We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, though a little past its prime”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fun place to stay. Cute touches... The dog guest welcome station, the complimentary cookies and wine at certain times, the rubber duckies in the front fountain area. I think this hotel's prime was 15 years ago, and it feels a little tired but not outdated. The service is great... Super friendly. Linens are good, location even better. Loved the breakfast spot next door. All in all, solid place to stay in SF with fun, quirky personality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martini_A_Go_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Martini_A_Go_Go ~ thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see that above all else the staff truly made all the difference for you. Great service never goes out of style! We hope to see you back soon.
Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed over the St Patricks Day weekend, unfortunately got the loud room overlooking the beer fest without other room choices as the hotel was sold out. Night staff was very courteous and professional, did what they could to make it better, moved us to a quieter room the next night. All of the staff were great and had great restaurant and coffee shop recommendations. Ive been staying here on and off for better than a decade and I have yet to find a friendlier place to stay in SF

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, except on St.Patricks day, Beer fest next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Parenthetical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Mark_Parenthetical ~ Thanks for the awesome review! St. Patrick’s Day is a popular weekend here in San Francisco especially at the Irish Bank. I'm glad to hear that my staff took such care of you. We hope to see you back soon.
Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I come to SF for business and have previously stayed at the Orchard up the street from The Triton. I choose the Triton this time because It's nice to avoid the steepest part of Bush in work attire when starting out for the day/coming back. Hotel Triton is in a great, central spot of the city. It's right next to Cafe La Presse which is a great and convenient breakfast spot that gets sun on their patio seating.

Great staff at Hotel Triton- super nice. I showed up a few minutes after the wine reception closed for the evening and the woman who checked me in hooked me up by sending wine to the room. I really appreciated this gesture. Also, the concierge gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation along with great walking instructions from the hotel- John's Steakhouse- amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel/interior are darker, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msuska_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi msuska_12 ~ Although we didn't coin the phrase, we like to think we own IT ~ LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Come back soon!
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having stayed at other Kimpton properties I've come to expect and enjoy the uniqueness of their hotels. Triton is certainly different! Location is great with many places to eat and walk around. Service was typical Kimpton which always feels personal. The hotel however does show it's age and the decor while artsy and eclectic doesn't make it better. Rooms are on the small side with the bathroom no bigger than those on cruise ships.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello Marie H ~ Thanks for posting your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us although it's always great to hear that my staff made all the difference.
Thank you again,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love this little boutique hotel for many reasons. First, the decor is bright, happy and quirky. Second, the people who work there are friendly and helpful always. Third, the rooms, though smallish, are comfortable and interesting. Fourth, you're offered free coffee and tea in the morning, cookies in the afternoon, and wine at 5 pm. If you join the Kimpton loyalty program you get free Wifi internet access and other bonuses. This hotel is extremely central. We walked to dinner in North Beach and in Chinatown. It's right at the Chinatown gates, but just three blocks or so from Union Square and the cable cars. The price was very competitive, and worthwhile. As a travel agent, I can recommend this.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooking a 'courtyard' are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi Jack025 ~ You're hired! Thanks for the awesome review. Coming from a Travel Agent, I couldn't have written it better myself.
Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 4 days with our one year old son. The maid left complimentary gifts for him including one of their signature rubber ducks. We loved the morning coffee & tea, the lemon-water and afternoon cookies. The employees are all very friendly, happy people who seem to like working there. I was a little weary that the bathroom/tub wouldn't be clean enough for our toddler, so I wiped the tub w/Clorox wipes. There was no hint of dirt on the wipes, which made me happy. We enjoyed our stay & will look for a Kimpton hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apechandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello Apechandler ~ thanks for the great review. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, especially the little one!
Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,216 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,252 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
2,028 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Address: 342 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $163 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing