We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great deal, for a really nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #59 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a great deal, for a really nice place!”
Reviewed May 6, 2009

What a great location, for starters....just 1/2 block from the entrance to Presidio Park. It's very quiet, being a block off of the busy Lombard thoroughfare. Raymond, one of the clerks, just couldn't have been nicer and helpful, as was everyone we came in contact with.
The room is smallish, but we knew that going in. The beds are very comfortable and the maid service does a very good job. We stayed 5 nights and everything was always clean and fresh.
I would highly recommend this motel for a short or extended stay....one big perk is the free parking lot. Very safe neighborhood, close to the Golden Gate Bridge and near charming Chestnut St. for great bars and restaurants. Walking distance to the Marina, too. Thanks for a great, affordable time!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    496
    131
    32
    18
See reviews for
395
431
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We have stayed in Travelodge hotels in the UK so we were not expecting the Hilton. This isn't a new hotel so the furniture is a bit worn, however it was clean, there was hot water and it was quiet. It is near the very end of Lombard street so the busy traffic has turned off at this point. The breakfast was simple - cereal, coffee and pastry - by edible and adequate.
The beds were excellent in our room, very comfortable.
This was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ce-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchburg, va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2009

The rooms are small and crowded. The temperature control in the shower is very difficult to control. I turned water on and waited several minutes for the temperature to stabilize. After getting in, the water got scalding hot. There is just a trickle of water and I mean a trickle. It kept changing from hot to cool. The room was supposed to be non smoking but it smelled like smoke. They have 27 rooms and only 16 parking spaces. Parking is a major problem in this city and if you have a car, you may or may not have a parking spot when you come in at night. The parking spaces they do have are very small and only suitable for small cars. They charge you a 20.00 fee when you check in whether you use the safe or not. I still do not have this charge taken off my card even though the clerk told me it would be taken care of. The hotel is not convenient at all and very difficult to get in and out of. The heating/ac unit made a terrible racket all night. The walls seem to be paper thin and we could hear loud people talking on cell phones and arguing in the adjacent rooms.
The wireless internet barely works and is very slow.I booked this hotel through travelocity for 5 nights but we checked out after that first night. The clerk offered to change our rooms but there are so many negatives about this place we had to go somewhere else. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsp527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Thank you for your review. These help us to fix problems and ensure other guests do not encounter the same problem; I'm sorry we were not able to fix these during your stay.

This review makes a great point that our parking is limited. We advertise it as free, but limited. Very seldom is there an issue, but summer events bring heavy traffic to our area and parking can become tight. We do everything possible to help our guests find parking.

There is a $20 additional authorization made on each credit card in case phone calls are made or guests decide to smoke in our non-smoking rooms. This additional authorization ensures the card can cover these expenses. Typically the charge will release in 2-4 days dependent on the bank.

We feel it offers peace of mind to our guests, knowing there is a safe available. On our registration card, which each guest signs, there is an explanation of the charge. It is gladly removed when requested by those who have not used it.

This review also pointed out the low connectivity of our wi-fi. Since then we have added two additional access points to ensure all rooms have a strong connection. We also have a toll free number for troubleshooting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake mills, wi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed here over Easter- Thurs. - Monday and we wished we could of stayed longer! The staff was excellent! On Thurs. we went to a ball game at AT&T park and had a 3 day muni pass and we weren't sure how to use the bus system but the man at the front desk printed out a sheet of what bus we had to take and where to go. We wanted to go to a beach and the front desk recommended a beach that you could find whole sand dollars and we did! We were a little scared of the parking but we pulled in at 2pm and found a spot and many others empty. We took our car out, one day and came back and there was still a spot. We will definatly be back on our next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanlover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We had a great time at this hotel. The customer service is excellent! The desk people were very knowledgeable about how to take the bus, things to do, and great places to eat. The location was great! We drove our car but didn't want to deal with driving and parking around town. The bus that went to Fisherman's Wharf was only a few blocks away . The only downside to this hotel is that the rooms are very small and the parking lot is first come first serve but it's free. It was hard for a family of four to move around the room. Our room was very clean. The breakfast was very simple-coffee, juice, oatmeal, pastries, and cereal. I would definitely stay here again. P.S. The Alcatraz tour is a must!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We booked our stay through priceline. Even though I had a printed receipt, which showed our reservation had been paid for in full - manager refused to acknowledge our reservation saying it must have been canceled. She also refused to call priceline to confirm our reservation. We called them ourselves and were told there must have been some kind of computer mix-up. Travelodge had a room available but refused to give it to us at the rate we contracted through priceline. We were told we could have the room at more than double the cost. We ended up going somewhere else and paying much less. I can not overemphasis how rude this manger was. She was completely unaccommodating and unsympathetic to our situation. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here.

Thankfully, Priceline refunded our money.

  • Disliked — rude unaccomidating staff!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annabell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this review, February 5, 2009
Reservation was booked for wrong date, this was confirmed by Priceline. The hotel was not at fault for the error in arrival date and could not accommodate this guest room requirements upon arrival. We’re a small motor inn style hotel with only 27 rooms and we tried to accommodate the guest, but we were already booked for their requested room. We apologize for the service provided to the guest, Management did not speak with the guest directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Four of us (2 couples) were on a one month trip in the southwest U.S. We prebooked all our hotels and B&Bs and this was our choice in San Francisco because of the price and the location. We did not expect the Hilton but we sure didn't expect this. We booked two rooms for three nights and the comments apply to both.
The room was old, well worn carpet and furniture that appeared filthy in the poor lighting. The bathroom was moldy in the shower, around the ceiling and on the floor. There was no toilet paper holder in the bathroom and when we complained they said it would be done the next day (wrong). I went to the office which was under renovation to borrow a screwdriver to do my own repair in the room and was directed to the maintenance man in the breakfast room. He was sitting at a table with his feet on the table drinking a beer but did manage to find a screwdriver. Needless to say we didn't eat the complimentary breakfast in that room.
The bed was clean and comfortable, but that is the extent of the good comments.
Parking was another problem and we ended up parking off the premises around the corner at a restaurant as the lot was continually full.
We found another hotel and booked out early as we just couldn't manage to stay any longer.

  • Liked — bed comfortable and location
  • Disliked — filth and mold
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodworker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#93 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Property: Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing