We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in San Fran” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #180 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in San Fran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The guy we saw most at the desk was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and he always gave us good advice - a real star. The hotel is very well placed for buses, and for Chestnut Ave, a really rich location for great shops and cafes. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fatboyslimSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    109
    101
    34
    32
See reviews for
77
120
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Contrary to some other reviews I think it was GREAT value for the money. Is it a "nice" hotel? No, definitely not. But me (a mom) and my two children (ages 8 and 10) stayed for 3 nights with FREE Parking and free wi-fi and two queen beds, and felt completely safe, all for $205!!! in San Francisco!!! in the Marina neighborhood, which is considered very nice. And there simply aren't posh hotels in the Marina neighborhood. They're mostly motels, all decades old, motor lodges, very similar to the Travelodge. I got what I paid for, and that was a safe place to crash with free parking and free wi-fi. I'd stay there again, because for me, vacations aren't about the hotel, but instead about the seeing and doing. And it's a great location from which to see and do. But without a doubt, this hotel is not for everyone. There was some street traffic noise but we just turned the A/C fan on. The concrete floor was somewhat sloped, so although the door felt securely locked, there was a gap under the door. The sheets were fine, but the bedspreads were old. I thought room size was just fine, and thought the bathroom was surprisingly nice considering the age of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lizfrom1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The rooms look normal, but they smelled weird. Our stay was not pleasant because of that strange odor. I will not recommend this hotel to a friend. Even though it is well located, I will look for other one. It completely ruined my visit to San Francisco...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleomorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Barcelona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

The situation is great: in Lombard St and around it, you can find restaurants and shops (an apple store and a starbucks are situated near the hotel).
Despite this, the hotel is quite poor. The rooms are noisy (there are three floors) and old. I think you pay too much for what is.
The best is that there is free parking and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catalan_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed there because it was a good price and good location. There are a couple of downsides, but nothing major: no elevator (there are 3 floors), parking is very limited although free, rooms are relatively small. We stayed there because we figured we'll be seeing tourist sites in the city all day and use the hotel basically for sleeping. You can hear some traffic on Lombard St., but it's not deafening; I didn't have any problem sleeping. Overall, if your main interest is price and location, this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Argyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here with 4 kids and partner...........had 2 adjoining rooms, very spacious, very clean, and very quiet........ would recommend it greatly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I visited this motel on march 29 and I was quite satisfied with the kind of rooms and the quality of service I recived. The rooms were clean and quite and the guy at the front desk was very helpful in leading us to some good places to see around the city. It also has a free parking which is hard to find in SF. I would recomend u this motel if you have a moderate budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#171 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 2230 Lombard St, Hwy. 101 at Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2704 (Formerly Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing