We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location for tourist to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Town House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Town House Motel
Ranked #128 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Haifa, Israel
1 review
“The best location for tourist to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the first place that is the U.S.. Warm attitude we received as tourists whose native language is not English received ratio and help above and beyond expectations. Ratio was maintained and that growing older brother of the motel managers. Would have to say that of me putting this step for a standard ratio guests.
Quality tasked with was well worth the price and it turns out that most time to fully booked motel.
I have no words to describe the greatness of the couple Callahan.
Rachel and Meir Ginat

Room Tip: The best way to explore San Francisco is to buy a ticket open bus for two days and did not use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    109
    86
    23
    5
See reviews for
67
117
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

this was a very good place to stay- especially since prices around were so high and we knew that you can really come across some not so great places in SF. The price was reasonable and the staff was helpful, room was clean and specious, and except the fact that there is no AC, it was great. You do get fan in each room, but it's still pretty hot inside.
Location is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is not a modern plush hotel but an affordable clean bolthole in San Francisco for families and couples alike. There is on site parking, so dump the car and get a bus or walk to many of the most popular attractions from this hotel. It is ideally situated. The couple who run it are very friendly and helpful. The most important thing for us was that it is very clean and the beds are comfortable. If you want to be picky then yes, the breakfast is minimal, yes there is some noise from Lombard Street and the bathrooms are small but...hey it is still very good value in central San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Good position,comfortable,very clean.Good value for San Francisco ,includes parking, which is a big saving and means you don't have to drive in traffic if you choose to use the Big Bus( hop on , hop off bus).Patrick and Denise are very helpful. Thank you both! (the Aussies)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rooms of course arent modern and "brand new" but very clean and comfortable. Incredibly convenient location. Staff is over the top helpful and knowledgable. Highly recommended for budget minded travelers like myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kendrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Poor breakfast (only pastry and fruits).
Uncomfortable room: thin walls, smell of detergents in the room, very cold in bathroom as you can't turn off the ventilation. Our room was on ground flour and it was nosmoking, but there was an ashtray just in front of our room, so all the smell went just in our room.
One night I was bitten by some bugs, we couldn't find them in room, but I had bite marks on my shoulder for next few days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola_Zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Eugene
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have been on the road for one week. It was late at night and we were extremely tired.
Otherwise we probably would not have stayed in this place as it looked kind of borderline from the road!
What a mistake! It was a horrible hotel!
We were in a room on the first floor. The room above us was vacant when we arrived.
Then about 1:00 in the morning a party started upstairs. we tried calling the front desk;
there was no answer all night long!!!
We got only one or two hours sleep! When I mentioned it to the front desk in the morning;
the woman laughed at me and said I should have called the room of the noisy tenant!
That was her solution!? The worst part was her "couldn't care less attitude."
Never again! I hope this review will help someone else from such a horrible experience!

Room Tip: Go to a motel near the airport in South San Francisco. Lots of choices, better prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#146 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#173 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 72 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#108 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#118 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Motel

Property: Town House Motel
Address: 1650 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3007
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roomy, centrally located, and affordable lodging in San Francisco Spacious rooms featuring modern décor are what make our Lombard Street motel a popular budget hotel in San Francisco. Along with our great location as a motel near Union Square, Town House Motel offers complimentary continental breakfast every morning and free parking. Whether you’re a couple or traveling solo, on business or visiting for pleasure, you’ll find our friendly staff is eager to accommodate. Let the Town House Motel help you discover the very best of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Town House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel San Francisco
Town Hotel San Francisco
Town Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing