We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and charming, with the right touch of modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Historic and charming, with the right touch of modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

In San Francisco for business, I couldn't have been happier with this hotel.

The Westin announces itself well before you get to it as it towers above Union Square. From the outside, the front building of the hotel - which is the original dating back to 1904 - looks pretty majestic, followed by an even larger tower behind it, where the newer rooms are.

The lobby has more than a touch of the history that this hotel has been through, including everything from old-world chandeliers to glass case displays of old hotel restaurant menus. Adjacent to the front lobby is a much more modern and sleek sitting area featuring the entrance to an equally modern and sleek restaurant - Michael Mina - which looked like a place to be seen. All told, you feel like you're in a place that's both old San Francisco and hip.

My room was maybe a touch nicer than the standard Westin I normally stay in, with slightly sharper and more modern fixtures and design, a very attractive bathroom and shower, and a little larger than I usually get.

I liked the location in that it's literally in the heart of Union Square, and is near to a number of restaurants and areas you're likely to want to see. It isn't, however, right next to some of the other nice areas to hang out in - Russian Hill, North Beach, or the water etc - so if you're looking for those areas specifically, this may not be your choice. But Union Square has plenty to offer itself.

All in all, I'd certainly stay here again, and I'd recommend it for both couples and for business.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wise2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,845
    1,771
    918
    451
    251
See reviews for
983
1,554
262
1,569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

I love staying in Westin Hotels and this one was no exception. The heavenly bed and bath are to DIE for!! The staff was friendly, lobby is beautiful. You will feel like a million bucks when you stay here. The trolley is right outside your door, you can walk to Macy's and Nordstrom's and all the best shopping. I'm not sure what all the negative reviews are about. I got a great deal here over Memorial Day weekend and cannot wait to go back! Beautiful. : )

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2005

I don't know what everyone is complaining about! It sounds like maybe they all had the same lousy room(??) Anyway, I stayed here for one night last month with my best friend and her husband. We had a tower room on one of the top floors, with an absolutely gorgeous view. In fact, the view was so great that instead of going bar hopping that night, we decided to raid the mini-bar and enjoy our room instead.

The bell hop who brought our luggage was extra friendly and courteous. We told him of our plans to stay in that night and have some drinks - so he shows back up 15 minutes later with a gorgeous, silver ice bucket (not the standard type that everyone gets in their room) filled with mixers and a couple of limes for our drinks. Very impressive!

We ordered Bloody Mary's and room service the next morning - everything was delicious and delivered promptly. Sure it was expensive, but what do you expect? Besides, you only live once.

We called the front desk to request a razor - 5 minutes later there's a knock at the door. We were given not one, but two razors, as well as some packets of nice shave gel. It's these little extra touches that we really appreciated.

Only complaint would be the front desk clerk was very snooty and unfriendly which is NOT the best first impression to make. The 3 of us commented on how beautiful the lobby was and the clerk seemed irritated by it! Oh well - his problem, not ours.

Please give the St. Francis a chance and enjoy your stay in S.F.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SLOJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2005

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Westin, this being part of a three centre trip to the US. I was a little dubious as to what to find after reading some of the reviews that the hotel was worn and shabby. However, we were certainly not disappointed with our room which had two very comfortable double beds, a small study, walk in wardrobe and bathroom. It could perhaps do with a little 'sprucing up' in parts but we were quite happy with it. Our stay there was made extra special after meeting two well known English sports stars who were also staying there, Martin Johnson and David James, so if it is good enough for them it was more than good enough for us. Location is ideal.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

We had reservations for two nights. We had called ahead to the front desk (several times) to ask that the rooms (1 king, one with 2 doubles) be either connecting or next to each other because we were travelling with our kids. We were assured that we had connecting rooms booked, and that if that didn't work out the rooms would at least be next door to each other. When we checked in we were told the hotel was oversold and there were no rooms remotely close to each other. So, ok, we were ok with that, and took the rooms. Then we were told that each room had two doubles, no king. Sorry, no kings available. Hmf. Ok, we were going to be nice -- we took the rooms. Then the desk guy starts going on about how he could put us in another hotel for one night, with connecting rooms, and then move us back to the Westin for the second night. No, we weren't interested in that. Well, he says, you know that technically "under the rules" a reservation at the Westin St. Francis isn't ACTUALLY a reservation at the Westin; they can substitute another hotel. No, we said, we didn't know that, and we didn't think that was a very good way to establish customer satisfaction. (At this point we're standing at the desk, with the keys in our hands, having accepted that they don't have the rooms we wanted. He's talking anyway.) The desk guy gets more agitated, and is saying that yes, technically they can move us, and blah blah. So ok ... we just take the keys and go upstairs. The rooms smell so strongly of orange spray deoderizer that we just went back downstairs and checked out.

This is not a great Westin.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

Just returned from a stay at the Westin St. Francis....it was a great experience from check-in to departure. We arrived in SFO on an early flight and arrived at the hotel at around 9:30am. The very pleasant woman at checkin gave us our room immediately, (which we hadn't expected). We stayed in the Tower section and it was a lovely and comfortable room.... the glass elevator was a big hit with our two boys and none of us ever tired of the amazing views of the city. The concierge was very polite and helpful. You absolutely can't beat the location, with the cable cars stopping right outside the door, and an amazing array of shops, restaurants, and department stores either just across the street or within a few minutes walk. The hotel has a wonderful history and it is just alot of fun to stay in such a venerable old hotel, and imagine how it must have been back in the early 1900s. It's a beautiful hotel, and a great place to stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank widgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2005

A very large property, modern design rooms but little details missing, had to ask for Bell captain to open mini bar as reception did not provide key, or map of local area or any info on hotel. Dirty mirrors and windows. I prefered The Palalce and the Rex

Helpful?
5 Thank Jefharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#91 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing