adult-themed signs, etc.). I wouldn't a recommend getting around with a car either. There are plenty of mass transit, cabs and shuttles to go around.

The building itself is an extremely tight and eclectic mix of old exterior with very modern interior rooms and fixtures. My room had no windows which left me without a view but also limited the street noise sufficiently for a good night slieep. The staff was pretty top notch with professional service and knowledge of the surrounding area. The evening wine reception, businesses centers, and WiFi were nice experiences for me too.

Overall, this hotel can be recommended for business and couples wanting to experience the heart of San Francisco. Budget travelers may want to stay outside the City and use mass transit for the experience without the City price.

Room Tip: Get room with no windows if you're a light sleeper. Research mass transit options and routes be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-in-bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights, its a great location for everything. Just around the corner macys and bloomingdales. The room was a tad small but had everything you could want. The check in was swift and easy they required a credit card to keep on file. The beds were comfy,spotlessly clean and the bed linen was stain free and changed once during the 3 nights we were there, so were the towels. there was an ipod docking station and a small hospitality tray. There is free coffee in reception during the morning and wine during the evening. There is a free in room safe. Room service is available by contacting the concierge who orders it from the restaurant next door. All in all, a good place to stay to be in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Having read some of the bad reviews about this hotel I was a little apprehensive about our stay. However I was extremely pleased with the hotel Union Square for two reasons (1) it's excellent location and (2) it's unique style. Yes the rooms are a little on the small side when compared to suites in Las Vegas but people need to remember you are in a city centre so rooms are going to be smaller as space is at a premium. The reception, concierge and housekeeping were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. We were upgraded in terms of our room and were overlooking the courtyard area on the fifth floor as we asked for air conditioning (not all rooms have it) and I can honestly say it was lovely and quiet. All in all a great boutique hotel in a great location with great staff. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coxy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear valued Guest,

What a wonderful review and recommendation to receive! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Union Square and Iappreciate the kind words you shared about my staff and the service you received. I will be sure to share your note with everyone that you mentioned.
I look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay soon, and thank you for the nice review.

Tony Abboud
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a brilliant stay in this hotel, room wasn't massive and we had no view by we were not in San Fran to look out of a window! Very centrally located, great bathroom and wardrobe and the staff were extremely helpful! Loved the free wine tasting and coffee. Nothing was too mich trouble for the staff and we were made very welcome! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vwfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,103 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $89 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing