We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here recently for a convention at Moscone Center. This hotel is within easy walking distance from Moscone, and is at the heart of tourist San Francisco. This is a large, comfortable hotel, typical in my mind of the best Westins. Check-in and service were great, the room was comfortably furnished (great bed!!) and large for city standards. You can catch the cable car just outside the hotel if you wish. Lots of restaurants, shops, etc close by, and even in the hotel. As in much of San Francisco, the homeless are visible, but the area generally feels safe.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you are bothered by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,848
    1,772
    920
    452
    252
See reviews for
985
1,558
262
1,571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Old hotel, rotten wood in the bathroom. Shower is old and rusty. Beds clean and comfortable enough. Order yourself a mini fridge for free if you need it...great option. Get a room with a view otherwise it's of a brick wall. Nearby shopping--Saks, Tiffany, Macy's, Goyard!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FLJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. It is great you enjoyed our location and took advantage of our complimentary mini fridges. I hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel with very friendly staff. Right on the cable car route. We requested a more modern room in the tower and the view was spectacular! Very efficient elevators to our floor. Clean with very quiet rooms. Nice bathrooms in the tower rooms.

Room Tip: We felt the bathrooms were key to our request for tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful experience at the Westin St. Francis. Check in was quick, the rooms were clean, the location ideal, and the staff extremely friendly. This hotel is in the heart of union square which makes it convenient for a weekend of shopping and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came to stay for Santa Con and enjoy a night int he city. I got a killer deal by naming my price on Priceline...and we lucked out with scoring this hotel. I Absolutely LOVE the old SF feel of this hotel! The lobby decorations were lovely, they really put me in the spirit (especially the train running around the gingerbread house with Giants players on it)!
Location: so convenient! We walked out the door right on to Union Square with a view of the xmas tree and ice rink and just steps away from great shopping.
The room was cozy, clean and plush.
The only thing I will say was the line to check in was looooong-given that it was a weekend near the holiday, they should have has a few more staff members on at the front desk.
Bellservice was quick and convenient- they were storing shopping bags securely in a ballroom and valet was a little slow (but it did note on the ticket to allow additional time 20-30min I think on weekends).
It was a great stay, and I will definitley choose this hotel again for those 1 night getaways to the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCMP_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I used a travel agent and she suggested we stay here. It's an older hotel, but very classy. I would stay in such a place if I were on business, but we came to celebrate our 30th anniversary! Many people in suits, but hubby & I were in our casual wear & Keens, ready to explore the city. We walked down Market Street (go on Saturday for fresh fruit & veggies!) we also walked to Fisherman's Wharf. We certainly got our exercise in! We rented bikes from Blazing Saddles, around the corner from the hotel. We crossed the Golden Gate Bridge and had lunch in Sausalito. Ate at Sconoma's. yum! Great hotel for a SF adventure! We stayed 5 nights. Liked the free Starbucks coffee in the room too. Also another bonus was free wifi!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pkauppila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The rooms are TEEENY TINY- barely enough room to walk around...do a little morning' stretch. The lobby is always packed and the waiting line is long0 they really need more front desk support. The bed sheets always felt damp and the towels were yellow- not to mention I had to discard a few of them because they had pubic hairs on them- GROSS! The best part was the roach we saw during breakfast at the Oak Room. The carpets are dark so you may not notice but don't stare at the floor too long- you might see something move.

Room Tip: If you need space opt for the double bed rooms not the queen size. AND don't eat at the Oak room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yenssy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for your feedback. I am extremely disappointed and surprised to hear your experience. We take reviews of this nature very seriously. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing