We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very good location. Room a little dated and on the small side but functional. Bathroom on the small side with older fixtures. Overall good experience. Advise you park the car and use public transportation. You will find that parking in SF is expensive and almost impossible to find.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR4AIRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2008

So the location is good but thats as far as i would go. The linen was dirty, the fridge was filthy and falling apart and the room made my skin crawl. Cheap is no excuse for failing to provide basic hygienic conditions. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coldmachineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2010

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the condition of your room. It is our intent to provide every guest with a quality night's sleep. Because of this review, the front desk now is in charge of laundry. Every piece of linen is scanned to ensure it's cleanliness. We now inspect our fridges regularly and are just about done with our room renovations (2/2010). Please give us another chance to demonstrate our hospitality again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We, two adults and a nine years old child, stayed at the Travelodge at Presidio on the 13th of July for three nights.
After a warm welcome to the reception staff we entered our room that was the once located to the street side, The noise of the traffic was audible in the room but it was in an acceptable scale. The motel is located in that part off Lombard St. directly near Presidio with only a little traffic compared with the more troubled part a few hundred feet away. Our room was clean, not small but also not very spacious. Usually every room has an own parking lot. But not in this motel. There are less parking lots than rooms in the inner courtyard. Breakfast in the very small lobby was more than poor. Only coffee, cereals, and some kind of sweet soft cookies. The only change to eat or drink something was to put the whole stuff on a tray and took it with you to your room.
Our son had a small infection at one eye so we had to go to a doctor. The staff at the reception was very courteous and did everything to help us.
Conclusion: Despite of some lack the motel is a good location for exploring SF. An further advantage is the short distance to the Golden Gate Bridge. We would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stay there with my family four nights. Small rooms, old building yet clean and almost everything runs pretty well. The front desk clerks were friendly and very helpful. They did everything they promised. Location is good for tight budget tourists. #45 bus terminal station is only one block away. Not far from the Crissy field and Palace of Fine Art. Hiking to the Golden Gate bridge is also not difficult for young children.
My biggest problem during stay is internet access, most of the time it won't work and the manager on duty told me it's the internet service provider's problems, they can't solve it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mickchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Dates 6/24-6/28
Spent four days in san fran and was able to do just about everything on foot from this location. (we are in our early 50's) It is literally at the entrance to the Presidio (which is beautiful). Within walking distance of the marina (view of golden gate) then just up a scenic walk to fishermans wharf. If you walk straight up lombardo (and I mean up) you can access the crookedest street. One night we took a cab from fishermans wharf (too much happy hour) and it was only 8.00! Our room was old, bed linens were comfortable but exceptionally clean. New AC/heating had just been installed. Bathroom fan was extremely noisy so we just used the heating light most of the time. Not enough vanity space so I utilized the coffee area for hair/make up. People at the desk were extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was packaged rolls, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Low water pressure, lots of hot water. Area felt safe even at night. Got a great package deal via travelocity. Well what can I say-definitely not a ritz carlton but I am sure it saved us a lot in transportation. Parking was not an issue on the days we stayed as we did have a rental car-just never used it. Average budget motel-great location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtogoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We needed a place for the whole family for graduation. Since living in SF for 3 years, we knew how difficult it would be to place the whole family and make sure there were things to do in a relatively safe neighborhood. We picked the Presidio area because there was the Exploratorium and Golden Gate Bridge for the kids, Chestnut street for food, and the hotel had free parking. The price was decent for SF ~$100/nt. I booked 2 rooms off their website and 2 directly through the staff. Be cautious because if you book thru the website, you can't claim the AAA discount since they are sold thru a 3rd party. The first room we got was in the process of a remodel and smelled like heavy paint. They told us they weren't going to give us that room over the phone in the AM but stuck us with that room anyway...the bathroom was semi-moldy and not done yet. After the first night, we asked and finally got a completed remodeled room which was very nice and comfortable. (2nd floor middle corner room). They have free parking, but only a limited number of spaces so you had to stake your claim early. Breakfast was nothing special, cold cereal, OJ, coffee, cocoa, danishes. At least it was free. I thought the area was safe since it was off the Lombard main drag, but apparently, the hotel was held up the second night we were there. Otherwise, it was very quiet, and comfortable (if you get the right room), but the staff needs to communicate better. A major plus...free wireless internet!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pharmagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

This Travelodge is located at the entrance to the Presidio, which used to be an Army Post and is now part of the US Park Service. It is very near to the Golden Gate Bridge and is convenient to the attractions in and around the Presidio and the 'Marina' area of San Francisco. The hotel itself looks to be a renovated motel, but it's located in an area off the busy portion of Lombard St. so it was fairly quiet.

I spent 3 nights there and slept well each night. I would recommend the rooms toward the back of the complex. The room itself was nothing exceptional but everything was comfortable, clean and functional. The beds were very comfortable with attractive bedding, a microwave and refrigerator were provided and the room (#301) was a corner unit with windows on 3 sides. The bathroom was very small, similar to european B & B bathrooms with no tub just a shower, but everything was clean and in working order.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff did a good job. A very skimpy continental breakfast is offered at the front desk; juice, coffee and some breakfast rolls which you have to eat in your room or elsewhere. There is no breakfast room but there are many great places to have breakfast.

The location offers many unique eateries nearby, and Chestnut St. has a wide selection of cafes, coffee shops, bakeries, restaurants with every kind of dining and grocery stores selling exceptional produce. There are many boutiques and shopping establishments as well. The area had only 2 franchise restaurants that I saw, an IHOP and a Johnny Rockets, everything else is a one of a kind.

Parking is available but limited onsite and an overflow lot is around the corner. Street parking and public parking is expensive if you're not from a big city with similar rates.

I paid about $100 a night for the room a double/double but found a $74 rate from the Roomsaver magazine. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clan4irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel SF
#26 of 231 in San Francisco
1,073 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#82 of 231 in San Francisco
766 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#143 of 231 in San Francisco
226 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#112 of 231 in San Francisco
612 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#34 of 231 in San Francisco
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing