We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thrills, unless you like the brown interior, descent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #71 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No thrills, unless you like the brown interior, descent hotel.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Located in the center of this charming city. Stayed in the high rise part of the hotel on the preferred guest level. Room looked clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful concierge. For tourist; go out of the hotel to explore this wonderful city, the hotel seems to be more equipped for business travelers, if you take the price they charge you for a beer at the hotel bar… oh, and be careful after checking in, and you are too early to go into your room because it’s not ready jet…check on your return to pick up your keys, if you still have the same room that was promised to you when you checked inn, in our case the room with king size bed was suddenly changed onto a different booking, it all worked out, but it took some time. Very kind of the front desk lady to give us one day of complementary wifi access…. Which in my opinion should not be charged for in the first place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rworlduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Westin St. Francis. We are glad to hear you had a friendly and helpful concierge and kind front desk lady! We appreciate the feedback on your check-in expereince. We will share this with the appropriate staff so they are aware for future. We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,946
    1,857
    953
    460
    260
See reviews for
1,050
1,626
270
1,631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Westin St. Francis is a "grand dame" of Union Square in San Francisco. It has everything including a great bar, restaurant and the perfect location.
The only trouble is that their "Landmark" (read "old") rooms are in great need of a refit. Considering that one is still paying upwards of $300 per night, an investment needs to be made very soon.
The service is still what you'd expect and it's in a perfect spot but, really - time to stop milking the reputation and spend a bit of money on the old girl.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the new section.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers a $5 off "green credit" if you choose to forgo housekeeping (sounds more like a play to make money as it costs a lot more than $5 to service a room but that's their deal.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We just completed a renovation of our entire Tower Building and we are planning to refresh the Landmark rooms again starting in Q1 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in a "View Room" as part of a tour group. Room was comfortable and well equiped except for the lack of storage space.....only 3 drawers for the entire room. Couldn't begin to unpack s there was no space. A minor inconvenience in an otherwise acceptable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z3gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis! Other than the lack of drawers in your room we are glad to hear you had a comfortable and well equipped stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed on the 19th floor, in the new tower, for 2 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good. The location is excellent for shopping and dining. What makes my rating less than 5/5 is the absence of complimentary internet in the rooms. Late in the evenings, the ground floor is full of shivering travellers checking their email in the drafty lobby. Boo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your comments are very important to us as we are constantly improving our services for our valued guests. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms clean and comfortable, and enjoyed our breakfast buffet and location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located right in the Union square, where everything starts. It doesn't feature a swimming pool, but it does have a fitness room. What I liked best was the rooftop restaurant, at the 32nd floor, because of the amazing view. Try to avoid the rooms right in front of the elevators, even if they have a view across the Union square, because you can hear everything that people talk while waiting. It's very uncomfortable. There is free wifi in the hotel lobby, where there is also a small Starbucks, ridiculously priced. Have in mind that one block away down the tram line from the hotel, there is a regular Starbucks with extended working hours.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BogdanGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for taking the time to share your comments with us. I would have to agree that our hotel is centered in a prime location and am glad you were able to take advantage of it and enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at the St. Francis for 2 nights for my husband's birthday weekend and the Giants game over Memorial weekend. I had reserved a king room in the old building overlooking Union Square thinking that it would be really nostalgic, and fun since I had not stayed here in 20 years. Turned out, it was just old and small... and stinky! We were greeted to a very small room with just one not-so-comfy chair other than the bed and a small desk with an office chair. There was a broken glass in the bathroom sink, which was quite an oversight on housekeeping's part. But the really bad part was that it just smelled moldy. The weekend was saved by the front desk, who very kindly relocated us to a room on the 21st floor in the new tower. I just simply asked for a larger room, and told them the smell was very unfortunate and we were moved to a larger room without any argument. When we exited the very secure elevator (you cannot use the elevator without a room key card that you must insert before you call an elevator, and it will only stop at your floor) there was an announcement that it was the Starwood member's floor, of which we are not members, so I do believe they upgraded us because the room was stunning! The windows bay out slightly so you have a 180 degree view... it was beautiful! We could see from the golden gate bridge all the way around to the edge of AT&T Park! The room had a nice seating area with 2 chairs and a table as well as a desk and chair. The small café in the lobby is well stocked with breakfast items and had great coffee! It also doubles as a bar... cocktails in the evening and coffee in the morning! We did not try the restaurant or room service. Check in and out was fast and efficient. I recommend the new tower...and maybe skip the nostalgia of old San Francisco. Thank you St. Francis!

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower. Ask for a floor above the 10th floor as the view is awesome. We also joined Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis on Union Square! I am so glad we were able to welcome you back after 20 years! I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your guest room in our Landmark building, but glad that was quickly remedied by our front desk staff. It sounds as though you overall enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were upgraded to the new tower facing Union Square, it was a beautiful room and we enjoyed it. We did get to see the old room, so glad we didn't get one of them. They are gloomy and small bathrooms.
The location is perfect. Lots of shops,cable car right outside your door, and plenty of restaurants.
We enjoyed it very much.
Great concierge service. Both men that helped us were friendly, gave us good print outs of where to go, made us reservations . Perfect!!
Staff on check in were also great and upgraded us to the tower room.
We are Starwood people, it is definitely a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for newer room in the tower.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can opt out of daily maid service and they give you a credit either Starwood points or money off of your room.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would definitely have to agree that the location of our hotel just cannot be beat and am glad that you enjoyed it. We pride ourselves in knowing that our staff are some of the best around and I am so happy to hear that our Concierge staff especially, left a wonderful impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,616 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
3,190 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,916 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing