We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to Fisherman's Wharf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #126 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Redlands, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to Fisherman's Wharf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location, location, location! Oh, and free parking! Those were the positives of this hotel. Not a terrible place, since when you are in San Francisco, your room should just be used for sleeping. Our room had a view of the back wall of the building next door. No AC, but there was a ceiling fan. But, if you want to be close to Fisherman's Wharf, this is a well-located hotel. Hair dryers are available, but you have to get them at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENNIFER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    294
    185
    59
    40
See reviews for
198
286
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I choose to stay here because of the location close to everything we were doing - Fisherman's wharf, the Piers, Golden Gate Bridge, and Alcatraz. In that case it was perfect. However the hotel is very old, run down. Don't expect a big room. We booked a 2 queen room with a cot. So for 5 of us we were cramped. They ran out of room for parking, however made an exception to allow us to park in one of the handicapped stalls out on the street. Our room had a water view but also had a view of all the street vagrants. The city collects garbage through the night and very early in the morning. So between loud people and traffic you don't get much sleep. Water flow was very sad in the shower and lamps were burnt out. No air conditioning which can create poor air flow in room. I recognize that this is one of the cheapest hotels in San Fran by the piers but considering is was still pricey to stay here I was hugely disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms all enter from outside walkways. If you don't want lots of people walking by your room boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent four days in San Francisco and wanted to stay near The Wharf, Little Italy and China Town. Most places in the area are very expensive, around $300 per night for a room with a king bed. The Wharf in was almost half the price and a decent hotel. Since we were on the go non-stop while there, we didn't need anything fancy and this place fit the bill. If you book more than 30 days in advance you get an additional discount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The front desk clerk was very rude and disrespectful. I was extremely displeased with his service and would NEVER stay here again! If I wouldn't have lost out on my money for our stay I would have cancelled this hotel and stayed elsewhere! The main reason I booked this hotel was for location, which is fantastic, but that is the only positive thing going for this hotel. Once in our room we discovered fried shrimp underneath one of the beds along with someone's tennis shoe. Not sure how long it's been there, but that is disgusting! The room smells like a musty locker room, I'm surprised that smell overpowers the shrimp under the bed. Such a disappointment!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meems1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Would not recommended this hotel at all. Although the location is great the customer service is poor, room dirty and very loud at night. The walls are paper thin could hear people in the room next in the lavatory. For the money stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Maybe stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Mature couple. Location perfect, close to wharf, trams, buses and cable cars. Rooms clean and well presented. All at your door step. FREE PARKING. Bed comfortable. Nice view. Great restaurants close by. Do not waste money on the upmarket hotels because you spend most of your time sightseeing and just enjoy the city. The gentleman at the reception was a joy, helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had spent time in SF, though never near Fisherman's Wharf. I picked this motel because of 3 things: reasonable price, free parking and near Fisherman's Wharf and my meetings. The Fisherman's Wharf area is disappointing: gritty and dilapidated with not much to see. The Wharf Inn was perfectly adequate for my 3 things. I also found the staff completely polite and accommodating when I asked if I could park there early before I could check in and late after I checked out.

The motel is l shaped. My room was toward the back of the l and quiet enough. No glamor but not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanKayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#33 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#39 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing