We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #66 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
357 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 20 - 22 August 2013. The hotel is very clean and very nice interior. Staff are very friendly staff.
Wine is served complimentary between 5 - 6pm daily in the lobby which is a nice treat. Chocolate Chip biscuits are also served in lobby at 3pm.
The hotel is in a great location, very central to many things. Close to Union Square, and across road from entrance to Chinatown.
The Big Bus tours also have a stop right outside the front door, which was very convenient for my wife and I.
Although quite noisy early morning from rubbish trucks, we slept well.
No coffee and tea facilities in the room, it is served in the lobby from 6am.
We would stay again and suggest the Triton Hotel to anyone wanting a perfect location and not too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello saudikiwi ~ Thanks for the AWESOME review! We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! Don't stay away for too long!

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    600
    210
    97
    55
See reviews for
246
620
124
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Take blue line from the airport to Montgomery station($7.5 one way) and about 10-15 min walking to the hotel.

Pros: right at the entrance of Chinatown. 15-20 mins walk to little Italia via Grant ave. Have Starbucks right opposite to the hotel and 2 mins walk to Claudie lane where Claudie cafe is at. 15 mins walk to Union Square where Mercy, Saks Fifth Ave are at. A block away from the pharmacy or 7 eleven where u can get some groceries. Most day tours can pick u up from this hotel but it normally stops on the other side of the street.

Cons: the room is a bit small and a bit noise at nite. Like rubbish bin being open and shut. Although a bit chilled in San Fran, I would rather leave air con on rather than leaving the window open. Some homeless do walk on the street at the night on Kearney St.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Ming S ~ Thanks for posting your review. I love it when I hear about guests using public transit. We have some of the best in the country and you can't beat the price. I hope you come back to visit us again soon.
Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Triton. Very friendly staff, always helpful. The wine degustation is also a nice touch. Further, we were very surprised with the attention they had for the kids: goodie bag, rubber duckies!

Will recommend to others!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sloeberix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Sloeberix ~ Thanks for the great review. We like to think that we are all kids at heart. I'm happy to hear that your kids had a blast!
Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Decor was lively, lift music fab, afternoon drinks lush. Location was really good. We paid a good rate, can't remember how much but I remember it being very reasonable about $150 including taxes. Lovely touches including complimentary Ice Cream which went down very well with the family.

Would recommend this hotel in a heart beat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi LynetteDorset ~ Thanks for the awesome review! I scream ~ you scream ~ we all scream for ICE CREAM!

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family stayed in this hotel for four nights in August. Two adults and two teens--the room had two double beds. Like all Kimpton hotels, the decor was really unique and the place has style. This hotel is in a great location--right by the dragon gate to chinatown, with a restaurant on either side and a Starbucks across the street. The room was small, but that's to be expected downtown, in an older property; there were pros and cons, of course.

The lobby: great coffee in the morning, with milk, half and half, and--take note lactose intolerant friends--soy milk. On some days there were only paper cups, and on some days there were also coffee mugs. And they have their 5 pm wine offering (white, red and Sangria)--but at this Kimpton they do not offer snacks (in some they offer goldfish crackers). Oddly, on one day they had apple and orange juice for those who did not wish to drink alcohol, or couldn't (like our teens). On the other 3 days there was only water available. During our stay the staff here was hip and courteous, but with the exception of Tawny, not overly welcoming or friendly--she was great.

The rooms: great products (nice smelling soaps, lotion, and shampoo and conditioner), the beds were beautiful if small (doubles) and barely fit in the room-. As for comfort, in our room, the beds were adequate. The air conditioning was provided via a small window A/C unit--really loud and not very effective (it was pretty hot for San Francisco while we were there). But it was good for white noise to drown out the realities of downtown. But their double rooms are not really designed for four. There is very little floor space for suitcases and no alternative for putting them away somewhere; and the lovely bench is too low to slide one or two under it. There is no towel bar next to the sink, there is no shelf under the sink. In short, it's a really great room for two, but with four of us it was just not efficiently designed.

That being said, we could walk to so many great places in San Francisco from this location, and our teens were able to walk into Chinatown for shopping to their hearts' content (a little tedious for the grown ups).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Coug1984 ~ Thank you for sharing your experience with our friends on Trip Advisor. We're happy to hear that you and family enjoy your visit with us. The rooms cozy but we like to think that they bring families and friends closer together... :) We hope you will think of us again the next time you’re in San Francisco!

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was fantastic!! The staff were so helpful and the free wine every evening was a bonus!! Being at the gates to China town was a fantastic location to get to Alcatraz, any of the Piers or the main town centre.
I would love to stay here again and would recomend this hotel to anyone going to San Fran!! WHAT A GREAT CITY!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We (family of four) stayed at the Hotel Triton over 4 nights in early August. From the moment we arrived we received friendly attentive service from the young and personable staff. We were celebrating two birthdays (my 60th and son's 25th) and found personal greetings and bottles of wine awaiting each of us in our respective rooms.

I have been to San Francisco several times and stayed at different hotels near Union Square so was aware that many of the hotels in that area are in older buildings with smaller rooms. The Hotel Triton is one such 'character building'. The difference is the Triton's decor (which is difficult to describe but fun to experience) and the youthful energy/vibe of the hotel and staff all of which combined to make the Triton a fun place to stay.

The hotel is conveniently located close to Chinatown and Union Square and there are several great restaurants within 1 - 2 blocks walking distance: Hops & Hominy; Bouche; Akiko's; Cafe Claude.

Others may have had different experiences but our stay was completely enjoyable and I would certainly recommend the Triton to friends and family and definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HulaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
322 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
1,404 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
1,030 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing