We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #123 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The location was truly amazing. We walked around at Fishermans Wharf at night and went sightseeing with the red open-top buses by day. There is also walking distance to the Alcatraz ferry. The room was clean, but a little bit small. You can hear the ouside traffic and people pretty good, as well as you neighbors. Very helpful lady at the front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    301
    190
    59
    42
See reviews for
203
295
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Considering we would be sightseeing all day and only needed a bed and a shower , this hotel done the job.
It is old and worn a little , certainly time for a update , but for the price , you couldn't go wrong.
It's just a shame there is so much noise at the store across the road at night ,from all the homeless people that seem to congregate there and yell to each other ...
Then you have the early morning trucks delivering , or picking up waste bins or street sweeping , and when i say early , i mean 5am.
You can hear just about everything , there is no sound proofing i'm sure ! so do yourself a favour , ask for a rear room .... the view is not worth all the noise !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and weren't disappointed with that aspect. I stayed here about 25 years ago and it has definitely aged since that time. Management needs to consider replacing stained chairs and pillows. Ick. No air conditioning but ceiling fan did the job. Would most a different place next time in SF.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was the cheapest rate we could find at the Fisherman's Wharf area so we were skeptical. What a great surprise!

Pros: clean beds, clean bathroom and towels, comfortable room, convenient walking location to FW & Embarcadero, Ghiradelli Square and other spots via a short cab ride. Free parking and wi-fi. Best rates. Friendly staff and helpful. Parking close to rooms so you don't have to haul luggage far and elevator access for second floor guests.

Cons: blow dryer, iron and board are available, but you must go ask front desk for them. Make sure to request them when you check in so you don't have to go back down. Water temperatures fluctuate so be careful when you start the shower- I had to adjust for a few minutes since the water initially came out ice cold before hot. No HBO or premium channels/movies.

Things to consider: not a four star hotel so don't expect flat screen tv, modern decor, nor a coolness factor. Basic and a little outdated, but still worth every penny. Towels a bit thin and shower curtain a bit broken but still worked. Older motel-style inn with outside room access only.

Overall: Happy to have stayed!

Face: Happy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkat2986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night because of the location. From the reviews I read I was honestly worried about staying here and considered changing hotels but for the price and free parking and location we figured it's only 1 night lets chance it. I'm glad we did.

The hotel is nothing fancy but the front desk was helpful and the property is really in a good location. It felt safe because of their cameras around and the front desk is across the elevator. I also liked that you need your room key to call the elevator.

Our room was basic but actually bigger than the room we had at the Handlerly Union Square. First time I've been in a hotel that had a big old tv. Most have flat screens but no big deal as I wasn't there to watch tv. We didn't have a view which would have been nice but for us we don't stay in the room much so it didn't matter. I believe our room had an a/c control but I wasn't sure how to work it so just set it at 70 and turned on the ceiling fan which made the room comfortable.since SFO is normally cool anyway. The location is across from a 7-11 and when you leave the hotel and walk toward the wharf you end up at Boudins Bakery. A short walk will take you to Pier 39 (sea lions) and a walk the other way takes you to Giradelli Square. This was a great central location. They also offer free coffee and hot cocoa in the lobby all day which was a nice added touch.

I'd stay here again if I wanted a hotel near Fishermans wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparks nv
Level Contributor
205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We always love staying here.. This time we had the penthouse. Check the rates for different times of the year. Rates can double in all San Fran properties during certain months. The access to public transport is great, 2 blocks from a cable car, half block from street car and bus. We get the 3 day passport pass good for unlimeted travel on Muni. The Embarcardo has free maps of transportation system. The hotel is basic, not a lot of frills. but, parking is free and the rooms are clean. We love to go to Boudin's in the a.m. for fresh bread for breakfast. Only half block from wharf. The penthouse has a full kitchen. It's roughly the cost of two rooms, has 2 bedrooms, living, kitchen combo, and 2 decks. We love it here.

Room Tip: if you arrive early they will usually let you go ahead and park. Once you check out you can leave y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddlestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great location, Hotel is very basic, we had a hand-I-cap room. The room was clean and staff was friendly. No added cost to park on site. Balcony rooms facing the street are a must, great view of the bay, but a little noisy. Rooms have fans overheard, no A/C (not needed). Walk to Fisherman's Wharf and other sites. City tour buss and street cars half block away.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing street are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#41 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing