We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't”
Review of Civic Center Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Civic Center Inn
Ranked #215 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just don't”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I needed a cheap place to stay. I tried to check in early, but they wouldn't let me. I should have begged to get out of my reservation, as I left after an hour once checked in. I suppose if I weren't a single woman, I might have been OK. Aside from the overwhelming smell of bleach, and the street noise, I guess I could have toughed it out, but I decided to bail and find a motel 6. Probably won't get a refund, but at least I feel safe.

Room Tip: another hotel. Although it seemed the other questionable travelers preferred the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 975celiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    34
    41
    147
See reviews for
38
64
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Good service, clean, and good location. The Hotel is next to the center, but the only negative point is not located in the best area of the city: lot of persons are sleeping in the streets around, and you may not feel secure if you are staying alone in the hotel. Otherwise, we didn't have any problems during our stay (3 days).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I booked this motel for four nights as part of a roadtrip with friends. San Francisco seemed more expensive than other places we had stayed so when we found this room for $418 for four nights it seemed like a bargain. Wrong!!

We parked up and started to get our stuff out the car, whilst being watched by two men smoking marajwana outof there room. We checked in with a reasonably helpful womam at the desk. As we walked to our room we were met with a stench or urine and weed.

The room its self was grim! Stained bedding and towels, graffiti on the headboards and the shower didn't look like it had been washed yet this year. We could hear sirens every few minutes and people shouting up and down the corridors.

On the way back from a food run we saw rats by our room.

It was sleepless night listening to the ramblings of the group of homeless men outside our room, the drug deals and the man wih his prostitute in the next room (the walls are very thin... very)!

We woke up to a hysterical woman shouting 'gt away from my property, get away from my car, I'm calling the cops'.
We got out of there early next morning, and were lucky to get a refund for the 3 nights we were cancelling. The womam on the desk then was very rude and unwilling.

we went and checked in to the holiday inn fisherman's warf for $700, worth every penny!

We felt genuinely afraid and vulnerable.

reading other reviews now it sounds like we were lucky that our experience was only as bad as it was.

I cannot express enough - DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eitak86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

rooms should be in slums, not in san fran. nothing worked in any of the rooms. when in lobby everyone who checked in had a complaint. excessive noise
and undesirable staying there. the roomes had no place to hang your clothes and the towels like dish towels




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Ok so we road tripped from Las Vegas to LA then finally to San Francisco and didn't book our hotel prior to the road trip. BIG MISTAKE.

We stopped off at a service station to connect to the WIFI and book a last minute hotel on the internet. We stumbled across the Civic Center Inn and saw (or rather thought) that the location wasn't too bad and the price was within our budget (around $55-60 per night)

When we arrived at the hotel around 8pm there was NO parking spaces available. We parked on the road. When going in to the hotel 'lobby' an old Chinese man greeted us and let us in, he was polite. The shabby looking young foreign guy behind the desk was of no help. He had holes in his jumper and a bad attitude.

We rented a car to drive to San Fran and when we asked if the car would be safe the answer we got back we dreaded. We were so tired that we went to sleep trying not to touch the musky sheets and woke up to find the car intact. Surprisingly. We checked in on a Saturday, a night for gangs to hang about hotel car parks and stair cases making you feel scared and uncomfortable. The noise outside from the gang members was extremely loud and didn't stop until gone 2am. The shower was dirty so I'm glad we only stayed two nights, I couldn't wait to check out.

If you go to San Francisco, do yourself a favour and have the best time that you possibly can and book a hotel down by the bay. The prices are not too expensive and trust me, you will have a better sleep in a better environment and you won't be afraid to get a shower!!!

Save yourself disappointment and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: No rooms are good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mocha_upo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Alexis Park San Francisco
#177 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#139 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Layne Hotel
#200 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#198 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Inn

Property: Civic Center Inn
Address: 790 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7909
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Civic Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Hotel San Francisco
Civic Center Hotel
Civic Center Motel
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing