We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location on Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Location, location, location on Union Square”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Very large, impersonal hotel with extraordinary location on Union Square arguably the most pleasant and convenient location for tourist activity in San Francisco. Rooms are very uneven ranging from very small to ample rooms in old wing to standard, reasonably sized rooms in Tower. Ambiance is dated, a grand dame that could use a little TLC and an injection of service oriented staff. Michael Mina Steakhouse is better than typical US hotel restaurant.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our location but disappointed you found the hotel impersonal. We are often praised for our great customer service and I am sorry you did not experience this while staying with us. We are currently in the process of renovated our Tower building. I Hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,867
    1,786
    924
    454
    257
See reviews for
1,000
1,570
262
1,583
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed in the tower part of the hotel. It was absolutely freezing (during the recent cold snap). The hallways were at about 50 degrees. It was during the holiday shopping season, so the lobby was jammed with people - and also freezing due to the people coming in and out. The high point was the restaurant (Oak Room) which was easily accessible and not overly crowded. The food in the lobby cafe was nothing to write home about. The beds were comfortable, and the room was outdated but clean. This place is very touristy due to the location, and I would prefer something more out of the way and less public. The valet parking attendants were great, but it can take log time to get your car out. Count on half an hour on weekends or in heavy traffic.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer part of the hotel - not the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Io79032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
756 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,409 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on business while in San Francisco. The location is EXCELLENT right at Union Square. You literally walk out your door and you are in the heart of the action.

The service was really great and everyone was friendly. I had a suite on the Club Floor (23rd floor) and the view was really incredible. (See photos I took).

The room was comfortable along with comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious with marble throughout. There was a desk to work and I got internet included free as I'm a Platinum guest.

I had room service one day as I didn't have time to go eat as I was in meetings all day and was starving. As typical in San Francisco... room service is quite expensive. I got a Kobe beef hamburger with fries and a coke and it was $40. It was good but ouch...that's pricey for a hamburger.

But other than that I can't complain at all. It was an enjoyable stay and all the other guests that I went to a work conference with all happened to be staying at the same hotel as well. I'd gladly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review and photos. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now this year.The location can not be beat and the rooms are classic. The hotel is ideal for meeting clients and friends and it right next to the BART station. The tourist sights can be reached easily from here via BART or cable car. I recommend this hotel for first-time visitors for ease of getting acclimated to the city. The staff try to please you.

Room Tip: Better rooms are not in the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The good: Location is truly the most valuable asset of this property and some of the staff is very good and responsive. One of the issues was resolved quickly by one of the hotel managers. A curtain was missing from my room. The housekeeping manager called immediately to remedy the situation. Not only was the issue resolved immediately but I also received an amenity. I was mostly impressed by my concierge, Raymond. Raymond was excellent and he made our trip memorable. He recommended excellent places to visit and helped us get everywhere around the city. He really went above and beyond the call of duty. He's the only reason why I would go back to the hotel.

The bad: The rooms at the tower are very VERY old and need major remodeling. Replacing carpets will not do. You need major construction in order to make the rooms fit in a 'luxury' category. The most important issue I had during my stay was the view of my room. I was on the 23 floor and I was told when I made the reservation that I was going to have direct view to Union Square. I didn’t and when I called to get my room changed, I spoke to Mohamed and he was unable to resolve the issue or assign me to another room, He claimed they were sold out but I saw hundreds checking-in after me. This was unfortunate because I was very specific when I made this reservation that view was very important to me. I had a reservation at Taj Campton Place and cancelled it to stay at Westin. They guaranteed the view and would have honor their commitment unlike Westin. My biggest frustration was mainly that the issue wasn’t solved or even tried to be solved by Mohamed. Being a Starwood Platinum member did not matter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and felt the housekeeping issue was dealt with fast and efficiently. The Grand Deluxe rooms in the Landmark building all have a view of Union Square. In the Tower building, we can not guarantee a Union Square view. I am sorry you were misinformed and that we were unable to move you to a different room. We appreciate your feedback and your loyalty as a Starwood Platinum member. We have just started our Tower renovation project. We expect to finish by March of next year. I hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've stayed here at least 5 times over the last year + while traveling for work. When I stay in the city, this is often my choice given the rates and convenience - I know that I can easily catch my company's shuttle to the Peninsula, or get to CalTrain or BART.

I've always stayed in the historic section of the hotel, so my comments are confined to that. I've always found the rooms to have great ceilings, good furnishing, and to be clean. While old, the furnishings haven't seemed run down. (Occasionally the carpet's a bit worn for a luxe property.)

The rooms that are either on Union Square or near an elevator bank can be loud with their respective ambient noises. If the room is an adjoining room, please note that noise-wise, you might as well be in the same room. (I've heard some, um, interesting things.)

While they're appreciably smaller, for the noise reason, I've come to love the tiny Queen-sized rooms. Perfect for my need of a comfy bed, shower and maybe a desk. I'm really not in the room for anything more than to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is classic San Francisco, it sits in the hub of union square with all the shops and restaurants San Francisco is famous for. Cable car stop right outside straight to fisherman's wharf. Service and in house dinning is unparalleled with bars and five star chef Michael minna.

Room Tip: I chose the old tower with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you truly enjoyed your stay and your time in San Francisco. I hope you stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4,397 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
3,074 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing