We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location - pay the extra for the new block” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square to your Saves list
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #74 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location - pay the extra for the new block”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We booked this hotel through a travel agent as we knew nothing about San Francisco. The location is brilliant. The sense of being part of SF history is great too. Our first room smelt a bit odd, musty. We unpacked and my son noticed the carpet in the closet was wet. I tried not to let it bother me and went for a walk, but when we returned, i realised that the toilet cistern must be leaking into the closet. It was getting late and my children were very tired. The front desk were great. We were moved that night to a parlour room of a suite in the old building, which showed how lovely the old building can be if you are lucky or pay extra, and the following day were moved to the new block which is almost like a totally different hotel, really comfortable, clean, modern. I would stay here again, but only if I knew I would be in the new tower.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairewilkinsonlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! I regret to hear of the initial issues you experienced with your first guest room but am happy that our front desk team was able to turn it around and fix the problem. We have just completed a full guest room renovation in our Tower building and will be moving on to refresh the guest rooms in the Landmark very shortly. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    1,587
    838
    409
    226
See reviews for
846
1,402
239
1,395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful 5 days at the Westin. The staff, especially the lobby host Marichu Alvarez, couldn't do enough to make our stay any more enjoyable. The hotel is centrally located so that shopping is nearby, good restaurants and transit. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The landmark rooms are older and smaller than the tower rooms. We found them to be more than adequat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your kind review with us! I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that Marichu was able to make your stay exceptional. I will be sure to share your compliments with her and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Westin chain in the USA is terrible. Not a 4 star according to world standard. First room in old building smelt like mould and was tiny. For $385 per night single room that's unacceptable. They moved me to another room 'in old building'. I booked this hotel on booking.com that only shows pictures of new building rooms. Very disappointed!! Only good thing is location. Manager is not customer focused and provides a low level of customer service. He does not solve issues to an acceptable standard I would expect from SPG group member hotel. Or is SPG just a sham!!!

Cafe area small no natural light, very small selection food and drink.

Room Tip: Ask for new building rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your feedback with us. I regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations and would like to further understand your experience. Please private message us at StFrancisGM@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here for Bay to Breakers 2014. Convenient access to bart for transit to the starting line. Valet parking on site, which is always a bonus in the city. Good proximity to Union Square for shopping, too, if that's your thing. We had a corner room on an upper floor, which allowed great city views. Room was chic, large, clean, and comfortable. Room service was prompt and tasty, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstormyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis as your destination hotel during Bay to Breakers! I am so pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for Bay to Breakers 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The location, the staff, the view, and the bed were all five stars. We had stayed here once before five years ago and were eager to return. The only downside is that we stayed in the remodeled portion of the hotel the first time and that room was more comfortable. The old world charm is definitely there in the older section, as are the views of Union Square, but I would opt for the modern side if I had the choice again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinwithbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you were able to experience both buildings during your visits with us. I am happy to share with you that as we have just completed a full guest room renovation of our Tower building and we will be moving over to a guest room refresh in our Landmark building very shortly! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

i've always wanted to stay here ever since i was young because i used to see this hotel on tv where Presidents and celebrities stay at. Stayed here last July 27-29 2014 for a work conference at Moscone Center. It's about a 10 min.walk to Moscone. If you stay in a Landmark room it means it the old part of the hotel and the rooms are small so is your bathroom but updated. The plus of staying in a Landmark room of the hotel is that you have the view of Union Sqaure! Some of the room fixtures ie the door knobs are beautiful antiques. Read the history of the hotel in the lobby, its very interesting. It's a great location but take note that it's only valet parking.
NOTE: if you are driving from Market up and you are on Powell St you can't make a left on Geary St between 7am to 10 pm to bring in your car. You have to keep driving up and make a right on Bush then right again on Stockton then right again to Geary to access the
valet parking!

Room Tip: Ask for the Landmark room facing Union Square for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RN2GO925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis hotel and for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to finally come see us and appreciated the vast history this hotel has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel is old, but the location is very central. San Francisco is a very walkable city. We walked to the Embarcardero, China Town, Little Italy, Castro, and Ashbury. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crysania_mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your experience with us. San Francisco is very much indeed a very walkable city, and I am glad to hear that you were able to see and experience many different neighborhoods within San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#30 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,715 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#38 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,250 reviews
Union Square
Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Squar...
#97 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,242 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing