We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #116 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Mohegan Lake, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is all about the location. It is right in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf. If your looking for glitz then spend the extra $100 a night or more, but if your priority is being in the heart of the action, this is your place. Once we parked he car, it stayed there for the duration of our trip, except for a short ride to Lombard St. Our family, including our 3 girls (10, 9 and 6) walked to the Alcatraz pier and trolly car line. Yes there are issues around the hotel, and the area in general, but we felt safe in and around the motel. The area was noisy at night, but that's the trade off for the location. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    350
    213
    67
    47
See reviews for
239
336
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the end of June. Room was so small I had to go outside to change my mind. No amenities - had to "borrow" an iron and an ironing board (one of the small ones) from the front desk. My room had a view of some kind of transformer. Some of the staff were ok, but others weren't even friendly. The location is good and there is free parking, but next time I'll pay more for nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank godbolt222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy. The only let down was no coffee facilities in room but coffee in Reception. Perfect location to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 all in walking distance. All tourist attractions and tours within walking distance too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Wharf Inn was our hotel in San Francisco for 4 days, this hotel’s location is great if you want to be in the centre of the happenings at the Pier, it is a few steps away from the main road close to numerous upmarket, budget and fast food restaurants, shops and about 200meters from Pier 39, a close walk to the Cable car start point, where the Golden Gate bridge view is spectacular. If you want to get to the centre of town you would need transport. It is also close to a tram stop and the hop on hop off bus stop. The rooms are very spacious and well laid out for any type of traveller. Free parking for guests and the staff are helpful with free coffee in reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The location was truly amazing. We walked around at Fishermans Wharf at night and went sightseeing with the red open-top buses by day. There is also walking distance to the Alcatraz ferry. The room was clean, but a little bit small. You can hear the ouside traffic and people pretty good, as well as you neighbors. Very helpful lady at the front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Considering we would be sightseeing all day and only needed a bed and a shower , this hotel done the job.
It is old and worn a little , certainly time for a update , but for the price , you couldn't go wrong.
It's just a shame there is so much noise at the store across the road at night ,from all the homeless people that seem to congregate there and yell to each other ...
Then you have the early morning trucks delivering , or picking up waste bins or street sweeping , and when i say early , i mean 5am.
You can hear just about everything , there is no sound proofing i'm sure ! so do yourself a favour , ask for a rear room .... the view is not worth all the noise !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and weren't disappointed with that aspect. I stayed here about 25 years ago and it has definitely aged since that time. Management needs to consider replacing stained chairs and pillows. Ick. No air conditioning but ceiling fan did the job. Would most a different place next time in SF.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,057 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
4,019 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing