We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the ingredients add up to a memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All the ingredients add up to a memorable stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Westin St Francis Hotel is a monument to San Francisco history. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906, and is truly a monument to this city.

My wife & I were staying here to attend a conference. We chose this admittedly mainly because of the pre-eminent name of the St Francis in the history of SF.

But what is it like as a hotel? Well, we had a very smooth time here indeed. We were here on a mission (the conference); and the sign of a great hotel is that it will smooth out the minor but annoying and cumulative bumps of travel so you can concentrate on your main mission.

Check-in went smoothly, and we were at our room in no time. Unfortunately the room (on the 3rd floor) was directly opposite some rather rumbunctuous percussive buskers who showed no sign of letting up (although apparently they are mandated by the City to stop at 10pm); we asked to be moved elsewhere, and were promptly re-located to a very comfortable and much quieter spot on the 11th floor.

Through some electronic miracle, the minibar charges to your account as soon as you remove an item from the fridge. This was a bit disconcerting, as we just wanted a place to store the fixings for sandwiches. But no problem for the hotel - they installed another fridge!

The atmosphere in the hotel is truly something to soak up. We wandered the halls, sneaked a peek at the door of the room where Al Jolson died, and took afternoon tea in the bar off the foyer.

Staff were universally polite, friendly and helpful. The house staff seemed to have a 6th sense as to when was the best time to service the room, despite our departures and arrivals at odd random times.

The Hotel is, in its downtown location opposite Union Square, in a great spot. The big stores surrounding Union Square are minutes away. The Powell Street BART and MUNI stations are just 3 blocks to the south. The Powell Street cable car passes the front door (although it was always packed when I saw it pass by). Taxis are on tap to whisk you to any part of the city.

As you are right in the middle of downtown, there are plenty of other interesting places to eat (with due respect to the hotel - of itself an interesting spot to eat). There is also a supermarket 1 block away - good for basic groceries and breakfast ingredients, as well as pharmacy lines.

We had no car so I cannot comment on the parking arrangements.

All in all - we would certainly stay there again! A comfy room, an attentive staff, and a great location.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher-up room to avoid the racket of the buskers on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    1,872
    963
    463
    266
See reviews for
1,076
1,640
271
1,637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My first room has amazing panoramic views but the Murphy bed was extremely uncomfortable so I switched rooms. The heavenly bed in the second room was perfect although my view wasn't. The location is perfect for shopping, exploring and people watching in the plaza. The hotel character is reflexive of a beautiful era long gone. I appreciated all the opulence and details everywhere. The hotel restaurant was excellent for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here with my company for our annual sales conference and man, what a great hotel! The service was exceptional and the location of the hotel is perfect. It is within walking distance to shopping and restaraunts. The hotel is very clean and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for one night and enjoyed our stay at the Westin. It is in a good location, walking distance to a lot of good restaurants and shopping. The room was very comfortable and the hotel has a fun atomsphere. The reception area has a starbucks kiosk and pastries/light breakfast in the morning. Plenty of room to sit and enjoy a morning coffee.

We should have had breakfast there - instead we went to the restaurant which was overpriced and the food was below average. The breakfast buffet is measly - very few options compared to the standard buffet at a good hotel. We ordered off of the menu and the food was very average.

There is a car rental station in the hotel which is very convenient - we were a large group and rented cars to go to Sonoma. It was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your room and the hotel's atmosphere. I am sorry you did not enjoy the buffet breakfast as much. I hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is really nice, but I can't say it was amazing. Location is good, staff was good. As a Starwood-affiliated hotel, it met my expectation. If you are going for business, or just a few nights b/c you'll be touring the city, it'll work just fine! If you want more of a hotel experience, then maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheedler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Want to love this place as it is in the perfect location. However, after staying many times over the years, I realize just how how horrible it is vs the rest of the global Westins. I didn't get my room made, yes, I left late (around lunch time) and didn't come back until midnight ... but no turn down service??! As a Platinum member I'm use to the perks, but $400 per night and you want to charge me an extra $20 for the buffet for my free platinum amenity breakfast?? And $55 parking?!?!? Pass. If you absolutely have to stay here because everything else is sold out (like me, thanks TED!!), ok fine ... but by all means, keep it as your 4th or 5th choice. Oh, and park around the corner at the 123 O'Farrell Street garage ... it's only like $30 a day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fomocolovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and the Westin brand. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. I agree our location is perfect but our goal is to exceed our guests expectations in other ways. Because you were not satisfied with your complimentary Platinum breakfast, I would be happy to issue you SPG points instead. Please contact me at danielle.perez@westin.com and I would be happy to further assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

While on conference in April I stayed at the Westin St. Francis. the hotel had a great central location, was very clean and I found all the staff very helpful and friendly.
The room was nice and fairly quiet considering where the hotel was located.

The room however was very small and city was so busy in this area it might be difficult for some to get around in area of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notyme2knit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
3,222 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,641 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing