We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and nice central location”
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Square
Ranked #94 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 28, 2007

I won my stay at this hotel so can not comment on value for money. I would stay here again but only when the rooms have all been refurbished which i understand is happening later on this year. We did get a glimpse of one of the reburbished rooms
and it was lovely. Unfortunately we were in a smaller room with not a lot of natural light so it seemed very dark. But on the plus side its in a great location especially for shopping and cable cars, the staff are really helpful and you get free wine every evening! There's also car parking facilities. I think how great your stay here is definately depends on the type of room you are given.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliejeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2007

We have been staying at this hotel for 2 nights mid of september. Although the location is great as you are in the heart of SAF, we have been disappointed by the level of quality of this hotel. It presents itself as a cute boutique hotel which is how it looks on the website, however the reality is not. Room was tiny, deco was average, cleaning was it is minimum levels. It depends what you are looking for in yuor trip but don't expect to stay in a real boutique hotel, you will be disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

I can't believe I booked this room at a rate of $189.00 per night.. I must have had the same room as the reviewer from Germany. The staff was nice enough but this place smelled horrible, had ratty bedding, and no air conditioning. Noisy room with a view of a brick wall. Since there's no air conditioning all windows in hotel were open which allowed for cigarette smoke, sirens, and other guests noise to float right into my room. If you are a woman traveling alone I would avoid this place. The doors were not very secure and there was so little staff in the lobby there's no way they had any real security. This place was so bad I left after the first night and moved into the San Fransico Marriott a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank erinmarietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

This hotel is right in the middle of all the action. The lobby is simple and probably true to its original form. They have nightly wine hours in this lobby. The hallways are long and narrow, like an old apt building. Our room was facing the main road, but it was surprisingly quiet. The bathrooms are clean, which makes me very happy. It's a great place if you don't need a lot of space, and are looking more for location than luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TarheelTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights, end of August. We are a family w/ two children (5,7) and stayed in the family suite w/ the room ajoining. The hotel is in a great location, but it does get a lot of noise from the street. We faced Powell St., so we pretty much had the worst of it. Fortunately that doesn't really affect any of us, but you really should keep that in mind when asking for a room. The kids suite was great. Even though we weren't in the room that much, when we were, the kids kept busy playing with the games and gadgets (great idea, don't know why all hotels don't have this choice). I didn't have a problem with the decor (to be honest don't really remember much about the furniture) and the staff were really good. We'd definately stay here again if we go back to SF.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukrednek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I really loved this hotel. It is 2 minutes from the BART station which is great if you've just got off a long flight. The room had really cool furniture and was decorated well. It was clean and had a fab view of the trams on Powell Street. The tram bells are noisy but I really liked that, just take ear plugs! The location was excellent, the staff were really friendly and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jo580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Myself, my partner and antother couple stayed at this hotel on 24th June 2007. We stayed there for 3 nights. We were really pleased with all aspects of our accommodation and would definitely stay here again. After enduring two very long flights we were relieved to have somewhere nice to recuperate. The hotel, especially the rooms, were very clean-bedding, towels changed regularly etc. The rooms were kitted out well in terms of appliances-hair dryer (very important lol), iron, coffee maker etc. The bathroom was very clean and the showers are fab-very powerful. In terms of location the hotel was great. The tram station was directly on our doorstep and it took a single short route to Fisherman's Wharf. The trams cost $5 per person, one way and is something everyone should experience when going to San Fran. The hotel is also very close to the 'F' bus which costs hardly anything at all. This also takes you to Fisherman's Wharf but also makes stops at the various piers. We found this useful when visiting Alkatraz (this is also a fantastic, unmissable trip).
The hotel is also a 3 minute walk away from Bloomindales, Maceys and Tiffany's. Also, cycling across the Golden Gate Bridge is a must. Hire your bikes from Fisherman's Whalf and clyle alsong the side of the water to the bridge which usually takes about 45 minutes.
At nights we could often here the noise from ouside but this is to be expected from a busy city, it added to the mood and it wasn't enough to keep me awake at night even though i am a very light sleeper.
The hotel reception staff were extremely welcoming, polite and helpful. They suggested some lively spots and bars to to go to at nights as well as restaurants. There is a complimentary wine reception ecah day, in the hotel reception, from 6pm.
Unfortunately, our stay was just for 3 nights as were were travelling onto Yosemite, Monterery, Santa Barbra, LA and then Vagas. We hoped that the following accommodation would be just as nice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank lyniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing