We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home base for visiting San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel, which offered us an excellent base for visiting the city. We left our rental car at the parking of the hotel and used our 3-day public transport pass for vistiting the city. Very close to the hotel there are bus stops, giving access to nearly all of the tourist high-lights in the city.
There are ample dining options at walking distance from the hotel (e.g Chestnut Street).
The rooms of the hotel were clean but quite small compared with the average room in similar hotels at the counry site. Nevertheless, as we used our room only for sleeping and spent the rest of the day for sight-seeing, we didn't consider this as a draw-back..
Breakfast was quite basic but adequate. Service was OK.


























































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































ng access to nearly all of the sight-seeing highlighs of SFO. Within walking distance there are ample opportunities for dining in the evening

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FransenCo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Our staff always tries to go above and beyond when it comes to our guests. Some folks have their tour of the city completely planned out and we are happy to make brief suggestions. Our staff does have an extensive knowledge and are chomping at the bit to share. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here May 12-16. I can't say enough good things about our stay. The room (one king bed) was roomy, easily handling 4 pieces of luggage, a backpack and a small cooler with plenty of space to spare. The bed was extra comfy, complete with down blanket and plenty of extra pillows. The room decor was very nice and update, complete with a flat screen TV (not that you watch that much TV while in San Francisco). The room was extremely clean, in fact, immaculate.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Nicolette and Raymond, who are experts at helping with public transportation planning (they actually use the public transportation so they really do know the system and routes). Raymond helped us plan out a route, on the day of the Bay to Breakers race, that would get us to California Academy of Sciences. Nicolette was great at showing us the routes to downtown at rush hour. A bonus is that you can buy transit passes right at the hotel, I believe the only hotel in the city who offers all the transit pass options. We used public transportation for our entire stay and never encountered any problems.
Both Nicolette and Raymond were always smiling (as was housekeeping, but unfortunately, I didn't get any names), and they truly wanted to make our stay comfortable and cared about us as guests.
The location of the hotel is great. It is in a quiet part of the city, just outside the Presidio. Yet just two blocks down, the city thrives, with so many restaurant options we couldn't count them. The hotel is also close to many public transit stops. We never walked more than 3 blocks to or from any stop. A great bonus of the hotel location is that you can both hear and see the famous wild parrots of Telegraph Hill. The birds seem to like the trees at the Presidio. We really enjoyed watching them and hearing they as the flew over. I even managed to snap a couple of pictures while two of the birds chatted on power lines right next to the hotel.
The only possible suggestion I could make to the hotel would be to expand the continental breakfast; fresh fruit would be a nice addition.
I highly recommend this hotel and hope to have the pleasure of staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguin22358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

All we can say is WOW. Thank you for the incredibly nice things you said in your review. You really highlighted many of the things that make our hotel what it is known for. Buses 45, 30, 28, 43, and 22 are within 2 or three blocks of the hotel and get you virtually everywhere including Fisherman’s Wharf, North Beach (Little Italy), Chinatown, Union Square, AT&T Ballpark, Golden Gate Park, Haight Ashbury, and Clement St. This mixed with our quiet safe location and clean, newly renovated rooms makes our hotel a great place to stay and explore San Francisco. The housekeepers want to thank you for your review. Raymond and Nicolette both say “Can’t wait to see you next time.”

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The day before my check-in date, I phoned the hotel to obtain information about early check-in options and spoke with Bruce, who proved extremely helpful with directions to the hotel on public transportation from SFO. Upon check-in, I was greeted by Shawn, who was also very friendly and gladly gave me tips on running routes to the Golden Gate Bridge and transportation to the Cliff House near Ocean Beach. I received the same level of customer service upon check-out the following morning when I requested a taxi in short notice and luggage storage while sightseeing that day. Thank you for making my stay in the Presidio area such a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC8531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Great job Bruce! He was really excited after reading you review. He wanted me to mention that one of the reasons we are so awesome at our jobs is because we actually go out there and do all the things that Guests love to do. Our knowledge of the city is first hand, and between all of us here at the hotel, our guest have access to that combined knowledge. Also, thanks for pointing out that our guests are free to have their luggage stored here before checking in or after checkout while you go out and enjoy our wonderful city. Bruce says thanks for the review!

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just a superb experience. A great room with all the facilities of a much more highly rated hotel...OK, so it's a bit dated and needs a bit of a 'tart-up'...but the service is absolutely first class and you'll want for nothing. Learn the bus timetables and you won't need a car...you're so conveniently close to the city. Just cant wait to get back there.
Hint...no elevators so request a ground floor room if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erskine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

It is true that our hotel was built in 1955 and a structure of this age requires constant upkeep. That is why we are excited to say that the hotel has been going through a full remodel including tile flooring and granite counter-tops, real wood cabinets, paint, and soon to come, new furniture! You also mentioned our location as being very convenient to the bus lines and restaurants, which is very true. Anyone of our staff can assist any guest. We cannot wait to have you back, and look forward to it. Thank you for the review.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at the Travelodge Presidio at the end of a 2 week US road trip in May. We found Raymond and his colleague (who's name I'm afraid escapes me) to be very welcoming and helpful. Raymond in particular, whom we dealt with most during our 2 night stay, really allowed us to make the most of our short stay in SF by providing us with clear and concise guidelines for traveling round the city, excellent recommendations for things to do/see, and generally helping us to hit the ground running. Really first class.

There were a couple of minor things which let this motel down unfortunately: the cleanliness was generally good apart from right in the corners. Guys: if you have don't have a 'crevice tool' on your vacum then you probably ought to get a new one. Also the sheet on the bed, whilst perfectly clean, had some unsightly stains on which were a little off-putting. For the price of a new bed sheet and 5 minutes extra with the vacum I'd have had no complaints whatsoever about this place.

For the money though, I don't think you can fault it, and I'd certainly recommend it to budget conscious friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClamchowderUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

The housekeepers were so let down by the fact that they had disappointed you. After reading your review, they got together and came up with a plan to ensure we get the job right every time here on in. David also went out of his way to go room to room inspecting every nook and cranny to ensure all corners were clean. We appreciate your making us aware of our mistake.
Ray is a wealth of San Francisco knowledge as is Bruce and Nikki and our staff “all of them” love to help guest’s have an incredible time in the city. We are proud to see we did not fail you!

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here, all of the staff I encountered, Ray, Bruce,and Nicolette were amazingly helpful to a first-time San Francisco visitor like me, pointing out all of the major sights and activities, plus the modes of transportation needed to get to them. Room was very clean, comfortable, and the aforementioned staff also went out of their way to assist with a couple of minor room issues. All in all, stay here when you come to San Francisco, mark my words, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear, these are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slaintenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Ray, Bruce, And Nicolette all thought that your final sentence on your review said it all about the way they feel about guest service. Our approach is that we want you to feel like you have just walked into one of our homes as a friend, not a paying customer. Mark our words, you will not be disappointed staying at our Travelodge, we love to help!

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This place is a little bit away from the main area of san francisco but only takes 45 minutes to walk to fishermans wharf and union square. the public transport system is right out side of the door, so you never have to worry about getting to and from any where. the rooms are clean and tidy and serviced daily. Next door there is a little shop where you can buy milk or things that you need.

Raymond the concierge is amazing. I arrived early and he let me in my room straight away, he was so very helpful in day tours or free walking tours and also gave me a map with all the bus routes on it and explained how to get to and from places. If you needed anything Raymond was there to help. Bruce and nicolette were so helpful aswell, everyone greeted you with a smile and a hello.

I will definately be staying there again..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisawesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Another great review, thank you so much. Friendly reviews let us know that our team is on the right track and Raymond, Nikki, and Bruce loved reading your review. The housekeepers also enjoy reading how well of a job they are doing. Our great location affords us a much more quiet stay than the rest of Lombard St. From me and the rest of the staff we say “thanks”, and we wait to impress you again on your next visit.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,581 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
714 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $236 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing