We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky fun place to be”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #103 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quirky fun place to be”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding we chose a junior suite as we were staying for 4 nights and wanted plenty of space so glad we did as a few friends said there rooms were tiny and cramped. Ours definitely wasn't small we had a huge sitting area and spacious bathroom and king size bed the rooms theme was of the Giants the local team so coloured orange and black it added a fun touch to the stay. The rooms are not quiet due to the noise from the street trams,traffic and construction workers which is hard to ignore. The only hiccup with the wedding was due to the concierge booking a limo company which didn't turn up the one booked by the brides father separately came no problem. The concierge offered taxis for the other guests which made them late. The next day he offered to reimburse the cost of taxis provided everyone had a receipt for the fare .surprise no one kept their receipts we were at a wedding. Shame but it didn't spoil what turned into a lovely wedding. Just don't rely on concierge for important bookings. Everything else with hotel was good.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBTHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    594
    318
    130
    118
See reviews for
292
625
119
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August. Although the hotel is in a handy location it is incredibly noisy - the only hush time being between 2am and 4:30 am. This is when the trams have stopped running and before the construction work across the street has not started for the day. There are lots and lots of hotels in San Fran so my advise would be to find somewhere off the main drag .....it is easy to get around the city without having to sacrifice sleep. There is also a huge population of homeless people in San Fran and throughout the day we were pestered for money. On the plus side, the hotel was clean and the staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff are lovley from the moment we checked in n told them we were on honeymoon they left a card in our room n a free bottle of wine. The location is great n u have to walk across the road for great breakfast. It is in general a great hotel n the rooms are great. My onLy problem is there was a funny vibrating noise about 8am most days which we had no idea what it was but to be fair it didn't bug us that much but the one thing. Wanted to scream about is the lift. The hotel has about 200 rooms and only 5 people allowed in the lift it was annoying and the beeping on every floor when u r in ur room it gets so bad. But stay here its gret close to everywhere n lovley people

Room Tip: No pool or gym but it really don't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This " Historical Art Deco Boutique Hotel" is extremely well located. The staff are friendly, and the room was extremely clean. There is fresh coffee and tea available in the lobby every morning. They also serve California wine during the wine reception hour every night between 5 and 6 p.m. The hotel is located beside a great steakhouse ( Tad's Steakhouse ") with great prices. The cable cars turn around down the street, so you can hop on and hop off easily. We got a one week unlimited pass for $27,. The hotel is close to all major shopping. We would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a large inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is so handy, out the door there is the tram, friendly people and helpful.
We had a room at the back of the hotel, nothing to look at but a block wall, but we were not in the room long enough to look at it. They had free internet and coffee and tea was available in foyer at certain times of the day. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Seems back of the hotel is quieter and avoid rooms where u have to go up the stairs from the lift wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading some reviews on this hotel, I had my doubts about recommending our friends/family to stay for our destination wedding in SF. The website looked good enough so we took the risk & are we glad we did. What a fantastic place. We had 25 guests stay at HUS & we all enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The rooms can be small, however an updraft is available for a small cost - we upgraded to the Deluxe King Room which was fantastic-ly spacious & clean. We also spent 3 nights in the 630 Penthouse & we'd certainly reccomrnd it if you are after some views, space & a kitchen-ette. Everyone from concierge, to hotel reception, to the repair man where all very kind to us & did all they could to accommodate us comfortably. We recommend requesting a quiet side room to avoid road/cable car noise. Sad to have said goodbye to SF & this great place! Highly highly recommended - we hope to be back ASAP!
Bec & Michael

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Lovecats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nothing wrong with this hotel, just wouldn't recommend it & surprised it's considered a 3.5 rating hotel on discount/bidding websites. The hallway was a little too dark for my taste & the stairs didn't appear to have been vacuumed in a while. There was a mild musty odor upon entering the room & the window covering over the narrow window above the toilet & across from the shower was uncomfortably see-through. (There was roof access right outside & another window in view of this particular window. I'm sure it's very unlikely no one would actually be able to see in, it was just unsettling) The bed was comfortable, the sheets & mattress appeared to be clean & the wine reception was a nice bonus. It's fine if you just need a room & can get a discount.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing, & away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ec601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
1,845 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,312 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,547 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,711 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing