We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #74 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 19, 2010

During a busy weekday, the staff and management of the St. Francis went out of their way to make me and my family (including 3 little ones) comfortable. Although the historic building and great location is enough to ensure vacation memories that will last for decades, the incredible hospitality extended by the St. Francis staff creates unexpected memories that will last forever.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank lanceludman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,443 - 4,449 of 5,767 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Checked in and were given a grand deluxe room in the traditional tower. Although it was charming the bathroom was very small, and the hallways reminded my kids of the movie The Shining. We then were graciously given another room in the newer tower on the 28th floor with a spectacular view. The room was large enough to accomodate a cot for my teenage son and 2 double beds. The beds were very comfortable. and we heard no noise either from outside or other rooms.
The hotel was sold out and packed in the lobby at all times. The elevators also seemed to take a while to arrive, but the view was worth the wait. The concierges were very knowledgable and helpful, as were all the staff we encountered.
This is a huge hotel so every time we left to go out it took a while to get to the lobby and maneuver through the throngs of people. If you are looking for a boutique hotel experience this is not it. However, we enjoyed staying there and the location cannot be beat! I would stay there again without hesitation the next time i'm in San Fransisco.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likestotravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The hotel is kind of old, but it is located in the Union Square, herat of the city.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank AlineGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I have traveled all over the world, and the Westin Saint Francis remains one of my very top choices of all hotels. Whenever I have the opportunity to stay in San Francisco, I stay at the Saint Francis if at all possible. The location is fabulous -- you are right in the heart of the city, near wonderful shopping and great restaurants and clubs and also within walking distance of many businesses. The hotel itself is gorgeous. The lobby has a timeless elegance, and many of the rooms have awe-inspiring views of the city. The workout room is also first-rate. The staff have always been extremely welcoming and helpful. I am a Platinum member of Starwood, and for just about every stay, I have been up-graded to beautiful rooms. Staying at the Saint Francis makes my stays in San Francisco very special.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank FrequentTraveler1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I don't live far from San Francisco. However, as I spent two full days jam-packed with meetings in downtown SF, I decided to crash at the Westin for one night. The location is good for those who have meetings around Union Square or Mascone Center. However, it's a little far from the core of the Financial District (FiDi). For dinner options, it's best to go to Russian Hill, Nob Hill, Marina, Castro, or Mission for restaurants frequented by locals. Eateries around Union Square are mainly for tourists.

I stayed in the new wing (not facing Union Square). The rooms were spacious and seemed to have been recently renovated. Unlike most hotels in the US, the bathroom was clean without mildew and the dreaded musty smell!!! Didn't try any hotel food and thus cannot comment. There's nothing to stop strangers from entering hotel elevators and so be sure to lock your valuables. Thankfully, the in-room safe was big enough for my medium-sized laptop.

Parking at the hotel is expensive ($50+tax+tip). However, it's a lot cheaper to park in the underground lot across the street right below Union Square ($32). Of course, traffic around Union Square or downtown SF in general is horrendous. It took me almost 30 minutes to reach the 280 on-ramp. So, use BART if possible. Powell Street station is close to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doggieluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Francis_Responder, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

We appreciate your time in writing about your stay during your business trip to San Francisco. Public transit is definitely recommended for our guests, when possible, otherwise we do offer valet parking with unlimited in/out privileges in our garage. We are glad to hear that your room met your expectations and we were able to provide a safe and secure stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel is positioned in a perfect location with union square right in front of you and right in front of all the shopping outlets with the cable car stops just a couple paces away.

The service we received was great and staff was very friendly including Yolanda the sales manager who picked up our breakfast tab just goes to show how customer orientated the staff are.

Our room was very cozy and spacious only problem was that we was meant to have a kingsized bed but was given a twin room. We didn't mind soo much as it gave us a chance 2 spread out and have a comfy sleep.

Our room was on the 31st floor and as the elevators are located outside the hotel, it gives you a great view of the city as you ride up to the floor.

The bathroom was very clean and had a twin headed shower that I absolutely loved and couldn't get enough off.

The hotel provides a charged internet service but free if you need to print out boarding passes which was great.

There are also a few shops located in the hotel along with bars and restaurant.

Highly recommend the Westin St. Francis.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Francis_Responder, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

We are delighted you were able to stay at the Westin St Francis during your trip to San Francisco. With our location on Union Square, we are certainly within easy walking distance to shopping, sightseeing, and many other must-see attractions. Our Heavenly Bath is a Westin signature product and certainly provides a renewing element when returning to your room after a day of seeing the sites. Thank you for taking time to write about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Great location ... walk out the door and jump on the cable cars, or hit the Union Square shopping scene.
Elegant hotel ... the place drips with history and elegance. Clean, great views, flat screen tv's in the rooms, and the glass elevators are a contemporary lift.
The staff ... we had a very arduous day dealing with United airlines ... and the check-in reception handled by Maya was absolutely terrific. Her timing, smile and proactive measures to ensure we were well looked after during our stay on the property was so very perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucky210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,982 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,565 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,404 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing