We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STAFF, PERFECT LOCATION, PLACE TO CALL HOME!”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #90 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading some reviews on this hotel, I had my doubts about recommending our friends/family to stay for our destination wedding in SF. The website looked good enough so we took the risk & are we glad we did. What a fantastic place. We had 25 guests stay at HUS & we all enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The rooms can be small, however an updraft is available for a small cost - we upgraded to the Deluxe King Room which was fantastic-ly spacious & clean. We also spent 3 nights in the 630 Penthouse & we'd certainly reccomrnd it if you are after some views, space & a kitchen-ette. Everyone from concierge, to hotel reception, to the repair man where all very kind to us & did all they could to accommodate us comfortably. We recommend requesting a quiet side room to avoid road/cable car noise. Sad to have said goodbye to SF & this great place! Highly highly recommended - we hope to be back ASAP!
Bec & Michael

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Lovecats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nothing wrong with this hotel, just wouldn't recommend it & surprised it's considered a 3.5 rating hotel on discount/bidding websites. The hallway was a little too dark for my taste & the stairs didn't appear to have been vacuumed in a while. There was a mild musty odor upon entering the room & the window covering over the narrow window above the toilet & across from the shower was uncomfortably see-through. (There was roof access right outside & another window in view of this particular window. I'm sure it's very unlikely no one would actually be able to see in, it was just unsettling) The bed was comfortable, the sheets & mattress appeared to be clean & the wine reception was a nice bonus. It's fine if you just need a room & can get a discount.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing, & away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ec601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The location was the key to this hotel - right on Powell Street. The room was booked as part of a package deal so we had no choice over location but no regrets at all. It was right on the cable car route so good for getting on and off but made it noisy at night. We had room 520 which was right on the road frontage so very noisy and due to mid summer we wanted the windows open but couldn't (ding ding ding from the cable car, pedestrians and buskers below and horns tooting). Our room also had the fire exit ladder outside and was the exit for other hotel guests in the case of an emergency. The cable car noise added atmosphere and stopped at midnight and started at 6 a.m. so didn't continue through the night.
No restaurant on site. Boutique old style type of hotel.
Next door was Tad's steakhouse - good value and large meals.
Across the road was Lori's Diner - good atmosphere, ok meals.
Down the road - Old Navy and Ross Outlet
Transport - close to cable car, muni and bart. Around the corner to Union Square and all the Hop on hop off buses and cheap show ticket booth.

Room Tip: Don't get room 520 overlooking Powell Street unless you like night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location right in middle of everything, great value rooms are small but clean and comfortable only problem was it had no AC and area is noisy so leaving window open woke us up early perfect for a one night stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyboy2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Wonderfully renovated art deco hotel situated within walking distance of Union square and the famous cabelcars. A real treat for shoppers with just around the corner Westfield center (really nice shops for teenagers) and Union Square (chic shopping in Saks Fifth Avenue and Nieman Marcus). The hotelstaff was extremely friendly and helpfull. Coffee was offered in the morning and a glass of delicious californian wine in the afternoon. The rooms are not very big but very clean and well renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

As per earlier reviews the front of the Hotel's rooms are noisy from street traffic and the trolly cars but really didn't bother us much. We were in an upgraded two queen room which was spacious enough for an additional rollaway. The beds were comfortable, pillows not so much, but we managed just fine. The front desk was very helpful whenever we needed them (Especially Jewel). The location of this hotel was perfect for what we wanted which was public transit, shopping, great food, and fun. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingfamily2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

July 9th 2012: I meant to stay in a bed & breakfast outside of the city so I could access the beach quickly. After visiting the B&B, I decided to change to a union square location. Calling the different properties around Hilton, Marriot, Palomar.. chain properties and hearing their 400-500 rates. This was the best alternative. For those prices, I was ready to opt for the Four Seasons or Ritz for not much more. The room was half the rates of the larger chains. I was slightly concerned. After arriving, all my worries lifted. The staff is very friendly. The location is great. Its right in the middle of it all. Good food & good shopping is right around the corner. I ate at the Wharf that night at was back in bed by midnight. I slept like a baby. They have an afternoon happy hour with free wine. The morning coffee is also night to get the day started. The room was small for two people, but it got the job done. It was very clean and the shower had good water pressure. This place is worth the stay. I'd come back. 29 yr Male - week trip, stayed here before driving to Yosemite - 2 1/2 hours away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Branger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,104 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,361 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $116 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing