We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“San Francisco Gem!”
Reviewed October 15, 2005

We stayed at the Westin one night for our friend's wedding. I made a reservation through the Rooms Reservations Manager- and he was wonderful about a great rate, and he attempted to upgrade the room. HOWEVER- at check-in- the front desk agent decided to void the upgrade to speed us through the line! I was very disappointed that he never even asked us if we'd like to wait for the upgraded room!! When we arrived at our room on the 11th floor, the door was OPEN! The room was clean and ready for us, but it was VERY disconcerting that the door to our room would be OPEN! The room was nice- the bathroom was typical San Francisco- VERY petite! The chandelier in the sleeping room was a nice touch.. The "heavenly" bed was a little less than heavenly- but it did the trick. For the location in San Francisco, if I was a tourist, this would be an impressive place to stay- but being a local, I expected a bit more!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammigop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    1,872
    963
    463
    266
See reviews for
1,076
1,640
271
1,637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2005

We booked through Westin 800 number and were assured a "nice" room. When we arrived we were shocked at the room. Small, smelly and plain. After arguing with the front desk they put us in a smoking room in the new tower. My brother stayed the same time and had a larger room in the old section. The room was very old and in serious need of renovation. For what they charge you can do much better in San francisco.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robpco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2005

Stayed for 3 nights in San Francisco. This hotel is on union square which is an excellent location, with cable cars stopping just outside. All staff were friendly, but sometimes felt a little underdressed in shorts especially in grand lobby area. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed and shower being "heavenly" were heavenly!
The lifts were like a theme park ride, after first 4 floors you could see outside through glass, i felt a little sick until i got used to it. Went up to top floor to take photos of views.
Would stay in this hotel again when in San Francisco.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 30, 2005

On arriving, I inadvertantly joined the wrong check-in queue - I was told that the queue I was in was for Starwood 'Preferred Guests' only. Am I alone in thinking that for $330 per night, all guests should be 'Preferred'?

No help was offered with our (substantial) luggage - in fact, apart from the efficient and friendly receptionist and the charming waitress in the cocktail lounge (by the main entrance) staff were a bit full of themselves.

Dirty wine glasses left in the room by housekeeping & petty charges were a main annoyance - for example, the room service menu carries a service charge - fair enough, but on top of that they then whack on a 'delivery charge' - what is a delivery charge if not a service charge?

The room was superb - on the 28th floor overlooking Union Square. Overall, the hotel was aesthetically beautiful. I would suggest that the management take a trip to Caesars Palace in Las Vegas to find out what service actually means. I would also recommend you try the Manhattans - the best I have ever tasted!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 27, 2005

We stayed at St. Francis for 5 nights. We booked the hotel in Europe and the price is really okay if you book it at a traveller office in Europe and not online on there homepage. You get much cheaper rates.

The hotel is directly on the union square. It is easy to go to fishermans warf with the cable car, to walk to china town, italian town or coit tower. Or simply go shopping to market street.

The room is a little bit small if you want to have only one bed for two. The bathroom was old and not that nice. It does not fit to the rest of the room.

We were for 3 weeks in the USA and San Francisco was our last stop. We had a rental car and the bigest problem at the St. Francis for me was the expansive parking garage. I think a hotel like the St. Francis should have a parking garage for free for there guests. The garage for one day with in and out costs 44 Dollars. Anyway the parking in San Fran is expansive but at the St. Francis its much more expansive. So if you ever come by car to the St. Francis: Park at the Sutter-Stockten Garage. It's only a 3 minutes walk from the St. Francis and has cheaper rates.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2005

We were a bit hesitant at first with this hotel after reading a few reviews. However, we loved the hotel, and our overall stay there. We had 7nts in the new tower block with a delux suite. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a great view (20 floors up). The lifts were great, every morning stepping into the glass elevator with a 180degree view accross the city was uplifting. The lifts also plays music!
We found the location perfect, very close to shopping and transport needs.
The hotel has a lot of history which we were fascinated by, and the gift shop even sold a history guide to the hotel for a few dollars!
We had nothing bad to say about the place appart from the front desk- checking in was very slow. However, after that no complaints at all. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JacksonLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2005

I stayed at the St. Francis this past week attending a conference that was at the hotel. Even though I didn't have much choice on hotels, I still checked out the reviews here in advance. Fortunately (for me!) my experience was better than average, although I still don't think I'd stay there again. I was in the old section of the hotel and had a large room on the seventh floor. The beds and shower are fantastic and it's clear that money has been spent in these cosmetic areas. The down side was that my room was somewhere by the garbage collection area so I was awakened very early every morning. The hotel is a grand old hotel and does show wear and tear.....and could definitely use a cosmetic upgrade. But it was also sold out so I guess they're not terribly motivated to change. I had some problems with the internet connection and the help desk supporting the hotel was excellent. Also wasn't charged for the internet connection..although that could have been a billing mistake that will show up later. Bottom line recommendation: the hotel's in a great area, but there are definitely a lot of other choices to try!

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank na07950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
3,222 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,641 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing