We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location....but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #115 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location....but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had read the reviews before arriving at the hotel, but decided to go ahead anyway. We requested a quiet room at the rear of the hotel, which was granted. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The location was unbeatable. Dated decor wasn't an issue for us. But unfortunately lack of ventilation was. Our day temperature ranged from 15 - 22 degrees, so you would think that lack of air conditioning wouldn't be a problem. We had a ceiling fan but because no air could actually get into the room, this proved quite useless. Would really hate to spend a hot summer night there. And then there was the street noise, even from the back room. Hollering until 2am in the morning one night. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    315
    195
    59
    42
See reviews for
211
305
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This Inn was the only place I could find in the San Francisco (Fisherman's Wharf) area that included parking. The Inn is a bit run down and old looking. The rooms are a bit old dated as well. We had a room with a balcony which looked out Mason Street and across the street was a 7-eleven. I thought it was a bit pricey for the run down place, but considering the location it was alright,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bclady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

As someone who stays at the Wharf inn twice a year for the last 7 years, here is some advice. Always call the hotel and ask what you are booking. This should apply to any hotel. Not just this one. We try to get a different room each time we stay. Each one is slightly different. We asked Steve at the front desk how many have couches. the answer is 8. Not including the Penthouse.

We started staying for the free parking and kept coming back because 1. Its Basic. We don't pay for all of the extras as we do at other places.
2. The staff is great. They treat us like friends and not just someone who is staying there. Then again, if you walk in without attitude...
3. We have very few complaints. I think.one ever.


If you want Basic, free parking this is it. If you are the type of person who wants to be cheap and expect full service then don't stay here.

If you are the type of person who wants a place to sleep in a comfy bed with Free parking and no Frills, then Stay.

Room Tip: Parking for 39 cars to 50 rooms. You will still get free parking but they will double park you in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

My partner and I had already checked out of the Wharf Inn and experienced a problem that required a change in clothing. The desk clerk was most accommodating and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. If you get one on the front side, it faces Mason St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Loud, felt dirty. More like a low end university hall. What a ripoff, avoid at all costs. We heard traffic, neighbouring rooms partying, TVs and snoring. Awful service and carpets not changed since Reagan was in office. Really consider staying elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed at the Wharf Inn Aug 10-11th in the penthouse.
They do have air con in the penthouse (looks new)
The view especially of the city and Coit tower are wonderful from the room or patio.
The beds were so comfortable. My friend who came with me said her bed was better than her temperpedic at home. Plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom,and great water pressure.
No noise issues when sleeping as bedrooms are at the back.Live in the country where it is very quiet, so loved the city sounds as something different.Can't beat the location, can walk almost
everywhere. Yes it is a bit old,but it was clean. Wi fi sometimes a bit slow, but free,and free parking wow in San Fran, unheard of! Steve at the desk was great and so helpful, Bill was good too.
Penthouse has in-room coffee and a full kitchen. I have stayed at the Fairmont on Nob Hill,
but for the price I would rather stay at The Wharf Inn " I'll Be Back"

Room Tip: get the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I booked through Booking.com and based on summer rates I paid $790.00 for two nights at this great location. I will start with the Pros and move onto the Cons. Pros parking is free come and go as you please (a good deal in SF); Pros Location ½ block to the Embarcadero that is all I have to say about the pros so now the cons. This hotel should be rated a 2 star and not a 2.5 star because once you check in and walk through your room you will find no air condition (a squeaky ceiling fan) louver windows which you have to leave wide open and expose your room to all foot traffic in order to get a breeze. The carpet had rolls in it which it tripped over and the bath room was moldy in the corners.
This location was always noisy due to traffic noise from all streets adjacent to the property. The TV only had local stations and 2 HD channels, One ice machine on the ground level that is it, no mini fridge and as far as the free WIFI forget it is slower than dial up on peak hours. All in all does not stay here unless you need free parking. What a rip off and a sure dump, I will never stay here again. I do not normally right reviews but felt that I had too so anyone who reads this will question the hotel employee or the assistant manager Bill and ask all questions that I noted.

Room Tip: No tips just do not stay here pick another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing