We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit w/ Adrian & staff”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had a great two night stay at Hotel Triton. After a quick check in, the cool guy at the front desk (sorry I forgot his name but super nice) told me that they would be serving the new fortune cookies instead of chocolate chip cookies for the afternoon/evening snack. I've stayed at other Kimpton hotels and look forward to the chocolate chip cookies. So I was a little disappointed until Adrian heard my moaning. He had a plate of hot chocolate chip cookies sent to my room - how amazing. It absolutely made my day and served as a great snack while I worked in my room. I also loved the hot chocolate and tea in the morning. The hotel location to my work office, restaurants, and shops were great too. I love staying at Kimpton hotels where I get free wireless internet and $10 card to get snacks from the in room bar.

I had an internal room and never heard any outside or street noise. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi cstocker ~ Thanks for the awesome review! We'll keep the chocolate chip cookies warm for you so come back soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Avoid the major chains and treat yourself to a boutique experience in a great central location. Quirky and fun, with complimentary wine every evening from 5-6pm. If you're feeling lonely, you can even request a goldfish to keep you company! Very reasonably priced too. The only problem is the very noisy bin collection in the alley next door at four in the morning...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank endurodavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi endurodavid ~ Thanks for positing your experience. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't agree with you more!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

While the breakfast bags delivered to your room are a bit of a drag after a few days everything else is fun here. Quirky decor, free wine at 5pm, free cookies mid-afternoon and friendly and oh-so-carefully-styled staff. The location is very handy. Looking forward to another visit.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank StansPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi StansPal ~ Thanks for posting the review. Our "grab & go" breakfast isn't so much traditional as it is handy. We hope you were able to grab it and go enjoy San Francisco. We try our best to lure you back with cookies and wine in the afternoons! We hope you come back soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
Antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped at the Triton for 3 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon, it was easy to get to on foot with our luggage from the Bart station. Check in was easy and the staff on the front desk were happy to advise us of where to go and give a few local tips.

When we were in a rush to meet our pre-booked Alcatraz trip the concierge went the extra mile to flag us a cab during rush hour traffic.

The hotel was ideally positioned and ensured we had a comfortable nights sleep. We had an internal facing bedroom and didnt hear any of the street noise as mentioned in other reviews.

Breakfast was included in our price - It was delivered daily at 8 am in a brown paper bag and contained fruit juice, a muffin, cereal bar and an apple - Not a great breakfast but gave us a snack before heading out each day!

Room Tip: Ask for an internal facing room - no views but also no noise so whichever you prefer to live with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonTanner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi JonTanner23 ~ First of all, CONGRATULATIONS! We happy to hear that you had a great start to your honeymoon in San Francisco and with us. How easy was the BART ride from the airport, right. We love it when we hear about our guests using public transit!
It sounds like the "grab & go" breakfast did its job. It's a perfect way to get you started on your San Francisco adventure. We hope you make this an annual trip with us.

Till next year,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Quirky, comfortable, I would class as boutique hostel. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Good location. We found the only noise in321 to be the air con! Good visit. Price was in a package so can't comment on that, but we were happy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi YorkShirley ~ thanks for sharing your experience with our friends on Trip Advisor. I've shared your air con comment with my staff, we're all over it, thank you. We hope this won't be your last visit with us.

Come back soon!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an amazing time in SF and the Hotel Triton played a big role. The staff was very friendly and went out of the way to be helpful and the location is unbeatable. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to SF (hopefully not too far in the future).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CZRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hey CZRod ~thanks for the awesome review! WHO DAT!

Pass by soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We enjoy the location of the Triton, and it is fun and friendly, but has become way overpriced. The rooms are not special at all, and those facing the Chinatown Gates are downright noisy all night and morning long--traffic, party people, sirens, garbage collection. We stayed there because we traveled last minute and knew we liked the area, but we won't be back. The near $300 pricing was outrageous, and that does not even include parking. When we first began staying here, it was $125. Worth it at that price, but not now.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to get a deal. The rooms were cheaper (although still too expensive) on the Triton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcal3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi mcal3K ~ Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us this time. As mentioned in previous reviews, we do have some interior facing rooms that don't get the "heart beat" sounds of the city you experienced. Let me know the next time your plans bring you back and I'll be happy to help you find the right room for you.

We hope to see you back,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
2,144 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,852 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,312 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing