We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their website is DECEPTION”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #103 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
world travellers
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Their website is DECEPTION”
Reviewed September 29, 2007

I have real mixed feelings about this place. The location is absolutely brilliant. Right in the heart of the downtown action; between the start of the powell line cable car and union square. The room was clean. BUT the linens are threadbare; the bathroom (shower that you cant turn in), loo and basin in a room the size of a shoebox; closet teeny tiny; no aircon, just a roof fan and open windows (smoke smells and noise central!). The price was excellent and we were really taken in by their impressive website = It is professional and the pictures are just wonderful. What they dont tell you (until you are actually in the lobby looking at a display of their PLANNED renovations) is that the "photos" on the website are prototypes / artist impressions for what they are planning to do next year! There is no breakfast incl, but at least they do have free wifi in all areas.

  • Liked — awsome location
  • Disliked — reality is a let-down from the illusion created by their website
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJam_LippyCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    594
    317
    130
    117
See reviews for
292
624
119
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

I won my stay at this hotel so can not comment on value for money. I would stay here again but only when the rooms have all been refurbished which i understand is happening later on this year. We did get a glimpse of one of the reburbished rooms
and it was lovely. Unfortunately we were in a smaller room with not a lot of natural light so it seemed very dark. But on the plus side its in a great location especially for shopping and cable cars, the staff are really helpful and you get free wine every evening! There's also car parking facilities. I think how great your stay here is definately depends on the type of room you are given.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — dark and small room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliejeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We have been staying at this hotel for 2 nights mid of september. Although the location is great as you are in the heart of SAF, we have been disappointed by the level of quality of this hotel. It presents itself as a cute boutique hotel which is how it looks on the website, however the reality is not. Room was tiny, deco was average, cleaning was it is minimum levels. It depends what you are looking for in yuor trip but don't expect to stay in a real boutique hotel, you will be disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

I can't believe I booked this room at a rate of $189.00 per night.. I must have had the same room as the reviewer from Germany. The staff was nice enough but this place smelled horrible, had ratty bedding, and no air conditioning. Noisy room with a view of a brick wall. Since there's no air conditioning all windows in hotel were open which allowed for cigarette smoke, sirens, and other guests noise to float right into my room. If you are a woman traveling alone I would avoid this place. The doors were not very secure and there was so little staff in the lobby there's no way they had any real security. This place was so bad I left after the first night and moved into the San Fransico Marriott a few blocks away.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room was dingy and run down and extremely small.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank erinmarietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

This hotel is right in the middle of all the action. The lobby is simple and probably true to its original form. They have nightly wine hours in this lobby. The hallways are long and narrow, like an old apt building. Our room was facing the main road, but it was surprisingly quiet. The bathrooms are clean, which makes me very happy. It's a great place if you don't need a lot of space, and are looking more for location than luxury.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No amenities
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TarheelTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights, end of August. We are a family w/ two children (5,7) and stayed in the family suite w/ the room ajoining. The hotel is in a great location, but it does get a lot of noise from the street. We faced Powell St., so we pretty much had the worst of it. Fortunately that doesn't really affect any of us, but you really should keep that in mind when asking for a room. The kids suite was great. Even though we weren't in the room that much, when we were, the kids kept busy playing with the games and gadgets (great idea, don't know why all hotels don't have this choice). I didn't have a problem with the decor (to be honest don't really remember much about the furniture) and the staff were really good. We'd definately stay here again if we go back to SF.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrednek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I really loved this hotel. It is 2 minutes from the BART station which is great if you've just got off a long flight. The room had really cool furniture and was decorated well. It was clean and had a fab view of the trams on Powell Street. The tram bells are noisy but I really liked that, just take ear plugs! The location was excellent, the staff were really friendly and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jo580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
1,842 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,710 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Property: Hotel Union Square
Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing