We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitshy hotel, great location....not so great room product.”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Im not sure i can figure out what the Kimpton 'standard' is? I am new to Kimpton, trying their properties around the country. I was not impressed with this property at all....

The location is good. Across the gate from Chinatown, and just a quick walk to Union Square. The staff is friendly and attentive....

Now...the rest. The decor, in my opinion is dated. Very dated and worn.

As an inner circle member i was upgraded to a small suite. The room was noisy. The 'window unit' air conditioner did not make a good impression with me at all. The bed and mattree was NOT as comfortable as other Kimpton Hotels. The whole room felt a bit 'worn'. The bold and wild colors were probably fun when they were initially installed....but really seemed 'old'.

My room was handicapped, and the entry door opened OUT into the hall. The latch did not have a security cover on it, and this left the lock open and the door edge. A quick trick with a knife could have opened the room easily. I was really surprised at this. They sell a feature to cover this, but none here. The safety lock fixed that once i was in the room....but it was a noticeable problem.

Kimptons standards are all over the place. Old hotels that are quickly remodeled/renovated.....to brand new properties. It confuses me.

I probably wont stay at this property again. I preferred the Prescott over this property.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello JamesE339 ~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I was bummed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please don't let this be your first and last experience with us. If your plans ever bring you back to SF, reach out to me directly. I would be happy to help make your San Francisco adventure memorable for all of the right reasons.

Hope to hear from you,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay at Hotel Triton during my girlfriends business trip to San Francisco.

For two weeks I woke up in the same hotel room and developed an intimate awareness of the amenities on offer. The room was cozy and surrounded in wallpaper strewn with excerpts from Jack Kerouac's 'On the Road'. Our bed was a great big king size that enveloped me in comfort every night (and daytime snoozes!) Minibar items range from Nantucket Nectars to Pirate's Brand gluten free goodies. Products from C.O. Bigelow, the oldest apothecary in America, line the bathroom and shower. I draped myself in one of the plush robes hanging welcomingly beside the shower and nearly left the room wearing it.

When I finally got around to leaving the room, I discovered daily wine tastings in the fashionable lobby designed to engage like-minded travellers and provide the home away from home feel. All the staff (before AND after the free wine) were very pleasant and accommodating. As I was a novice in San Francisco, they helped with directions and recommendations which played out nicely for me.

Quite nice location as well: wedged between financial district, Chinatown and Nob Hill. Easy jaunts to all of our engagements while we stayed.

Highly recommend staying at Hotel Triton.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank afnowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello afnowak ~ You're hired! What an awesome review. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. I will definitely share them with my team. Come back soon!

Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel had excellent facilities, great character and an absolutely brilliant location. Our room was on a high floor and faced inward so there was none of the external noise mentioned in other reviews. The staff was helpful and I'm a sucker of complimentary newspapers. Worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi Gavin L ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We hope there will be a second, third and more visits with us this year!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My friend and I recently travelled to the states from Sydney, Australia and absolutely loved Hotel Triton! The staff were really down to earth and very approachable. Our room was comfortable and big enough for our 3 night stay. Can't wait to come back to this amazing city and lovely hotel :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie_Pew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hi Cassie_Pew ~ Thanks for the awesome review! I'm happy to hear that you both had a great time with us. Don't stay away too long!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A nice welcome gift, a small but fun room with character, friendly yet in-obsequious service, plus all the usual amenities from Kimpton hotels--good internet, wine reception, local papers, robes, etc.

Theme is rock and roll and beat. My room had words of "On the Road" on the wall.

Good location by the Chinatown gate. Cool that Cafe de la Presse is right next door and does the room service.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank mark10Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

HI mark10Ohio ~ Thanks for the great review! You hit the BEAT right on! Come back and hang with us again soon!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

No complaints. I love coming to this hotel when visiting San Francisco. It is walking distance to some really great places like Chinatown and the Comstock Saloon. The rooms are always clean with very comfortable beds. The staff is always super friendly. They even have a couple city-friendly bikes you can borrow for free. The daily complimentary happy hour is also a big plus. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hey Anthony R ~ You're HIRED! Thanks for the great review. Next time you're at Comstock you have to try the Pig in a biscuit app, AWESOMENESS in a biscuit!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, staff are very friendly and they have unique things like the happy hour at 5pm where you can grab a wine or mulled cider. Would stay here next time. Reason it's a 4 not 5 is the noise, all external, fire trucks, a protest, horns so take ear plugs! Kinda worth it to be in a great spot.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

HI Gemma A (Devon) ~ Thanks for the awesome review. I hope the "heartbeat of the city" won't keep you from thinking of us again in the future.

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,216 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,252 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
2,028 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Address: 342 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $163 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing