We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
sparks nv
Level Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We always love staying here.. This time we had the penthouse. Check the rates for different times of the year. Rates can double in all San Fran properties during certain months. The access to public transport is great, 2 blocks from a cable car, half block from street car and bus. We get the 3 day passport pass good for unlimeted travel on Muni. The Embarcardo has free maps of transportation system. The hotel is basic, not a lot of frills. but, parking is free and the rooms are clean. We love to go to Boudin's in the a.m. for fresh bread for breakfast. Only half block from wharf. The penthouse has a full kitchen. It's roughly the cost of two rooms, has 2 bedrooms, living, kitchen combo, and 2 decks. We love it here.

Room Tip: if you arrive early they will usually let you go ahead and park. Once you check out you can leave y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddlestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    314
    195
    59
    42
See reviews for
210
305
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great location, Hotel is very basic, we had a hand-I-cap room. The room was clean and staff was friendly. No added cost to park on site. Balcony rooms facing the street are a must, great view of the bay, but a little noisy. Rooms have fans overheard, no A/C (not needed). Walk to Fisherman's Wharf and other sites. City tour buss and street cars half block away.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing street are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA MONICA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My sister had to cancel a non refundable reservation, and the manager Michael agreed to cancel the reservation for a small fee. This is why dealing with small businesses is better than dealing with large corporations. Other large hotels or businesses will never refund a non refundable fee. Thank you - Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great location of hotel right by Fisherman's Wharf. Walked to many sites right from hotel. Ask for "Balcony" rooms, I think 210-215 and 310-315. Our view was of a large white brick building and there was no air circulating or breeze. Room was very warm with no air conditioning. No blow dryer. Beds very comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly as well as guests.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony/view rooms. Stay away from back rooms that face building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay in San Francisco and the Wharf Inn is in a perfect location. The fact you had to swipe your accesscard to use the lift or stairs was extra security for us and our children. We stayed in a "suite" as we had 2 adults and 3 children but still found this very small. 2 large bed and a creaky fold out couch. Plenty of storage for our clothes and a great shower, however no fridge or beverage facilites. You could make a coffee or hot chocolate in the foyer but would have been happier being able to make a coffee without having to leave my room in the mornings. We had a external corner room which was terribly noisy and we had to ring the front desk to ask another guest to turn their TV down as we could hear it through the floor (our room didnt have any others adjoining. I would probably look for another place to stay if I was to go again, but the location was very hard to beat. 2 min walk to Fishermans Wharf, 5 min walk to the trolley cars, a Supermarket 1 block away....

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the streets unless you can sleep through the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennosupermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Is the worst experience I have ever had. We were going to stay just for one night, the location great but once we enter the our room we saw that our pillows had some blood stains, we call front desk and the guy said that it could not be true that the room was cleaned before we came and that if we want new sheets we should come to pick it up at the front desk. I told him that the least they could do is bring new sheets and change it, but he was really rude, almost yelling at me,and insist that the room was clean and he was not going to bring it. My husband went to the front desk to pick the sheets and the guy star yelling at him saying the if we want a five star hotel we should go to the Sheraton, my husband took the sheets and came up, then this guy came into our room with this actitude to check if the pillows had something, and said that it might be that one of the employees cut themselves while changing the sheets (again with his rude actitude). He told us that we could leave the hotel if we want but we only have 5 minutes to decide. We payed $200 for one nigh in that hotel, we left the hotel immediately and will never come back, a customer should never be treat like that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tatiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Basic motel but plenty of room in our room with two queen beds. It was a bit noisy with all of the traffic, partiers, etc, but since we were only there for one night, it wasn't bad. The location is great. It is a short block to Fisherman's Wharf. The desk clerk was very helpful and provided a map and orientation for the major sights. We were happy that they allowed us to keep our car in their lot after checkout because we had a late flight - gave us more time to sightsee (this is one of the very few hotels that have free parking which saved us about $40). Note: we found a cheaper rate on hotels.com than directly with the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing