We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location....but...”
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #118 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location....but...”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had read the reviews before arriving at the hotel, but decided to go ahead anyway. We requested a quiet room at the rear of the hotel, which was granted. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The location was unbeatable. Dated decor wasn't an issue for us. But unfortunately lack of ventilation was. Our day temperature ranged from 15 - 22 degrees, so you would think that lack of air conditioning wouldn't be a problem. We had a ceiling fan but because no air could actually get into the room, this proved quite useless. Would really hate to spend a hot summer night there. And then there was the street noise, even from the back room. Hollering until 2am in the morning one night. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    355
    217
    68
    48
See reviews for
245
340
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This Inn was the only place I could find in the San Francisco (Fisherman's Wharf) area that included parking. The Inn is a bit run down and old looking. The rooms are a bit old dated as well. We had a room with a balcony which looked out Mason Street and across the street was a 7-eleven. I thought it was a bit pricey for the run down place, but considering the location it was alright,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bclady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My partner and I had already checked out of the Wharf Inn and experienced a problem that required a change in clothing. The desk clerk was most accommodating and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. If you get one on the front side, it faces Mason St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Loud, felt dirty. More like a low end university hall. What a ripoff, avoid at all costs. We heard traffic, neighbouring rooms partying, TVs and snoring. Awful service and carpets not changed since Reagan was in office. Really consider staying elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed at the Wharf Inn Aug 10-11th in the penthouse.
They do have air con in the penthouse (looks new)
The view especially of the city and Coit tower are wonderful from the room or patio.
The beds were so comfortable. My friend who came with me said her bed was better than her temperpedic at home. Plenty of towels and toiletries in the bathroom,and great water pressure.
No noise issues when sleeping as bedrooms are at the back.Live in the country where it is very quiet, so loved the city sounds as something different.Can't beat the location, can walk almost
everywhere. Yes it is a bit old,but it was clean. Wi fi sometimes a bit slow, but free,and free parking wow in San Fran, unheard of! Steve at the desk was great and so helpful, Bill was good too.
Penthouse has in-room coffee and a full kitchen. I have stayed at the Fairmont on Nob Hill,
but for the price I would rather stay at The Wharf Inn " I'll Be Back"

Room Tip: get the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I booked through Booking.com and based on summer rates I paid $790.00 for two nights at this great location. I will start with the Pros and move onto the Cons. Pros parking is free come and go as you please (a good deal in SF); Pros Location ½ block to the Embarcadero that is all I have to say about the pros so now the cons. This hotel should be rated a 2 star and not a 2.5 star because once you check in and walk through your room you will find no air condition (a squeaky ceiling fan) louver windows which you have to leave wide open and expose your room to all foot traffic in order to get a breeze. The carpet had rolls in it which it tripped over and the bath room was moldy in the corners.
This location was always noisy due to traffic noise from all streets adjacent to the property. The TV only had local stations and 2 HD channels, One ice machine on the ground level that is it, no mini fridge and as far as the free WIFI forget it is slower than dial up on peak hours. All in all does not stay here unless you need free parking. What a rip off and a sure dump, I will never stay here again. I do not normally right reviews but felt that I had too so anyone who reads this will question the hotel employee or the assistant manager Bill and ask all questions that I noted.

Room Tip: No tips just do not stay here pick another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mtn, TN
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My small family (2 adults / 1 child) last minuted needed 2 nights in the Fisherman's Wharf area of San Francisco. An hour of online searching only turned up hotels that were $375 to $500 / night - which didn't include parking - which added another $40 (lowest) to $80 (highest) to the bill. Then I came across the Wharf Inn - with a AAA nightly rate of $264 with parking. The website made the place look pretty decent - plus the location was incredible - so we jumped. We really didn't care (or so we thought) much about the room - we would only be sleeping there and not much else.

When we arrived, the place looks like a motel - a tiny lobby with all rooms accessed from the outside. The first thing we noticed is there are no air conditioners - which we initially thought would be an issue but if you know anything about San Francisco nights, there's very cool so an open window should do the trick. The problem was the window was so small that it did get fairly stuffy. The first night we discovered the garbage truck picks up about 4:00 in the morning - right outside our window and seems to take it's sweet time doing it's job. There's a musty smell in the room, there is zero "curb appeal" to the decor - but on the upside, the shower was great, the TV works, and the bed is mostly comfortable. The front desk guy was very cheery and helpful and the whole place is clean. Bottom line - if you want a cheap hotel in one of the best locations of Fisherman's Wharf with free parking, this is the place. Keep your expectations low and you'll be happy. No food / breakfast (cheap coffee in the lobby), no newspaper, no frills. You can't really blame the place since the price is so low. Would I stay again? Absolutely (I hate spending alot on hotels). It would be nice to have AC - despite the cool San Fran nights. But by the end of our trip, value was the key. You just gotta accept the fact that this place "is what it is" and not be disappointed by it being something it was never supposed to be - a fancy hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces Mason Street - the garbage truck will wake the dead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,132 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 229 in San Francisco
4,074 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing