We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but very high quality!”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #70 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unique but very high quality!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love this hotel! A very unique look but the service is the best you can find. Rooms on the street are slightly noisy though, but I guess it's a small price to pay for such a genuine and well located hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBeaudoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    612
    219
    100
    57
See reviews for
253
638
126
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Triton for our summer stay in San Fran. We arrived just in time for a wine reception. Worth the valet parking. Fantastic location nesxt to chinatown and close to great shopping. The rooms are quirky and super fun. The bath tub was a nice giant soaker tub as well.
Will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on the second part of our trip to California, wonderful hotel, great staff and all in all a great experince. Room was lovely, we were there as for our wedding anniversary and they give us a card signed by all the staff and lovely bottle of wine. The hotel is near china town and also great for shopping, went on trolley cars, alcatraz, city tour all very good. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, just so nice to find a good hotel with nice rooms and really really nice staff, thanks for a lovely time. Make sure you book alcztraz before you go it really is booked out and dont forget ur fleece because san francisco can get a wee bit chilly.

Room Tip: ask for suite its lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcleantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello mcleantravels ~ thank you for sharing your experience with our friends on TA. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You brought up a great tip for those coming to San Francisco. Secure tickets for Alcatraz before arriving is the smart way to go ~ check out Alcatraz Cruises website the next time you’re headed our way.

We hope to see you back soon,

Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a modern hotel located at the entry to Chinatown. We have been San Francisco many times, but have never spent so much time in Chinatown. We really enjoyed the different types of food ad getting to know the different types of food. We walked down to the Wharf, even though is was a good hike for us old folks. We really enjoyed the different neighborhoods and the different ethnic feels. From Chinatown to Northbeach with all the great Italian food to the Wharf with all the fresh seafood. People along the way were bright and full of cheer, there may have been some alcohol involved.
Next to the hotel there is a great little french cafe with great daily specials and wonderful wine. We especially enjoyed the wine tasting each day at the hotel. The wine flowed with good flavor and good fun had by all. The hotel was pet friendly and it was neat to have our four legged friends joining us for a trip to San Fran. We really enjoyed the eclectic atmosphere that surrounded us in this cute hotel.
We would highly suggest you give this hotel a try. Fun and San Francisco flavor for all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Milks77 ~ thanks for the awesome review. We can't agree more! Our neighborhood is perfect for experiencing some of the best San Francisco has to offer. I'm sure the alcohol doesn't hurt either :).

We hope to see you back soon.
Till then,

Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the triton hotel in San Francisco, the location is very good, right on the door step of china town and only a short walk to union square. My only concern was that a double room meant a double bed, a little cramped and there was room for a queen size in the room with a little furniture adjustment. Other than that quite good. The French cafe next door is the best and the dinner menu is to die for. Had the duck confit, omg, simply scrumptious!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Laurel L ~ thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Our rooms with two double beds are definitely cozy. We also have rooms with one single Queen and others with one single King. Next time your plans bring you back to the city feel free to reach out to me directly. I'd love to help make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.
You are so right about Cafe de la Presse. Did you know that they provide our room service for the hotel. Maybe next time you can confit in the comfort of your room :).

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed there two months ago and it was a great experience. The check-in was fast, and the front desk attendant was very friendly. She recommended us where to go and how to get to every place in SFO. At 5 pm they had "the wine hour", in which you could taste as much wine as you want, and they had ice cream for kids.
The room was perfectly cleaned and the bed so comfortable that we overslept the day we stayed there.
Maybe the only problem was that the bathroom was very small, and it didn't have an air extractor, so it was kind of uncomfortable, but since i stayed one night, it wasn't a huge problem.
I would really stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lau2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My experience at the Triton, since I started staying there in the late '90's, is that they really care about making your experience, fun, pleasant and comfortable. Once when I was with girlfriends in a party mood, the bellman jumped in a cab with us and delivered us tourists to the Tonga Room in the basement of the Farimont. It was hilarious and unforgettable. Most recently, when my brother was able to break away for an evening from his home in Mountain View to join me in the city, the staff made accommodations for him last-minute. Really great follow-up from the staff, too. And location can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Maria A ~ Sounds like you had a blast! Next time we'll have you check out the Starlight Lounge just a few blocks from the hotel.

San Francisco is waiting for you and so are we.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#64 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing