We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and cons”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
Ranked #113 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights mid week. The hotel it's self is close to most things and a 5 min walk to the wharfs.

The room we had was on the 3rd level facing mason street. The rooms are not sound proofed so we could hear all the delivery trucks, street sweepers and homeless people all through the night.

Bathroom is very out dated and extremely noisy.

Beds were comfy and hotel staff were pleasant. It was an added bonus the free wifi and parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulTroySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    331
    200
    60
    43
See reviews for
223
314
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Wharf Inn for 3 nights. It is in a great location, walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and other piers (including the pier the Alcatraz tours run from) and even downtown San Fran.

The room was spacious and perfect for what we wanted however the carpet had just been cleaned and hadn't dried properly making the entire stay feel like a sauna. The noise from the street was also quite loud and the beds were a little too soft for our preferences.But we didn't complain to be moved, and it didn't affect our overall time in San Fran. I probably wouldn't stay again, maybe try somewhere else. But it was a good price and not every stay is the same.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to not have a room on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozBozAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel, and we booked it as it advertised free parking. When we checked in the receptionist tried to charge us $15 a day for parking! I explained we only booked this hotel on the assumption that parking was free. After checking the date we booked the receptionist gave us the parking pass free of charge. Apparently from the 1st January 2013 they have implemented a $15 surcharge a day for parking. If this had been implemented while we were looking to book we would have gone back to the Radisson one block over which was a great experience and I would recommend.
Back to the Wharf Inn, we were given a room on the third floor that faced Mason Street more or less above where check in was. The room had one bed and the standard type of bathroom you come to expect of this type of Motel, dated and in need of refurbishment. There was signs in the bathroom stating that the hot water may fluctuate, though what the sign should have read was 'hot water will fluctuate' ! Was not a happy bunny! The worst experience started when we come back from a local restaurant ready for a good nights sleep. The noise from the street was never ending and the windows done nothing to cushion the sounds that where coming from outside. Then the neighbours kept opening there balcony door every 10 mins to have a smoke, which drifted into our room through the vents, and the noise the door made opening and closing was astronomical, it was like opening the balcony door in our own room. This went on until 2:30am! Above us was the penthouse and every time they were in we could hear there every move. The worst noise was when anyone either side or above ran their shower, it was an unbelievable sound reverberating through our room.
All in all, this was the worst room I have ever stayed in, in the respect of trying to get a good nights sleep. So to summarise, great location, you'll have to pay for parking, you won't sleep to well, and even if you do request a non smoking room you could end up inhaling second hand smoke still! Choose the Radisson, or try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is perfect for fishermans wharf, Alcatraz Island, and so many other sights. The hotel is old but clean and comfortable. We were a party of 4 adults and although away from the street we were awoken every night by the rubbish bins being emptied - nightmare! Would we stay here again? No there are other places nearby for the same price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemount
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a about location!! The room is average in a whole. The staff is great very helpful! It is great location to visit the fisherman's Wharf it's right across street. walking distance to Alcatraz Pier, about a 15 minute walk to china town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantompotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

You couldn't get much closer to fishermans wharf. 2 adults and 2 girls aged 17 and 10 in a room with two queen beds. Very clean and secure, 7/11 across the street and easy walking distance to attractions. Free parking, wifi and hot chocolates were a bonus. Only thing was no fridge in room but there was an ice machine on bottom floor. Would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Wharf Inn Dec. 6, 7 and 8. Based on other travelers comments on Trip Advisor, I requested a room on the 3rd floor, in the back. The only noise came from adjoining rooms. While visiting San Francisco, you only need a place to park your rental car (it's free here) and a place to sleep. This is a "No Frills" hotel. No in room safe, AC or mini fridge. A hair dryer was provided by the front desk for our entire stay, coffee is fresh and available at reception. The Wharf Inn is located close to everything at Fisherman's wharf. You will not need a car while you are here. Public transportation is plentiful and easy to use, Plenty of choices and everything is close to this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jj_schmidt1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#107 of 227 in San Francisco
3,896 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Property: The Wharf Inn
Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1209
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing