We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel location”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #67 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
monaghan,ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A hotel that is quirky but excellent staff at reception- loved the location- small rooms but v suitable for city centre hotel- no meals provided- but very packaged breakfasts - very helpful staff who are encouraged to express themselves

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi keyka ~ I'm so glad to hear that you were feeling our vibe! Don't wait too long to come back and visit us real soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    640
    229
    101
    60
See reviews for
265
677
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at the Triton for two nights in January. It's a typical Kimpton hotel which is to say a well-kept place with a unique flair. We like to stay at Kimptons whenever we can because you feel like you're more a part of the place you're staying and not in an antiseptic hotel that feels like Anywhere, USA.

Obviously property cost is sky-high in San Francisco so it's understandable that it's small, but my only knock is that if I was staying with my wife that it would be really cramped. Being alone on a business trip it was fine but it's limited.

Their restaurant was great for breakfast. Really good atmosphere that was a little like an early 20th century bistro. Very good food, good service, nice feel.

For dinner it's very easy to walk over to Chinatown which is literally a block or two away. All in all it's hard to beat the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Arthur T ~ Thanks for the awesome review. We totally agree, the location can't be beat. It pays to be in the heart of the city!

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Our friends were getting married in San Fran. They stayed at the Fairmont (a little out of our price range) so we did a quick internet search and found this funky little hotel!

Its just a short walk from the airport train down two streets and fairly easy to find. The staff were friendly and helpful with info about the city and hailing cabs! The hotel is a funky boutique style with interesting fixtures and fittings. our room was smallish but well equipped with a stocked mini bar, leopard print bathrobes etc. The room was turquoise with the walls half papered in newspaper type wall paper. Looked Fab! We had two walk in wardrobes. The bathroom was very small but had everything we needed including designer toiletries.

There was no where to eat within the hotel but there was a diner neearby and lots of little breakfast places. They also put on free Coffee in the mornings in the lobby and one day they had someone doing Tarot readings.

The location is quite central, we could see the china town gate out of our bedroom window.
Had a great three nights here and would definately recommend. Room & Service Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Joelle431 ~ Thanks for the great review. The wallpaper is actually a reproduction of Jack Kerouac’s book On The Road. He was a part of the famous Beatnik Generation that started just down the street from the hotel in North Beach. Just another reason why we hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

But Great! I think you would call it a Boutique Hotel, as it;s funky design is not what you would expect before your visit. We loved it here and the staff cannot be more helpful, Apparently you can ask for small things at no extra charge so we tried them out, for instance my wife asked for a kettle to boil water for tea but was given a coffee maker by a young Asian man who was giggling and who didn't really understand what a kettle is, never mind we'll make do with coffee maker, it gets the water hot. We then asked the young Asian chap if he had any Peppermint tea for us, so off he went and came back a couple of minutes later with a large box and opened it up to reveal about 20 different types of tea, he was still having a giggle and so were we, I think the intention is for us to help ourselves to what we want, and we did. Made my day that little fella did.
Oh, yes it's party time between 5 and 6 in the evening, wine and cookies all round. Tea and coffee in the morning in the lobby, nice touches here.
Rooms are quite a bit smaller than the usual USA Hotel but it doesn't matter, its just to place to sleep at night. There is no Hotel restaurant but plenty of places nearby for breakfast and dinner. An enjoyable experience at the Triton, it was.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Bernard H ~ What an awesome review. Thank you so much for sharing it with our friends on Trip Advisor. Service with a smile can't be beat but service with a giggle can't be forgotten.

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a base of operations in downtown SF, the Triton can't be beat. It's easy walking distance to lots of shops, eateries, and to bus and BART stops. The staff are super-helpful and give excellent recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The evening wine reception is a Kimpton staple and always fun, although the lobby is awkwardly arranged for herds of people to stand around in, especially if you're all trying to stay away from the lady wanting to read your tarot at a table in the middle of it. On the flip side, the decor in the public areas might make your eyes bleed if you stare at it too long without the aid of psychedelic drugs, and the rooms aren't as plush and modern as I usualy expect from Kimpton properties. The bed was comfy,the room was clean but small, and the tiny bathroom was dated (and for some reason smelled like bacon every morning even though there's no on-site restaurant). We were only there for a long weekend and we mostly weren't in the hotel anyway, so as a place to sleep it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaWindsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi WannaWindsurf ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It sounds like you had a good time and for us that is the ultimate!

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in April with partner.
Hotel was everything we expected. Great location just minutes walk from China town, tram and cable cars.
Rooms were small and quirky but everything you need from a City hotel.
Staff all very friendly and accommodating. Every morning they said good morning as we got out the lift and when raining offered me use of an umberella.
Free continental breakfast (brown paper bag with fruit, cereal bar, orange juice and water) was a great little extra.
Free wine hour everyday was also a great bonus!
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi ss84 ~ thanks for the awesome review. We can't agree more. San Francisco is a great walking city and our location can't be beat for the best just steps outside our doors. We hope you come back soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed are stay here;

Pros

Excellent location, very close to Union Sq and China Town.
If you want to go to Fishermans Wharf take the tram from Market Street
Staff very friendly and helpful
Rooms are quirky and comfortable
Wine reception every evening in reception, they get all the guests talking great atmosphere


Cons
Lots of street noise especiially late at night
You pay for wifi, of the 6 hotels we stayed in on this trip this was the only one that charged
Breakfast is through an arrangement with a next door restaurant, plenty of better value for money cafes near by

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
2,028 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing