We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best location!!”
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #117 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best location!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Wharf Inn for 2 nights in April, 2014 in the "Penthouse Suite" which is a separate unit on the rooftop. The location is, without a doubt, it's best attribute. Everything we required was either within walking distance or easily accessible. The Inn's accommodations (ie. decor and furnishings) are most definitely dated, but would that deter us from staying again -- absolutely not! The beds were very comfortable; the suite was clean; room amenities were in good working order (although no a/c - there were plenty of fans in the unit); tv might have been old -- but to be honest I don't even remember turning it on the whole time we were there; price was extremely good for the area and included parking; staff was helpful and were there 24/7; we had no problem with noise whatsoever, not at the front of hotel nor in the sleeping quarters which are located facing the back of the building (however, because our unit was somewhat segregated not sure if the rest of the motel units are or not). Overall the experience was good, we would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljt_ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    333
    204
    64
    44
See reviews for
226
319
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff is highly accommodating. It's an awesome location just steps from the Fisherman's Wharf. Nice room, nice beds, good amenities, coffee in the lobby. Really nice stay and great deal from hotels.com. Will stay again. It's a motel so expect it to be as much. Free parking, awesome!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shobs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Wharf Inn for 2 nights while visiting San Francisco on our way to Los Angeles. The Inn's location is right on Fisher Mans Wharf, just a short walk from Pier 39 with easy access to public transportation, cable car and tour stops. I felt very safe out walking the whole time we were there- as early as 8:30am and as late as 10:30pm. The Inn staff is fantastic! They are very welcoming, friendly and happy to offer advice, answer questions and help in anyway possible. The property itself is old but well maintained and our room was clean. There is free wifi, coffee, tea and hot chocolate (drinks located in the office). Additionally, the free parking is a huge bonus since public/street parking is difficult to find.

Now for the downside, as I mentioned this is an older property, the beds were uncomfortable and the shower was low for me (I'm 5'3"). The hotel does not have A/C. However these things would not deter me from visiting again.

The Wharf Inn is a great value in San Francisco compared to the more pricey hotels and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building would be quieter, however the views of the bay are in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halohead8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Wharf Inn is located just short one and a half blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, the "F" Trolley Line is across the street and the Powell St. Cable Car Line is two blocks away. The hotel itself may be a little dated but the rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The front desk is manned 24 hours and have been for me, very helpful. Free parking on site which is rare for this area comes in handy. The hotel is under new management and is keeping the same standards as the previous owners. The price of the rooms vary by date but are very reasonable for the Fisherman's Wharf area. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeS43207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a great stay at the Wharf Inn. The Manager was kind enough to upgrade us to a slightly larger room which is great with 2 teen kids in tow. The room was clean and the beds comfy. Tho there was some street noise, we all seemed to be able to sleep in past 9:30 each day. It is walking distance to anything at the Wharf and the street car picks up at the corner to travel down the Embarcadero. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with another couple in May 2014,price, location - within easy walking distance to Pier 39, etc, and free parking being the attraction. The rooms were basic, both rooms were clean, but our sofa was grubby. Bathroom small but adequate with toiletries and hair dryer from reception no problem. Very small safes at reception, not in room. We were on second floor facing car park and was quiet except for plumbing noise. San Francisco was experiencing a heat wave, but the ceiling fan was fine in our room, but our friends on third floor were too hot.
Reception small but adequate, free hot drinks available. Front desk variable. "Steve" was there when we arrived in the afternoon and again the following afternoon and was brilliant, so helpful, full of ideas, directions to places and recommendations for eating places, one for breakfast and the other for dinner, both excellent. Late evening totally different service. The man behind Reception barely looked at us when we asked him a question. He looked down at his mobile phone the whole time and was texting. We asked if he could recommend a place for breakfast and his response was 'Californians and I eat in our own homes, so would not know'. The Chinese lady on in the mornings did not appear to understand much English, or maybe our accents, as were from the UK, so difficult to get any information from her.
Wi-fi was fine in our rooms. Security could not have been better for a motel style hotel. The room key card was needed to get to the stairs or to use the lift, so no-one could get to your bedroom door. No fridge or coffee maker in rooms, but for the price by Fisherman's Wharf, we were not expecting it.
It is a tired hotel and needs some work on it, but there are definitely plus points to the hotel which overcome its shorts falls.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MadameMichelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

For the same price we went across the street and stayed at the Sheraton which was WAY nicer. The pillows and sheets
Looked like they had not been changed in a week or more. There was hair in the shower and the floor was dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisha542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,941 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing