We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“In the heart of San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was delighted with my stay at the Westin St Francis. Absolutely faultless. The staff were extremely helpful and professional. On check-in, although I had paid a reduced rate on booking.com, I explained that I was there for my birthday and was given a room with a Union Square view. In fact it was unavailable on my first night but I changed rooms on the second night for the rest of my week long stay.

The rooms were both huge, an enormous walk-in closet was useful for tidying away my bags. The bathroom was nicely decorated, the beds very comfortable. They were situated in the old building so there is a great sense of history and a lovely buzz as the lobby and bar were constantly full of people meeting up for a drink or bringing kids in to see the Christmas decorations.

The situation could not be better – Union Square with a cable car stop in front and all the department stores across the street.

I had only two gripes – wifi access is available in the lobby free and costs a whopping $15 a day in room which is a ridiculous sum of money – it would have cost me over $100 to remain connected. Also i used the concierge service several times, to find out about cinema times, to book a bus trip to Monterey and to book a shared taxi to the airport. Service was perfect, but my advice is forget about the taxi service – the car arrived late, the driver seemed to know SF even less well than I did as he drove around in circles trying to get to an address a couple of blocks away. Then we got stuck in a traffic jam and with the other people who were flying out to New Zealand we started to panic that we wouldn’t make check in. All regretted that we didn’t find another means of transport to SFO.

I hate to end on a negative note, so I’ll repeat again I loved everything else about this hotel and would love to stay there again if ever i go back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamdfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin St. Francis as your San Francisco oasis to celebrate your birthday week! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took full advantage of our services and amenities. Service quality is very important to us here at the St. Francis and I am truly delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations. Please come see us again, as we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,845
    1,771
    918
    451
    251
See reviews for
983
1,554
262
1,569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in both the old and new wings and loved the insight that we got into the history and personalities that came before us. The location was super convenient and nice to see the action on the square from our room in the old wing and the tip of the bridge from our room in the new wing. What would have been the cream on top was if we did get fussed over by the staff even though it was one of our birthdays and a special trip for us - we did let the folks at the spg booking know. I guess this is an aspect of Asian hospitality we are so used to that we kind of used in hotels of this class.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGP_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Location remains the best as trip was mix of business and pleasure. Could walk to conference and conference hotel --- and plenty of great places to meet clients near the hotel. As I recall, used to have to pay to go to the health club and now no longer need to - OK health club, but want to give a plus that one no longer needs to pay. First time I stayed in the Tower section (the newer one). Had high floor for SPG Gold Member and the view was great.

Room Tip: I prefer the Tower section versus the older part of the hotel that has smaller rooms and more limite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for being a valued Starwood Preferred Gold Member! We truly thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood brand and to the Westin St. Francis. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Westin gym has just recently been renovated and replaced with all new equipment for our guests to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The setting of this hotel – its early 1900s décor mixed with more modern amenities, and its fantastic location – made for a perfect quick weekend vacation for my family. We stayed in the old building that maintained vintage cues, and our room was ideal for us. It was clean, spacious, and the beds comfortable after a busy day's worth of trekking about. Will be back again. I heart SF.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the traditional guest room that you stayed in. We are celebrating our 110th anniversary this year and do capture a sense of beauty and historic charm that we are very proud of! We hope to welcome you back to the Westin St. Francis very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing if you love shopping and walking around very close to China town as well, and a short car drive away from the mission and other fun areas. Its staff is friendly and the hotel is very clean, the hotel rooms are an amazing size and very comfy to stay in. This is a historical hotel with lots of history and everything about it is great for a nice weekend stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for your kind words! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, as well as the services of our staff and hotel. We hope to welcome you back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

You cannot fault the location of this place right on Union square and within walking distance to pretty much everything. The rooms are well decorated and of a good standard although the basic room is very small. They have a cool little bar in the lobby and the gym is excellent. I went for a King room (booked on a travel agent website) and when I entered my room I noticed the bed was tiny. After calling reception I was told they would change my room and was moved to a King (no apology). I wonder if they do this to see if they can get away with it or if it was a true mistake - double check you get what you pay for!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin St. Francis! We truly are the perfect location right on Union Square with many different dining and shopping options. Our gym has been newly renovated as well and replaced with new equipment for our guests to enjoy. I am sorry to hear that there was a confusion with the booking of your bed size. I am sure it was an honest mistake as travel agencies are not entirely familiar with our many room types. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

location this hotel is perfect city centre (in front of union square), classic hotel well maintained, easy to catch tram go to fisherman wharf, interior lobby is classic style, the reception staff quiet helpful but concierge staff not helpful, we must take our baggage ourself. bedroom quiet large, comfy, clean n tidy,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Westin St. Francis! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are located in a prime San Francisco destination where nearly everything is very accessible. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our concierge staff, as this is not the level of service we provide. We hope you choose to see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#91 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing